We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning camp, surrounded by wildlife and with the best Maasai guides!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning camp, surrounded by wildlife and with the best Maasai guides!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

I arrived in Ol Kinyei and the Mara Porini Camp with some knowledge about how the conservancy was set up and how it benefits the community and wildlife in the area. After 2 days there, I am convinced that this is the way forward for ensuring a future for wildlife. Wildlife numbers here have increased thanks to the efforts of Porini Camps and the community members. Lions, cheetahs, elephants and much more have made the conservancy their home. You will have the best and most exclusive wildlife experience here. The camp is beautiful, the vegetarian food is some of the best I have ever had, the staff are so friendly and the Maasai guides are just fantastic. They will share their wealth of knowledge with you in these stunning surroundings. Animals are everywhere and I highly recommend this camp to anyone who wants the best wildlife experience knowing that your stay has supported the community enormously and is also securing a future for wildlife.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenyaResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
167
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

I have had the fortune to visit a number of "responsible" properties around the world. Porini is one of the best. They have a great operation, great service and they care. Its not just lip service.
Highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We began a three-week journey across Africa in August, 2009 with a Gamewatchers Safari in Kenya. We were delighted with our experience. Beginning with their very informative website and our initial contacts with staff, we were assured that we had made the right choice.
With Gamewatchers we had the opportunity to stay in conservancies near the major parks, enjoying the environment and the wildlife from the comfort of the camp from the moment we awoke each day. We were also impressed with the model of partnership with the local Masai, something that sounded good to us before we arrived, but added an unanticipated dimension to the whole experience.
We stayed our first two nights at the Gamewatchers’ Selenkay Conservancy and our fifth and sixth nights at their Masai Mara camp. We found both camps to be wonderfully situated, well-appointed and well-managed. The tents were beyond comfortable, the food delicious, and the attention given by the staff superb. Our middle two days were spent at the Sunbird Lodge, from where we visited Nakuru. The Sunbird accommodation was beautiful and the service to a high standard.
We were particularly pleased with the Gamewatchers guides. We appreciated their attention to detail in description and their tireless efforts to help us understand the animals, the habitats, and the relationships between them. All were also very helpful in introducing us to the people of Africa we observed and encountered, and to the ways in which the human and natural environments are interacting.
We were fortunate to be in the Mara for the Wildebeest migration, but even without that, the quantity and quality of game we were able to view and photograph exceeded our wildest expectations.
Gamewatchers also handled all the details of our land travel superbly. Everything and everyone performed just as promised. We were met, transported, and delivered in comfort and with care. We simply could not have had a better time, and fully intend to visit Africa again with Gamewatchers, and we have already recommended them to friends and relatives for their Africa planning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meloneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

3 Nights at Mara Porini, found tents clean, wel maintained, no shower problems, the set up is very impressive.
Plenty of good food was served up during our stay, resonable wine and Tusker lager.

Guides were fantastic, very knowledgable, all drives in open sided land rovers, take warm clothes for early/late drives. Other camps use mini-buses so steer clear of these.

Saw plenty of wildlife, including a cheetah kill and a widerbeast crossing. Only the Black Rhino and Leopard eluded us however on a seperate drive ou camp friends spotted both, so it's a game of luck rather than anything the camp can do about this.

All the more reason to come back to the well run, value for money porini camps.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

I have had the amazing opportunity to stay at Mara Porini several times whilst carrying out a research project. The camp has great ambience with comfortable rooms and great food. The staff is attentive and helpful and always go out of their way to make my visits comfortable and memorable. Their knowledge of the local ecology is incredible and always delivered with smiles. The number of animal and bird species in the conservancy is breathtaking and makes visiting this camp a real safari experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneNairobi_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Our stay at the Mara Porini Camp was the best Holiday we have ever had (and we've had a few!) and the most perfect Honeymoon that we could possibly have ever imagined. Considering the Camp is Eco Friendly we did not want for anything or go without anything. The Tents were very, very clean and comfortable equipt with showers (and hot water) and proper flushing toilets. The beds were extremely comfortable with nice clean sheets. The layout of the camp was perfect so that each tent looked out over the conservancy. The Staff at the Camp were welcoming, friendly and paid huge attention to detail. On cold nights they even put hot water bottles in your bed - such a fantastic touch. No job was too much for them. The food was amazing - beyond expectations. The Conservancy that the camp is in has some brilliant wildlife - we saw more on our doorstep in the conservancy than we did in the Masai Mara National Park. The LandRovers were comfortable to ride in all day, our Guides and Drivers were extremely knowledgable, friendly and again - no job was too much. We stayed in this camp for 4 nights - we could have stayed longer. I would certainly recommend staying in the Mara Porini Camp if you want the perfect Holiday/Honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SajeDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

When we arrived in the camp, after a bum-bruising drive along some fairly colourful roads, I was a little apprehensive. There were a few large tents around, with the largest communal tent set up on a small hill. After a welcome talk from David, my girlfriend and I hurried down to the tent to see what we had let ourselves in for! When we opened the zip, the sight inside was unbelievable. There were 2 huge double beds, a table and a bathroom at the end, with plenty of space to spare. Little did we know then, that that was the first of many jaw-dropping moments that were to come in the next 4 days.

The service was truly outstanding. There were electrical problems on one of the nights we stayed, which was a little tedious, as my camera was running out of batteries, but David drove to a village around an hour away with all the cameras and Moses brought them into our tents at 6 the next morning, with our breakfast.

All the guides, Ben, Wilson and Tebu, would have put Attenborough to shame with their knowledge of the animals and plants, and there were plenty of both. We literally saw everything there was to see, including leopards, lions, cheetahs (on the hunt and eating), elephant, rhino, giraffe, vultures, hyena, and our favourite, the warthog. You can understand why we needed those camera batteries.

All in all, we had some great expectations of the safari, but Mara Porini, with the exceptional service (thanks, especially, to Moses), the wide range of animals and the superbly chilled atmosphere, just flattened everything we had hoped for.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostmihouski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
21.8 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
33.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Property: Porini Mara Camp
Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Porini Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing