We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Safari”
Review of Mara Siria Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mara Siria Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Safari”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great safari, amazing staff. Great accommodations and tents, private bathroom in the tent with plenty of clean water. Staff made the safari great and we had an amazing time. I highly recommend. We saw a little of everything on the safari and the open car made a huge difference.

Room Tip: You don't spend much time in tent, so doesn't matter much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    30
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
57
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The camp is not fenced, so animals wander into the camp at will. Over the weekend of 07/06-08/2012 I witnessed zebras and gazelles inside the camp grounds. And giraffes, Thompson's Gazelles, baboons within few hundred yards of the gate along the track/road leading to the camp.

But the most remarkable sight was on the night of the 7th. After a full day on the Mara we were enjoying dessert with the rest of the guests after dinner when the Maasai guides and guards unexpectedly rousted us from our seats, loaded us into the open-sided safari trucks, and drove us to a spot about 300 yards from were we had been enjoying our desserts and drinks.

There, next to a scrub acacia tree in the glare of our head-lights, fourteen lions were eating a freshly killed zebra, probably one of the ones that had earlier been browsing about the camp. We were probably not more than 25-35 feet from the big cats as they feed on the unfortunate beast.

It was, I have no doubt, an experience none of the 25 or so guests will ever forget.

The camp itself is professionally run, with a courteous and efficient, yet friendly staff. They are all Maasai and are an infinite fount of information on the flora and fauna of the Masai Mara and the Siria Escarpment for which the camp is named.

A food, drink, and accommodations are all excellent. Make sure to have a sunrise breakfast from the camp's al fresco dining area. The sight of the sun rising over the Masai Mara from your perch atop the Siria Escarpment, cup of coffee in hand, is one that you will surely savor.

Room Tip: The track up the escarpment is bit rough, but so is every other road within 25 miles. So be prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

A stunning view awaits you on your arrival which was a welcome surprise after a long and tiring journey from Nairobi.

The tents are beautiful and very comfortable and the staff add nice touches which make the stay very enjoyable. The food is very good and enjoying a drink on the terrace or by the drop pool after a day's safari is recommended. If you are lucky you will even share the camp with the odd zebra or giraffe grazing outside your tent.

Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Tents 11 & 12 have lovely balconies to enjoy the view over the escarpment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachYAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

So fantastic - right there in the action. A kadu came right up to our tent.

Beds were comfortable and the food was good. Everyone ate together around the table as it was a small place, really good to discuss everyone's stories over dinner.

Staff were fabulous as well - we had a massai staff member walk us to our tent every night as we were in the wild.

Definitely recommend and it has the most amazing view.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ace28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our 2-night-stay at Mara Siria at the beginning of February 2012 was a wonderful experience – it really deserves the title “A Camp with a View”. Not only during breakfast and lunch can one enjoy the gorgeous view from the escarpment into the plains of the Masai Mara, a sundowner on the scenic platform is a must! The excellent 4x4 vehicles are perfect for game viewing and our guide was very knowledgeable. The staff proved to be extremely hospitable and helpful. The spacious tents were practically equipped and tastefully decorated. Considering our accommodation was in one of nature’s most secluded corners, the place was kept clean and tidy and the food was delicious. The only downside of being in this beautiful, quiet and relaxing place where one can still get a feeling of wilderness is the fact that the road from and to the game drives and Kichwa airstrip is rough and therefore takes time. But that was an easy price to pay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashgeja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Excellent resort with friendly staff, good food, perfect safaris, perfect tents and perfect view to endless horizon. Hard to get there by own car (like we did) but this place is worth of visiting.

I travelled here January 2007 (this web review did not allow me to add the right time to my trip :( )

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Wonderful relaxing stay over New Years Eve! The tents are lovely and spacious and very clean. Tents are not too close to each other, one is not at all disturbed by neighbors.
The tents do have electrical lights (powered by solar) for the early morning and nights, but no power for hair dryer or razors and such. If you need to recharge camera or other electronics the staff will do that for you in the office. Just don't leave it there when you check-out! Happened to me, but thanks to the very attentive managers John and Vitalis in the camp and their associated travel office in Nairobi I got it sent home!
In the camp you are dependent on the very nice and friendly staff, as you are not supposed to walk on your own after nightfall over the absolutely beautiful grounds of the camp. Beware of little and not so little critters... But it is never a problem or a nuisance. The staff really wants to please their guests and it is never awkward to ask for hot shower water or help to go to your tent or for the dinner tent.
Our safari guide Paul was absolutely great: very knowledgeable and patient with the three semi professional photographers in our group. Got to see lots and lots of wildlife and great landscape. Safaris are scheduled at the guests requests and are included in the packages. Prices for the entire stay are fair, but not necessarily a bargain. Keep in mind that you have to add US$80 per person per day for entrance fees into the park! And you better bring that in cash, as the credit card machine (Visa only) doesn't always work.
If I'd go again I would probably book the driving package, as the flight schedule is somewhat unreliable.
Only negative about the camp is that they were not able to accommodate the pescetarian (vegetarian eating fish, dairy and eggs) request we made long time before arriving. The African cuisine is not that exciting, so don't go for the gourmet experience, but you certainly won't starve and the food is tasty. Absolutely great were the breakfast boxes we got on our safaris.
Overall: great place to stay, definetly would go again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Hippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
22.2 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,020 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
218 reviews
28.1 mi away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,008 reviews
30.6 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
510 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Siria Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Siria Camp

Property: Mara Siria Camp
Address: C14 Kerekorok - Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Masai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mara Siria Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara Siria is a specially designed luxury tented bush camp for those travellers who want to experience a true wildlife safari off the beaten track. Mara Siria Camp reverts to the original spirit and to the true meaning of “Safari” by offering individual services and private atmosphere.The camp's location on top of the Siria Escarpment offers an unique and stunning view into the plains of the Maasai Mara Triangle and at the Mara River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Jovago.com so you can book your Mara Siria Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Siria Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Siria Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing