We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mara Siria Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    View Hotel
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (208)
    Filter reviews
    208 results
    Traveller rating
    160
    34
    11
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    160
    34
    11
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsphoenix safarisplunge poolgravity fedgame drivesguide jacobsafari showerpacked lunchdrinks are reasonably pricedsafari experiencehot air balloonspark gatestaff was very friendly and helpfulinteresting factsflush toiletstaking picturesperfect experiencewilson airport
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    82 - 87 of 208 reviews
    Reviewed 4 December 2013

    The tents were adequate and clean but we had no power our first night and morning. There was a short in the electrical system. That did not pose too much of a problem and was fixed on the second night. The food was just ok (3 of the 4 got some sort of tummy upset). We prepaid for a drinks package and Leshao (the host) did not seem pleased by this, we did get basic beer and wine, the wine was also just ok - I would not recommend the pre paid drink package, buying as you go gets you better wine at reasonable prices. The staff were helpful and pleasant especially Lazarus, Morris and Zavo.
    We visited a local school on our last day and wanted to pay for school books for the children. Lashao had come with us on the trip and invited the headmaster back to camp to do the paperwork for the transaction. Not sure what that entailed as no paperwork was done. We gave $90 to the headmaster and bought him a beer (he seemed like a decent chap). The headmaster no sooner got his beer than he was asked to leave. Seemed rude so we offered to buy him lunch (again, Leshao seemed displeased). I asked not to have lunch as I has an upset stomach from something I had eaten. They brought my lunch which I did not touch and charged us $25 for the teachers lunch. This whole transaction left a bad taste with us. The $25 stew was THE most expensive meal we paid for in Africa, including high end restaurants in Capetown. We were just about to add to the tip envelope prior to leaving and decided against it. Anyway, enough about what displeased us about the camp as that was not the highlight.
    The Mara and the safari were unbelievable. Our guide was Peter and he was patient, dedicated and enthusiastic. He really made our whole experience the best it could be. Even when we were tired and thought we should just head back to camp, he said he had one more place to look for elusive animals we wanted to spot. This got us the chance to see a black rhino. We looked and looked but never did see a leopard - but it was not for lack of effort on Peter's part. We had a fantastic balloon ride with Adventures Aloft - not the closest balloon company but definitely in the right area for seeing the wildebeest. We saw 3 wildebeest river crossings and 4 of the big 5. Every time we thought our safari could not get any better there was another WOW moment. I think September is the perfect time to visit, especially if there is a chance to see the migration.

    I would not stay at this camp again even if the food was better and our host had been more gracious. The road to the camp was in dreadful condition, I had read about this before going but another day driving up and down the road to get to the game reserve would have done me in!

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank JPWRDB
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    IrisSales, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

    Dear JPWRDB,

    many thanks for your feedback - we always try to get better.

    We would like to respond to your points of criticism:

    Prepaid drink package: Our All inclusive package includes soft drinks, local beers and house wines - this is common practise. We applogize that you were not satisfied with the selection.

    Lunch: This must have been a miss communication. We are a small camp and therefore very flexible with our services for the clients. If somebody does not want to take lunch and would like to give the food to another person - that is not a problem.

    Road Condition: The roads in and around Masai Mara are not tarmaced - therefore the condition is not always the best. We keep on repairing the road regulary - but we need to wait for weather conditions sometimes.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 November 2013

    The Mara Siria camp was the perfect base for a wonderful few days in the Mara. The location itself is stunning, with beautiful views from the escarpment across the plains and Mara river below. The sunrises were breathtaking. The camp itself was charming in every way - we loved the way the site had so little impact on the environment, being tucked away within the natural surroundings. We stayed in the standard tents (called Luxury by the camp) and they were perfect - very comfortable, clean and larger than we expected.

    The staff were marvellous, always on hand, keen to help in any way and so friendly. The food was very good and plentiful....as was the red wine! The drives were amazing (thanks to our driver John) - in just two days we saw so much, in such a peaceful and stunning landscape. Thank you all (and Pheonix Safaris through whom we booked) so much!

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank DavidCFrench
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 October 2013

    From the outset, our safari organised through Phoenix Safaris in Nairobi, was special. The staff at the camp could not have been more friendly and helpful, the tents were comfortable and the bush shower each evening on return was hot and welcome. Our amazing guide, George, allowed us flexibility and privilege: he gave us the chance to see the big 5 in quantity (bar the leopard who remained elusive to the end!) but also the opportunity to see parts of the Park not so well travelled to witness other animals interacting, eating, relaxing and, of course, sleeping! Who would have thought 9 hours would pass with so much of interest to see. From bush breakfast to thunderstorms we had it all and saw so many different animals, birds and reptiles. Joel and his staff are to be congratulated on a very high standard at all times. But George with his thorough knowledge, professionalism and sense of fun was the family favourite!

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank JO R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 October 2013

    The tents themselves were adequate and the food was pretty good but the views were pretty awesome. The camp is roughly 10 minutes from the park gate so it's a bit of a drive but Phoenix Safaris were great and George who was our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

    • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank zamalek123
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 August 2013

    We had a great time staying in the luxury tent at Mara Siria Camp, we were lucky enough to get a tent which was on a raised platform as well as a sink which had water coming out of the taps, I am very fussy when it comes to bathrooms and i can confidently say this place was great, the only downfall was that there was no running hot water to have a shower but the people working at the camp would bring 40 liters of hot water ( which i'd say was lukewarm!) but the main thing was we were able to shower! Another great thing about the camp site were the animals, we were lucky enough to see at least 4 -5 zebra's outside our tent, at first I was a little scared but we were reassured that the animals were not harmful. At night it got quite chilly but the camp site provides hot water bottles and extra blankets in the room which was great. The food at the camp was great we especially enjoyed the dinner, the breakfast also had a variety of fruits and other assorted foods. The most amazing part was walking back to our tent after dinner when it was pitch black...looking up at the sky and seeing a thousand stars...truly amazing!

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank N33rie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews