We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conservancies appear to be an excellent alternative”
Review of Porini Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Mara Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2009

The Mara Porini Camp was the third in our "safari" and as with Amboselli and Pajeta excellent in terms of service and accommodation and David and his crew deserve the highest accolades for this and the food...Simon the chef was outstanding in the dises and tastes he presented. What was so impressive however was the game in the Conservancy was more profusive than in the adjacent Maasia Mara Game Park... was it just the time of the year or is it that the conservancies are working better than the parks??? Will have to return at another time and see whther the pattern prevails. Highlights included following some lion cubs at night; watching a lion drink prior to a kill within 500 metres of the camp; an early morning walk to see the carcass of the kill; the array of animals drinking at the water in the creek in front of the tent including bush buck and water buck... magnificent animals; watching a leopard at midday as it walked so close to our vehicle seeking .... who knows. A drive to the Mara river to see hippo and the crocodile .. a very full 2 days backed by excellent service and accommodation made for a wonderful and very personal 2 days. Cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2009

I arrived in Ol Kinyei and the Mara Porini Camp with some knowledge about how the conservancy was set up and how it benefits the community and wildlife in the area. After 2 days there, I am convinced that this is the way forward for ensuring a future for wildlife. Wildlife numbers here have increased thanks to the efforts of Porini Camps and the community members. Lions, cheetahs, elephants and much more have made the conservancy their home. You will have the best and most exclusive wildlife experience here. The camp is beautiful, the vegetarian food is some of the best I have ever had, the staff are so friendly and the Maasai guides are just fantastic. They will share their wealth of knowledge with you in these stunning surroundings. Animals are everywhere and I highly recommend this camp to anyone who wants the best wildlife experience knowing that your stay has supported the community enormously and is also securing a future for wildlife.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenyaResearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

I have had the fortune to visit a number of "responsible" properties around the world. Porini is one of the best. They have a great operation, great service and they care. Its not just lip service.
Highly recommended and great value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We began a three-week journey across Africa in August, 2009 with a Gamewatchers Safari in Kenya. We were delighted with our experience. Beginning with their very informative website and our initial contacts with staff, we were assured that we had made the right choice.
With Gamewatchers we had the opportunity to stay in conservancies near the major parks, enjoying the environment and the wildlife from the comfort of the camp from the moment we awoke each day. We were also impressed with the model of partnership with the local Masai, something that sounded good to us before we arrived, but added an unanticipated dimension to the whole experience.
We stayed our first two nights at the Gamewatchers’ Selenkay Conservancy and our fifth and sixth nights at their Masai Mara camp. We found both camps to be wonderfully situated, well-appointed and well-managed. The tents were beyond comfortable, the food delicious, and the attention given by the staff superb. Our middle two days were spent at the Sunbird Lodge, from where we visited Nakuru. The Sunbird accommodation was beautiful and the service to a high standard.
We were particularly pleased with the Gamewatchers guides. We appreciated their attention to detail in description and their tireless efforts to help us understand the animals, the habitats, and the relationships between them. All were also very helpful in introducing us to the people of Africa we observed and encountered, and to the ways in which the human and natural environments are interacting.
We were fortunate to be in the Mara for the Wildebeest migration, but even without that, the quantity and quality of game we were able to view and photograph exceeded our wildest expectations.
Gamewatchers also handled all the details of our land travel superbly. Everything and everyone performed just as promised. We were met, transported, and delivered in comfort and with care. We simply could not have had a better time, and fully intend to visit Africa again with Gamewatchers, and we have already recommended them to friends and relatives for their Africa planning.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meloneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

3 Nights at Mara Porini, found tents clean, wel maintained, no shower problems, the set up is very impressive.
Plenty of good food was served up during our stay, resonable wine and Tusker lager.

Guides were fantastic, very knowledgable, all drives in open sided land rovers, take warm clothes for early/late drives. Other camps use mini-buses so steer clear of these.

Saw plenty of wildlife, including a cheetah kill and a widerbeast crossing. Only the Black Rhino and Leopard eluded us however on a seperate drive ou camp friends spotted both, so it's a game of luck rather than anything the camp can do about this.

All the more reason to come back to the well run, value for money porini camps.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB1981London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I have had the amazing opportunity to stay at Mara Porini several times whilst carrying out a research project. The camp has great ambience with comfortable rooms and great food. The staff is attentive and helpful and always go out of their way to make my visits comfortable and memorable. Their knowledge of the local ecology is incredible and always delivered with smiles. The number of animal and bird species in the conservancy is breathtaking and makes visiting this camp a real safari experience!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneNairobi_Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Our stay at the Mara Porini Camp was the best Holiday we have ever had (and we've had a few!) and the most perfect Honeymoon that we could possibly have ever imagined. Considering the Camp is Eco Friendly we did not want for anything or go without anything. The Tents were very, very clean and comfortable equipt with showers (and hot water) and proper flushing toilets. The beds were extremely comfortable with nice clean sheets. The layout of the camp was perfect so that each tent looked out over the conservancy. The Staff at the Camp were welcoming, friendly and paid huge attention to detail. On cold nights they even put hot water bottles in your bed - such a fantastic touch. No job was too much for them. The food was amazing - beyond expectations. The Conservancy that the camp is in has some brilliant wildlife - we saw more on our doorstep in the conservancy than we did in the Masai Mara National Park. The LandRovers were comfortable to ride in all day, our Guides and Drivers were extremely knowledgable, friendly and again - no job was too much. We stayed in this camp for 4 nights - we could have stayed longer. I would certainly recommend staying in the Mara Porini Camp if you want the perfect Holiday/Honeymoon.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SajeDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
21.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,064 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
198 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,055 reviews
16.8 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
556 reviews
10.7 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Mara Camp

Address: Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £596 - £981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Mara Camp is located in the exclusive 17,500 acre wildlife conservancy of Ol Kinyei, one of the most beautiful wilderness areas in the Serengeti-Mara eco-system. The camp has 6 spacious guest tents with an en-suite bathroom sited in the shade of Yellow-barked Acacia trees. The camp accommodates a maximum of 12 guests, where guests enjoy game drives in 4x4s, sundowners at scenic viewing points and escorted walks with Maasai guides. Ol Kinyei is noted for its excellent wildlife viewing with a resident pride of lions, cheetahs, leopards and a wide variety of animals. There is a strict limit on the number of tourist vehicles allowed in the conservancy so that visitors from the camp can view the wildlife without other vehicles. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Porini Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Mara Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing