We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This is a must if you are thinking of a safari.”
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were made so welcome by everyone it was a unique and wonderful experience. The camp was exceptional, the food was 5* all the way, the game viewing is without doubt the best I have ever seen in my many safaris and the staff were outstanding. Their knowledge of the local area and wild life was amazing. Everyone was a professional in their own field whether it was the guide, the chef or the management. We were looked after so well every little detail had been thought through right down to hot water bottles in the bed at night. I can’t recommend the camp at Ol Kinyei Conservancy highly enough. It is also a must for those who care where their money is going. The conservancy is Masai owned land with rent from the camp being paid to the land owners. Over 90% of the staff are also either the land owners themselves or relations of the land owners. This means the local community not only benefit directly from your holiday it also means they really do want you there and make you feel very welcome. Well done to all involved. We will be coming back 

Room Tip: All tent were positioned very well to afford the best views and were very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our experience at Mara Porini was truly amazing. We spent a few days of our honeymoon there and wished we could have stayed longer. The camp itself was fabulous, the staff provided a very high standard of service, the food was wonderful and we haven't even got to the safari yet! Our driver and spotter were extremely knowledgeable, there wasn't a question we asked that they didn't know the answer to. The conservancy safari experience was out of this world. We got to see the animals without any other people around which felt really magical. The tiny Lion cubs were probably my favourite but it really is hard to pick as we saw so many amazing things. I absolutely loved it and hope to try some of Porini's other camps in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cadholla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Everything about this place was wonderful. Somehow the staff found out we were reprising our honeymoon trip (24 years ago), and they surprised us with a cake and traditional Masai celebratory dancing. Very cool, and very touching. Also, on one occasion during a safari we came upon a pride of lions which were all sound asleep as lions typically do during the day. The guide noticed one was missing and started making this low rumbling sound in his throat which mimicked the sound a lion makes when it is looking for its pride. Two of the females woke up, stood, and walked right over to us. Amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Everything promised was delivered! The tents were great, even down to hot water bottles in the beds each evening and morning tea delivered to your bedside each morning. The food was good, no choice at meals, but vegetarians were catered for and the picnics were fun, all served with soft drinks or wine.

The game drives were amazing, the guides are so knowledgeable and expert at finding the animals, we saw everything possible except the Rhino. I would reccomend this trip to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyGB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

From the moment we arrived David and the team made us welcome, explained everything and made sure our stay was full of excellent memories.
Our Guides Wilson and Tippo were great fun, very knowledgable and ensuring we saw something new each trip out into conservancy- Tippo demonstrated great skills in getting our Landrover places I thought not possible but also making sure we were safe.
The accommodation is great the tent is very comfortable and the views of the conservancy spectacular - the little touches made all the difference the tea to the tent when we were awoken the hot water bottles in the bed at night the drinks around the campfire at night under the sky full of stars were brilliant.
Some people may hesitate in booking -concerned about the tent - the issues around local water ( they use bottle water for drinking and cooking) and the food ( it was international standards and presented very well) IF YOU WANT A GREAT PLACE TO STAY WITH FRIENDLY STAFF AND A CHANCE TO EXPERIENCE TRUE SAFARI IN A SUSTAINABLE ENVIRONMENT - WOULD RECOMMEND MARA PORINI CAMP

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wiljanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Mara Porini is camp is located in a beautiful part of the Ol Kenyei conservancy of the Masai Mara. It is nesttled among the beautiful yellow bark accacias. It is smaller than the Lion Porini camp with only 6 tents and the manager David is a very friendly and amiable person. Our guide Lamara was very knowledgable and an excellend guide. The rooms are cosy and they provided us with excellent vegetarian food. We highly recommend the Mara Porini experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmritaSom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Spent two wonderful days as the camp as part of safari & coast trip. It was a wonderful introduction to Safari and Kenya. Jimmy's ability to drive, spot and educate all at the same time is second to none and we were lukcy enough to see the Big 5 by early on our second day. The camp itself was great, food (& Tusker Beer) was wonderful and being woken up by roaring lions in the early morning was (surprisingly) a highlight.
We also went on the Balloon Safari & Bush Breakfast from this camp - not cheap but the sight of wildebeest & zebra's as far as I can see and getting almost eye to eye with a giraffe will stay with me forever!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pog_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
21.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,067 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
198 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,059 reviews
16.8 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
558 reviews
10.7 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £601 - £987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing