We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kicheche Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kicheche Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Well where to start! We stayed at Kicheche Bush Camp for 3 nights at the end of August 2013, the second part of our safari honeymoon. And what a place!!

We arrived at the camp slightly late because the plane was delayed, but this didn't stop our driver/guide diverting from the quickest route to make sure that we saw plenty of wildlife on our way. We were welcomed firstly by Badda-bing, a wonderfully well behaved and lovely dog (we nearly stole him!) before Darren and Emma (who run the camp) gave us a very warm welcome. We were shown to our tent....although I use the term loosely - it is essentially the most incredibly luxurious room which happens to be made of canvas....complete with king size bed and is in the middle of the Mara!

We were then welcomed by the remaining guests (5 other couples) at lunch, and it is obvious that Darren and Emma put a great deal of thought and effort into making sure that every guest is made to feel welcome and instantly part of the camp. The other guests were all incredibly friendly, and were a hugely mixed bunch - from all over the world, a combination of families, honeymooners and professional photographers.

The food throughout our stay was simply incredibly. How the chef's manage to put together such a varied daily menu in the middle of nowhere is beyond us and the quality was mind-blowing. The fact that the delivery lorry broke down 3 hours away whilst we there and one of our evening meals was apparently "thrown together" at the last minute is testament to them. We loved our evenings, with good food, plenty of quality wine/beer and great company. The ‘front of house’ staff tend to any need that you may have, and every single member of staff were fabulous.

We had a number of game drives throughout our stay – all of the guides are local Masai who are extremely knowledgeable and are able to find everything you could possibly want and more. The day we had at the river Mara watching the wildebeest crossing was something that will stay with us for the rest of our lives. The variety of game and wildlife was fantastic throughout our stay, and the fact the Mara Bush Camp is completely sustainable and the staff are all local makes it so much more appealing than the other options. The guides make sure that they do not impact on the local surroundings/animals and the jeeps that they use have open roofs and sides, and having driven around the Mara for 3 days – it is safe to say the quality of vehicles at this camp are far superior to any other camp in the region.

On our final night, Darren and Emma surprised us with a special private meal, including bubbly and candles in our tent to help us celebrate our honeymoon. It was a lovely touch and shows that the staff go above and beyond to ensure your stay is perfect. We really cannot recommend the camp highly enough and would certainly love to return in the future.

The fact that Darren supports Leicester City, the greatest team on earth, has nothing to do with it!!

The new Mr & Mrs Turner!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
194
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This camp is excellent, we stayed here 4 nights and felt like we'd stayed in someone's amazing home than a resort. Darren and Emma really do provided a personalized service, and nothing is too much. The food is wonderful, even when out on drives. Lunches and dinners sre communal, such great fun to mert lovely new people and hear about their days. The guides are so knowledgeable and clearly know the land and surrounding animals very well. I believe all of the tents are the same, although the ones on each end do produce slightly more privacy. We'd never been on safari before so almost took it for granted seeing all the animals so close on a daily basis, but after talking to others who had been on a few safaris, we were very lucky to have such good guides and to see so many animals and cubs. Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend this place. Loved it and did not want to leave

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaH01101981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived at Bushcamp after a week in Migration Camp with Paul Goldstein, to be welcomed by Darren & Emma in time for Dinner, made to feel completely at home instantly.
Food was of good restaurant quality in the camp and picnic breakfasts and lunches also first class.
The guides handled the Land Cruisers with great skill and consideration for the Guests
Charles and Patrick were amazing spotters and very aware of photographers needs.
The area around Bush Camp is a joy as vehicle numbers are restricted to only the camps in the conservancy.
The wild life variety and numbers were excellent, the main reason to travel to the reserve was to witness a migration crossing, which we did twice.
Over 12 years we have been to Kenya and Tanzania and have experienced a lot of camps and would rate Kicheche Bush Camp the best overall Safari experience.
Dr Peter Mason and Grace Mason ARPS DPAGB

Room Tip: All tented accommodation is excellent, running water and electric lights excellent shower. Peter lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

From the time we landed at the Mara airstrip through to departing 3 days later, Paul, Darren & Emma's team were top notch and world class in every way. Every meal whether at camp or out on the Mara were excellent...how in the world do you achieve excellence way out here?! Meeting around the camp fire for drinks, sharing the days experiences under remarkable and stunning moonlit evenings, then sharing dinner meals with fellow guest was magical. Africa truly does strip one down and allows for no pretense. Patina was awesome...I'd venture to say after being on safari for 25 days with other guides that he is, quite simply the best in east africa. Thank you for sharing your Maasai culture and story with us. Listening to Maasai music while our safari walk was priceless. Keep up the good work everyone. We congratulate the Kicheche Bush Camp team, everyone of you, for delivery an awesome experience. Continued best wishes. We can't hardly wait to one seeing you again. Jon & Vicki RPV, CA

Room Tip: There are only 6,which is what makes this place great. We had elephant visit us in tent number one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We had a wonderful 3 nights at this camp with the whole family loving the stay. After the original shock of my wife recognising the camp manager, Darren, as someone she babysat 30 years ago, we had laugh upon laugh. Darren and Emma were perfect managers (hosts!!!) and run a very effecient camp. The first thing that struck me was that we were the only 'first timers' in the camp! Ian from Derby had been three times this year already, Peter & Cami were on their second visit this year and Sue from South Carolina seems an annual guest - what a great recommendation that is and we certainly found out why!!
The tents are a good size and are more Glamping than Camping with real Armitage Shanks toilets in each ensuite tented bathroom!! Meal time is an experience with Darren and Emma hosting a private dinner party in the main tent with beautifully prepared meals. All the Masai staff were so pleasant and cheery.
The fantastic location in this conservancy within the Masai Mara gives you daily access to stunning experiences with wild animals. We saw all the big 5 here, plus the Kenyan Ugly 5 and many more in great driving days with our guide, Nelson.
The closeness to this wildness is no more apparent when you zip up the tents at night. This is an un-fenced camp and the sound of antlepoles, Lions, Buffalo, elephants roaming or grazing outside your tent during the night is unbelievable.
The walking safari is a must...breaks up the driving safaris and really let's you live the experience - although we were grateful we had the armed companion!!
We certainly loved this camp and would highly recommend Darren, Emma and their team!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 tents and all are as good as each other!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The camp was great and the managers very welcoming! We stayed three nights on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and the food very good! The bucket showers are hot and long, we we’re not expecting such a standard out in the wild. The hot water bottle service was the best thing ever, I slept like a baby, despite the lions, buffalos and elephants, that wandered the camp at night. Don’t worry, there is no danger as long as you stay in your tent. You see a lot of other jeeps, but it’s still ok during migration. The guide was ok, but we had better at other places. His English was mediocre and his knowledge sketchy in places. Still, we saw a leopard, loads of lions and cubs, as well as thousands of wildebeest. We definitely recommend kicheche!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrlaubimSueden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Simple the best! We visited 4 safari camps on our trip to Kenya and Bush camp was by far the best. I wish I could give it 10 stars! We were greeted at the airstrip by Patrick and had a game drive on the way to camp. Camp managers Darren and Emma greeted as at camp and explained the process of how the camp operates with game drives, lunch, dinner, drivers etc before being escorted to your tent. This place is brilliant, amazing, lovely...I could go on. You really need to get here an experience it yourself. The camp is so well perfectly placed that the days just breeze past and you don't want to leave. Darren and Emma do an outstanding job of making camp feel like your home away from home, and the interaction with the other guests at dinner and lunch add to the ambience and atmosphere that makes this place so special. The guides are fabulous, their knowledge is fantastic and they can spot something in the far distance that you just cannot believe until you get closer and can see it for yourself! Full credit to them. All camp staff are ever so friendly and polite. We can't stop talking about this place and are already planning our visit back - for longer this time!

Room Tip: We had the last tent and enjoyed it greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
7.1 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
18.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#11 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#9 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
12.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
2.8 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#7 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kicheche Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kicheche Bush Camp

Property: Kicheche Bush Camp
Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate luxury camp of only 6 tents located in the exclusive Olare Orok Conservancy of the Masai Mara. The camps top quality guides and hosts will ensure you a superb safari experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kicheche Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kicheche Bush Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kicheche Bush Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing