We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sites, service, and scenery”
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Amazing sites, service, and scenery”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Africa at its best.You will be charmed by the caring people, awed by the amazing animals of the mara , and captivated by the splendor of the surroundings. Porini camps are comfortable, the guides are very knowledgeable and entertaining, and the service is impeccable. An overall excellent experience for our entire family from the youngest at 7 years to the oldest at 70! Must use Gamewatchers on your safari and stay at all the porini camps.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
89
168
50
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We started our 6 night safari here at the Porini Mara Camp. We were greeted at the airstrip by our guides Jasper & Stanley & we set off for our first glimpse at the Ol Kinyei Conservancy. It was so stunning. We loved every drive that we had, the scenery was so spectacular. We saw a mother cheetah with 3 large cubs on our very first drive! It was amazing! We got to be so close to a pride of lions with their cubs & see the lionesses greet the male when he returned. It was all so spectacular. We saw a hyena outside our tent first thing in the morning! & we had several monkeys come in to visit in the camp!

We spent a day in the main reserve but we weren't able to see any crossings on that day, we were fortunate enough to go back to the reserve later in the week from the Lion Camp & we did see 4 crossings in 1 day which was spectacular! We weren't able to find the leopards in these first 3 days here, but it was still an amazing 3 days. To be surrounded by thousands of zebra & wildebeest was just a fantastic feeling & to get so close to all the animals was awesome. We were lucky enough to spot a black rhino, something our guide said he hadn't seen for 4 months!

The camp is fantastic. Jimmy & the guys were all so welcoming & the food was delicious. This was a smaller camp with only 6 tents so you can all fit around 1 table for dinner in the evenings & swap stories. We were lucky to meet so many great people & on the final evening the staff all performed for us which was something we will never forget.

We had such an amazing time at these 2 camps & we can't wait to go back. Thank You to Jimmy, Jasper & Stanley & all the guys for making this trip so spectacular.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JD2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have stayed at Mara Porini twice now and on both occasions the staff have done themselves proud. The Maasai look after you so well and do all they can to ensure your stay is a memorable one. Our tent looked out over an area of trees where we were able to spend peaceful moments watching baboons and vervet monkeys at incredibly close range. The tent provided luxury in what really felt like somewhere isolated and away from other tourists. The food and drink was wonderful, as always with Porini camps, and the guides provided the safari experience we wanted. Our guides, Ben and Simon, provided great comedy value between wildlife sightings with stories of engine vultures (also known as aeroplanes) and counting zebra stripes (it turns out there are only 2, black and white).

Being on our honeymoon we were made to feel incredibly special and the staff gave us celebrations we will never forget. Thank you Porini!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolcanoMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farrington Gurney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We were on our honeymoon and visited both the Porini Mara and Amboseli Camps. All we can say is that these camps are rated #1 in their respective areas with good reason!

Both camps somehow manage to give you feelings of being out in the wild whilst at the same time being in the lap of luxury. What really makes the camps special though are the staff - friendly, helpful, attentive and knowledgeable; they made our stay absolutely wonderful and we cannot praise them highly enough.

As nearly every other review has stated, the animal life we saw was fantastic and the guides and drivers knew their stuff, so we really got "up close and personal" with the wildlife.

To us Porini seem to be going about things in the right way, working with and employing people from the local communities, so while the camps are more expensive than others we came away with the feeling that this was for a good reason.

To sum up, everything about the Porini camps was wonderful and we will definitely look to make a return visit sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Montse1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stabekk
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We where at both Porini Mara and Porini Lion camp. Both excellent and Porini Mara just a little bit better. Smaller and little more personal. Six tents at the first and twelve at the other. The animal life where outstanding at both places and without a lot of other cars. That was very nice. We saw everything we hoped for: lions, cubs, cheetahs, leopard, elephants, bulls, hyenas, etc etc etc and of course crossing of the Mara river with the great migration and lucky us two hunts all the way. Not so common. So happy!!! Very happy!!! Guide/spotters And drivers where all Masai And excellent and I really mean excellent. Friendly, personal, knowledgeable And wanted you/us to have the best experience. We had a lifetime experience! Thank you again! From the bottom of our hearts: Thank you!!! All the best to Ben and Samuel at Mara camp and John Mac and Daniel at Lion camp. All these where really perfect!!! All the best and all well from Lise and Per!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stabekk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
endless summer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The most amazing vacation and experience of my life. All the animals. Right up close. The guides were amazing, The drivers were so skilled. The camp help was everywhere. The Maasai were just the best. Campfires at night. Daywalks looking at the lion, hyena and elephant tracks that were just a hundred yards from the camp site. All the spectacular landscapes, sundowners out in the bush. I will never forget how truly awesome the shole experience was Gamewatchers does it better than anyone else. People at the camp who had on previous safaris with other companies told me "it does not get any better than this if you want a real african experience" Hakuna matata.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mashamarefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My spouse and myself had an awesome four days safari and game park trip organized by Gamewatchers.Weather was fantastic. Could ask for a better timing. After being picked up from our Nairobi hotel we drove through the Rift Valley to Nukuru and stayed for two nights at Sunbird Lodge. We had an English speaking driver who was also our guide in the day trip we spent at the National Park. The Lodge was beautiful perched on the cliffs of the lake with breathtaking view. The staff were friendly and service good. Though the walk to the lodge from the main building can be taxing. Next two days were at the Porini Mara Camp. For me it was the first time staying in a tent. But the living arrangements were excellent.Very comfortable beds. We had pipe water plumbing in the bathroom but had "Bucket Showers" . Food was great. Staff were cordial and always ready to make you more comfortable. Not having access to internet was the best part.
We got to see all the big fives and many more animals.
Watched the Lions's Pride with eight cubs.. But most amazing was the Massai driver and Scout who accompanied us during the game watch. I was amazed with their knowledge on nature. My Camp manger also arranged a visit to a Massai village, Wish it was longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayeeda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
21.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
189 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
110 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,031 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Property: Porini Mara Camp
Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing