We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Porini Mara Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
405
9
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
9
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsol kinyei conservancymara campconservancy conceptgame drivesjake grieves cookgame watcherssafari experienceresident hippoother guestsroaring lionsmaasai guideslocal communityhot waterhis teamnature walkamazing wildlifeeco tourism
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I recently spent two nights at Porini Mara and had a fantastic time. Saw lots of wildlife including cheetah, lion, giraffe etc on the conservancy. The Maasai guides were excellent trackers and very good company. Being able to take walks, enjoy sundowners and view wildlife from a comfortable, open 4x4 was fantastic. You could see the envy of those driving around in minivans when we showed up in the Masai Mara Reserve. The quality of the food was excellent as was the service at camp. Very clean, spacious, comfortable tents.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An0ukZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We have stayed in several 5* lodges but never in a tented camp. What a difference canvas makes. You hear every little noise, you are so close to nature and the wildlife. The camp and the staff are excellent. They really go the extra mile for the guests. The tents are luxurious, and kept very clean & tidy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve and Hayle... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We first stayed at Pornini Mara Camp in January 2012 and enjoyed it so much we went again in November 2012 and brought friends with us! We all had a wonderful time, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The tents are large with everything you could wish for, the food is good, both when eating at the camp and when we took a picnic on a full day safari. The drivers and guides are extremely knowledgable, they know not just about all the animals and but also all the birds, trees and flowers. They are also very flexible, letting you decide what time you would like your game drive and also trying to find a particular animal you would most like to see. Gamewatchers also arranged our balloon ride followed by a champagne breakfast in the Masaai Mara Game Reserve which was amazing. Well done to all the staff who organise and work with Porini Mara Camp, we will definitely be returning again next year!

Room Tip: All tents are excellently positioned around the camp.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 365Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here, and our only complaint was that it was not enough! The location is wonderful, being the only camp in this Conservancy, and the tents are very comfortable, and well positioned for views and a degree of privacy.
The camp is staffed my Masai, who are quiet and reserved, but very efficient. They also served the coldest Tusker beers of our entire trip to Kenya! The food was plentiful, of good quality, although there was no choice of main course (not a complaint, as I amsure they would have provided another option if we had wanted) and meals were taken around a large communal table with the other guests.
Stars of the stay for us were Jimmy, our guide/driver, and Marima the spotter. They were simply wonderful, and helped us see everything we could have wanted (except the elusive leopard), Highlight was spending over an hour (without other vehicles) watching a female cheetah with 4 small cubs - priceless! There is a huge amount of game in the Conservancy, and any fears we had about staying outside the National Parks were completely unfounded.
We will return, health and wealth permitting.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foresthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I and my sister have made many trips to East Africa going on safari (I the older sister made my first East African safari 1965) A few years ago we discovered Porini Amboseli and fell in love with it. This year we returned for out third visit and also went to Porini Mara and last to Porini Lion so now we have three loves!
We are both elderly (72 and 76 years) and not so agile any longer but all three camps can be highly recommended also to elderly people who are still young in mind.
The service is absolutely firstclass. All our wished were fullfilled also some we did not know we had!! The staff, guides, drivers, camp staff including the manager always made sure that we were well looked after from the early morning tea outside our tent to the hot water bottle in the bed.
The tents were large and well equipped, food was good and ample both when we had out meals "at home" and as picknik lunches during the safaries.
We saw a very great number of animals . The guide/driver was very good at spotting those and also know how to get the best possible angle for taking good pictures. He was also a good driver managing the rather rough roads.
We spent tree nights in Mara Porini and finished each day happy and exhausted after a day crammed full of experiences.
The camp can be highly recommended and we certinaly want to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittaKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews