We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special place for a honeymoon. Just wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Such a special place for a honeymoon. Just wonderful.”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband and I spent the first part of our honeymoon at Ol Seki before heading to Zanzibar. Ol Seki was a fantastic start to a wonderful trip. We spent four days there, one day in the Mara reserve and three days around the camp. We saw a wealth of game, everything you can think of save for the allusive leopard and rhino. Ol Seki is a paradox of luxury and genuine living amongst the bush and its inhabitants. It is a small camp, with supherb attention to detail in every respect from the pristeen, luxury tents to the top class meals. The Bloody Mary's rival those offered up in any central London waterhole. Kathy and Kiko welcomed us into their gorgeous home with warm and generous hospitality, yet we were given plenty of privacy as honeymoon guests. And the team of staff were extremely friendly and catered to our every need with great efficiency. I could not fault the camp or its hosts - it was a truly special and memorable trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London1XQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
72
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2009

I have to confess that I was a bit reluctant to go to the Mara given that I had to leave our beautiful beachside resort in Kenya - Almanara! However all my fears were gone five minutes after landing (although I loved every minute of the luxurious private plane journey - someone had to pinch me to make sure I wasn't dreaming!) after encountering my first zebra and three elephants on the way to the camp.

Ol Seki is a truly magical place to be, its energy is one of warmth and complete peace with the outstanding natural beauty that surrounds it. We were greeted with the same warmth and treated like we were extended family from the moment we arrived.

Our personal guides showed us our tents.... um can you really call them tents?- more like luxury house tents! There are many high points to where you sleep after a long day seeing the amazing Mara and plentiful game, not least the hot showers and masai assigned to your tent! But what really made me shriek with delight was the hot water bottle I found in my bed - it is the little touches like that and the breakfast cooked and served to you in the middle of the Mara that fill that moment with joy and make your holiday feel bespoke to you.

I could ramble for hours about the food, the service, the amazing people that occupy the camp, the scenery, the luxury etc but I think the other reviews speak for themselves. There is nowhere that compares to this for safari in style. I can't wait for my next visit when I can see simba and have a massage whilst looking out onto the beautiful Mara all in one day! Wow!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

You can not travel to Kenya without taking a trip to Ol Seki. After a short drive from the air strip we were greeted by our guides and taken to the most luxurious camp I have ever seen with views that were breath taking.
The game drives were amazing and the game were plentiful, we even saw simba! Sundowners in the mara is a must, along with chats around the fire pit and delicious dinners over looking the mara - amazing!
The staff are wonderful, so knowledgeable with such magical stories. Ol Seki was a dream come true and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

The tent (if you can call it a tent) was amazing. There was a large bed and a sofa/day bed, partitioned shower and toilet, storage areas for your clothes, desk and a lovely outside seating area. They also have a system to give hot water both morning and afternoon/evening.
There is more than enough local wildlife - we saw leopards, cheetahs, elephants, giraffes, buffalo, hippos, gazelle etc (too many things to name) all within a close drive of the camp. Whilst eating breakfast we could see elephants and giraffes in the distance. The joy of being outside the Mara Reserve was that we would be the only people there seeing these animals - in the Game Reserve you see hundreds of other people. I even heard the lions nearby one night. I should add that there are guards at night to keep you safe!
Although Ol Seki is outside the Mara Game Reserve, we found we had better quality game viewing and experiences - we were able to go on night drives, walks, and get out of the jeep and wonder down the river admiring hippos.
The camp allocates a driver and a spotter to each tent - so you keep the same guides all the time you are there and it is just you in the jeep when you go out. This means you have a great amount of flexibility - you can choose what you want to do each day without relying on other people wanting to do the same.
We would reccommend visiting the local village and the school, both of which are supported by the camp. Many of the guides are from the local guiding school which they also support.
The food was lovely - they have a fantastic chef (Evans - you have to try the omelettes!), and the service was always friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The food is western in style (the owner is Italian and you can see the influence in the meals!), and plentiful - 3 course meals at lunch and dinner!
We spent four nights here before moving onto a beach holiday, and both really wished we had spent longer here as we had the most amazing holiday, and experiences we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jjs35
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2009

Perfect spot for honeymooners. Amazed at the amount of game considering all the comments on here. Was a bit worrried in fact but in the end decided to go for the luxury as the person putting together my honeymoon seemed to know what they were talking about and, luckily, was really pleasantly surprised. We were treated like royalty by the staff but in a friendly way! Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spacious and really cool. Booked through Imagine Africa who were really really helpful especially as this was my first safari and also a really special trip and I had lots of questions (and worries!).

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xpu-Ha, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

This place gives you a real feel of family and welcome. Led by two great people and a whole team of staff who are incredibly freindly. The tents ( really large marquees really) are well fitted and the safaris are full of wildlife. The food is tasty and we even managed to have a visitors v staff football match in the savannah , elephants and wilerbeast as supporters , a truley great experience.

  • Liked — Great Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2007

The entrance to Ol Seki is via the back of the camp so upon your arrival the camp itself comes as a complete surprise. We were met by Matthew, the manager, with cold drinks and escorted 20 yards to the library area. WOW, it's at this point you realise the camp is on top of a rock out crop and in front of you is a fantastic view over the bush. Sitting in the library on an afternoon watching the amazing birdlife around the camp and the odd giraffe and antelope walk by was heaven.

The accommodation, dining and library areas are all luxury tents (the word tent doesn't do them justice) on hardwood platforms. Unlike many camps you have your own power supply, extremely useful for battery charging etc. We had a massive bed and loads of space. They are stunning rooms especially designed to make best use of the views and location.

The food was excellent as was the service throughout our stay. Every member of staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. Our driver and guide were perfectly paired for their combined knowledge of birds and mammals.

We stayed at Ol Seki after spending 5 days in the Masai Mara park and the wildlife is more sparse, not the vast herds of game, although we did see plenty including a good sized herd of elephant. However so are the tourists and we only saw one other vehicle in our 3 days at Ol Seki. The birdlife was incredible, actually better than where we were in the park.

The flexibility shown was also excellent. When we wanted to go for a walk for some exercise it wasn't a problem we set off for our evening game drive early and walked to the local village (seeing antelope, elephants and birds on the way). The car followed a few hundred yards behind with our equipment and water. Want to focus on birds this morning ? no problem!

Ol Seki also operates the traditional sundowner on your evening safari. There is nothing quite like parking up under a tree to watch the sun go down vodka and tonic in hand. One night a hyena walked past and a few minutes later a nightjar flew around our vehicle. You drive back in the dark for a night safari, an unforgettable experience.

This was my fourth safari and Ol Seki is up there as our joint favourite lodge/camp, we would go back tomorrow. It makes an ideal compliment to a few nights in one of the reserves. The great accommodation, fantastic service and lack of other tourists in the area make this a special place.

Finally, a note about Sue the owner a lovely lady who with her manager, Matthew, and the rest of the staff made this feel like a 'home from home' an expression I've never used before about a holiday destination.

  • Liked — Location, service, wildlife
  • Disliked — it was perfect
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RichBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#7 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
209 reviews
5.8 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#11 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
22.3 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
310 reviews
11.0 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#57 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ol Seki Hemingways Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol Seki Hemingways Mara

Property: Ol Seki Hemingways Mara
Address: Naboisho Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya (Formerly Ol Seki Mara Camp)
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ol Seki Hemingways Mara 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ol Seki Hemingways Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ol Seki Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Ol Seki Hemingways Mara Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing