We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mara Siria Camp
Nearby Hotels
Leopard Hill(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$590
US$465
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$633
US$403
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$205
US$176
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Azure Mara Haven(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$291
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$368
US$221
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (208)
    Filter reviews
    208 results
    Traveller rating
    160
    34
    11
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    160
    34
    11
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsphoenix safarisplunge poolgravity fedgame drivesguide jacobsafari showerpacked lunchdrinks are reasonably pricedsafari experiencehot air balloonspark gatestaff was very friendly and helpfulinteresting factsflush toiletstaking picturesperfect experiencewilson airport
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    75 - 80 of 208 reviews
    Reviewed 6 March 2014

    My friends and I went to a Masai Mara safari with Phoenix Safaris' guide Ambe. The experience was amazing but what really made it even more amazing was the skilled, enthusiastic and jolly guide Ambe. He was a true, dedicated professional in his job. He was always on time when he came to pick us up. The amount of knowledge he had about all the different plant and animal species was incredible and he also knew the scientific names for different species. He could tell hundreds of details about the behavior of different species, their habitats, their what’s and why’s. Especially impressed we were when we were looking at the hippos. When one snorted, Ambe said: “They are very territorial animals. That’s a territory grunt. Soon you will hear the next group grunting back.” And that’s exactly what happened.

    What also was heartwarming to notice was that he was truly concerned about the animals and nature. We didn’t go too close to the animals and avoided disturbing them the best we could. If he saw something making the animals uneasy he immediately spotted it and mentioned it. We’ve all worked with animals for years and have a strong background from animal behavior. We could tell he was at least at the same level if not even further in reading the wild animals’ signs.

    He could also spot different species from very difficult spots. We were able to see animals and plants we wouldn’t have seen if not for this gifted guide.

    Ambe had a good network of colleagues and cooperated with them in order to find interesting animals and things to see. His driving on the roads was conscious and he didn’t take too big risks in the chaotic Kenyan traffic.

    We also enjoyed our stay at the Mara Siria camp. The tents were outstanding and the staff was great.

    Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    1  Thank SariJii
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

    Thank you for your review and feedback.We look forward to give you even better services.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 March 2014

    The Mara Siria Camp has a awsome view from a hill which has to be climbed before. If you can you should take a flight instead of driving for 5 hours offroad. The camp is 30 minutes from the park entreance away and you have to drive a really bad road. Anyway tha camp is a little bit to german you can hear it in any corner but the food, the service is good. The tents are really big but you cant enjoy from anyone of them the beautyful view that you have from the lunch place. Ordering your shower and enjoy it coming from the bucket but be aware the it is limited. The safari cars are good but they could provide some water for the gamedrive. Food and drinks are OK and in the middleclass of what is possible. Enjoy you stay their with a warm welcome

    Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    2  Thank Christian K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

    Thank you for your honest review ,we look forward to give you even better services next time.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 February 2014

    My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Mara Siria. We are in our mid-fifties and went with another couple in their late fifties. The other couple had been to the camp a few years ago with their son and daughter-in-law and all had enjoyed themselves immensely. From the moment we arrived we knew this was a special place. The staff greeted us warmly, accommodated our every request, and made our stay most enjoyable. The tents were very spacious and spread out. Our tent was near our friends but far enough away for privacy. The game drives were unforgettable - many elephants, giraffes, lions, cheetahs, antelope, etc. Our guide, Jackson, was very knowledgeable and seemed to know just were to go and how to pace each game drive. The camp provided great boxed lunches for us so that we could stay out in the Mara most of the day. The views from the camp were great and the sounds of the animals in the night was magical. We thought the food was great given the remote location. Zebras and giraffes in the camp! I got up early one day to view the sunrise. Just awesome! Only complaint was that our bed was a bid too firm. We were there for three days and two nights which was just enough. Will probably return in a few years with other friends or family. Would highly recommend paying entry fees online for the Maasai Mara - we had issues with our credits cards which took a while to remedy (this had nothing to do with Mara Siria Camp). Would also recommend flying to the camp over driving. The flight only takes an hour from Wilson airport in Nairobi to the airstrip which is about a 20 minute drive from the camp. February was a great time to be at the camp - days are warm and dry and nights cool, and the camp was not busy.

    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank GJMW
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

    We are happy to receive your wonderful feedback after your experience in Mara Siria ,and we look forward to provide even better services and make your stay even more unforgettable .Thank you!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 February 2014

    We went to Mara Siria as a family for two nights as a flying package arranged by Phoenix safaris. We were nicely surprised how good the camp was and we had an excellent weekend away. We stayed in the deluxe tents which were very spacious and nicely decorated with large verandas. The bathrooms were also very spacious. While you have to ask for hot water for showers this gave a feeling of a real safari, and it was very well organized each evening, with water brought at whichever time you liked. This was absolutely no worry and only added to the charm. The service was the highlight—very attentive to each visitor giving it a luxury feeling. The staff were also very child friendly making it easy to visit with a 4 year old. The food was very good; with lunch provide outside, and dinners taken in a very intimate and cozy tent. My personal highlight was the packed breakfasts we were provided with both mornings on our game drive. As a close second in terms of highlights the amazing little plunge pool hidden away as a gem of the bush camp, overlooking the Mara with stunning views. A must to visit one of the hot days in between game drives!

    Our safari guide Jackson was excellent and we had stunning game drives each time. He was very calm and focused on finding animals. We all appreciated his calm way of finding the animals and good angles to see them, and we got to see all the animals (aside from leopard and cheetah) in a very natural way. Lots and lots of lions! He took very good care of the rules of the Mara triangle which we think should be commended (i.e. no off-side driving or disturbing the animals unnecessarily during hunting etc).

    The only thing for visitors to be prepared for is the slightly bumpy 15-20 min uphill drive from the park main gate up to the Mara Siria. It is a beautiful scenic drive but can get a little long with children. But this is something we quickly got used to and did not take away from the charm of the place. The reward for the climb is of course the beautiful views up from the camp itself. For morning game drives we tried to leave 6 am sharp to get down to the park on time for the sun rise. This was a very nice alternative to the larger lodges we have been in the Mara and we would happily come back.

    Room Tip: Choose the deluxe tents which are a little further away but very good and new!
    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Nairobizebra
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

    Much appreciation for your wonderful review ,we look forward to hosting you again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 January 2014

    We went with phoenix safaris and had such a great guide, George. Game drives every day and we got to choose how we wanted to plan our days. The tents are really nice and even though there was no running water in our tent that just increased the feeling of being on an awesome safari. Every night the staff filled our safari shower with nice hot water and afterwords they brought us to the place of dinner which changed from day to day. The food was good but not spectacular. Breakfast was great though with both pancakes, fruit and toast. There were zebras and sometimes giraffes walking arount the camp which was really cool too.

    I think this is one of the best hotell experieces I have ever had and the staff was so helpful and nice.

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Sofie_traveler
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    VivienKenya, Public Relations Manager at Mara Siria Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

    Thank you for your great feedback ,we look forward to serve you even better next time.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews