We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place near Mara Triangle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilima Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kilima Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place near Mara Triangle”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

What a great place. Stunning views over the Mara Triangle. Nice rooms each with a great view. Hot showers. Very friendly staff, particularly Paul our maître d. Food was very nice and plentiful. 20 minute drive down a rocky road to the park entrance but you see lots of wildlife on the way. Highlight had to be the game drives. James, our guide, was excellent. He networked with his friends/colleagues so that we had spotters across the park. As a result we saw everything:-prides of lions, leopard, cheetah, crocs, hippos, water buffalo etc. would really recommend. One small thing: we had a triple with 3 single beds. The bed was a little short for me (6ft 2) and a bit hard for my taste.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guyredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    38
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
79
133
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had never before been to the Mara but was recommended Kilima from a friend of a friend and I can really recommend Kilima to anyone planning a safari in Kenya.
My wife, 3 children and I stayed there 3 nights during April, 2014 (low season) and self-drove from Naivasha. The last 80km road was really bad (by european standards) which only added to the releif when arriving to Kilima. I understood this would be a pleasant stay when a gentleman greeted us with moist towels to wipe off the "road dust" from our faces.
The entire stay all personell was very attentive and serviceminded and all facilities were in excellent condition and clean. Our family tent was pleasant, clean and very comfortable.
We were expecting to see the Mara in a 4x4 vehicle together with other guests but the manager suggested we use a separate vehicle, probably since we had smaller children which might have become an issue for other guests. A very nice gesture which probably made the sightseeing better for everyone present.
All 4x4 vehicles were in good condition and eating lunch out on the Mara under a tree next to the car is memorable by itself. The car drivers were excellent, attentive and knowledgeable about all the animals and how they interacted in front of us.
The only detail that perhaps was not top-notch all the way was some of the meals were only OK.
I can easily recommend staying at Kilima Camp.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our first trip to the Mara and it couldn't have been better. From the time your're picked up at the airstrip the staff is friendly and attentive. The camp is the perfect location, only a 10 minute drive from the park entrance and on top of a hill over looking the valley.

The food and accommodations were top notch and we couldn't have asked for more. We'll definitely be making a trip back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddBink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

It was the second time for me in Kilima. Actually even this time (low season) the hospitality was great and the service wonderful. One day we just were the four of us but the service was still great. All the people at Kilima doing their best to give the best service and always with a smill on their face. A pity, the spa was not open but I can understand this in low season, actually we didnt really missed it. :-)
Then we had several game drives with Martin. I did several parks in kenya with different guides but Martin is the best, no one can spot the animals better then him.

So if you looking for a very good place to stay in Mara with an incredible service: only one place = Kilima.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I recently stayed at Kilima with my 2 year old, husband and my parents visiting from the US. The lodge and tents have great views and are very nicely appointed (we stayed in the deluxe tents). The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful with my very active 2 year old. As it was the low season we had three course plated meals prepared for us and the staff entertained my son while we ate which was amazing. The food was excellent. Our safari driver was super knowledgable and absolutely determined to find us the best of the best animals. He clearly knew the park like the back of his hand. The reservations staff based in Nairobi and abroad worked with me throughout the process from our changing reservation dates to almost missing our flight and calling the airline to hold the flight for us due to some of the worst traffic I have experienced in Nairobi. Overall if you want a personalized Mara experience that is "rustic" but still incredibly comfortable stay at Kilima. Also if you have kids but don't want to stay in a place that feels like a cheesy disneyland stay here! Thanks Kilima!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Kilima is a gorgeous camp with cozy and beautiful tents. Each tent has its own deck with a stunning view to the Mara, perfect for sundowners! Don’t stay in huge hotels, behind concrete walls were you can experience a camping trip in the middle of the Mara with all the comfort Kilima offers. It has great food, relaxing spa, and great guides (Martin specially). The entire staff is friendly, helpful and will make sure your stay is lovely! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and i recently stayed at kilima and it was fantastic. Our guide (Martin) was definitely one of the highlights. His eye for spotting animas was incredible. We saw packs of lions being chased by buffalo, a leopard in a tree, the rare black rhinos, a cheetah and much more. He was great fun to spend time with and his passion for the area and the wildlife was contagious. The staff back at the lodge were really hospitable, the chef was great and very accommodating and the tents were great (flushing toilet, hot shower etc). Monica and Axel (one of the owners and his partner) were there during our stay and came out on one of the drives with us which was great because they are passionate about photography and wildlife and helped my friend experiment with different lenses. All in all a completely unforgettable experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
28.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
982 reviews
25.4 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#9 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
206 reviews
28.7 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#13 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
Mara Engai Wilderness Lodge
#35 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
112 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#27 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
592 reviews
17.0 mi away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#19 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilima Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilima Camp

Property: Kilima Camp
Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilima Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilima Camp is a small and intimate eco-friendly tented camp with a stunning view over the Mara rive and the Masai Mara Reserve.Like all our standard tents, our two new Deluxe tents benefit from fantastic and unspoiled views!We offer excellent game viewing in the Mara Triangle with our 4x4 vehicle and our qualified and experienced guides. Being this close to nature , with panoramic views of the Masai Mara, we guarantee you that you will see amazing wildlife ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilima Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilima Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kilima Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing