We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elephant Pepper Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived at he nearby airport and met our guide, George, We drove to the camp and looked for game along the way. The camp itself is situated in a lovely grove of trees with a beautiful meadow facing out the back. The common tent areas include the dining tent and lounge tent next to it. They had very comfortable couches and pretty Persian-type rugs, a full bar, and tea in the afternoon before the later game drive. Dinners were served at a long table so that we could all visit. Breakfasts were serve in the bush while out on the early game drive. This was my favorite place of this trip---stunningly beautiful in all aspects. And the food was amazing. The camp hosts were wonderful, a husband and wife team with a young child. The game drives were really just amazing. George was tenacious about finding game, and he had a wonderful sense of humor. We will go back again!

Room Tip: All of the tents were fantastic, with real toilets. They are all the same, looking out on the meadow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Many thanks for submitting your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our time with us.
Warm regards, Patrick and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
76
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness-shire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at EPC for 4 nights early march. This is our 5th safari and I have to say that the game in the Northern Conservancy is above all expectancy, even compared with Masaai Mara itself. Everything seems to be just there right outside the camp. We had tent no 1, the honeymoon tent which is the furthest away but that's exactly what we liked. It was awesome to sit on tent veranda and watch a herd of elephant grazing only a short distance away. One night a herd of buffalo were grazing right outside the tent, their breathing sounded really loud up against the canvas. It is so lovely to wake up each morning to the beautiful chorus of birds, hyenas, baboons - and best of all - lots of roaring from the lions!

The camp itself is lovely, very well run by Patrick and Sophie. They make everyone feel welcome and look after their guests very well. Lunches and meals are a really cosy affair, all sitting together in the dining tent looking out onto the plains.

Our guide George was a really good guide, he seemed to know where all the game was and due to his great observation skills we had some truly amazing encounters. He would spot the game and stop the jeep, always mysteriously seeming to know where the animals were headed - and twice we had the big Peacock and Cheli pride choosing to walk right by us, some of them about 2 feet away, some of them even sniffing the wheel under where I sat (intensely holding my breath) - amazing experience first thing in the morning and not another soul about!

We highly recommend this camp to anyone that enjoys close encounters with wildlife without the big crowds around each viewing of game like you have in the Mara itself, a small intimate camp with brilliant staff, we very much enjoyed the company of the guys working there! Loved sitting by the camp fire with a drink before dinner.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Zoe,
Thank you for posting your kind review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and that you highly recommend Elephant Pepper Camp to other potential visitors. We hope that this positive experience will bring you back to Elephant Pepper Camp again very soon for another memorable stay.
Warm regards, Patrick and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night. Big mistake! Elephant Pepper is the quintessential African tented camp. Located in a prime spot on the verge of the open planes, in the Mara North conservancy, there is so much wildlife to see from the lounge and dining tents. As we checked in a hungry lioness walked no more than 250 metres away from us, clearly in the search of some food for herself and her three cubs (we were told by Patrick and Sofie, the lovely lodge managing couple).
The tents are simple, but very nicely decorated and very functional. A flush toilet and bucket shower in the bathroom, double basins, although no running water. But the butler makes sure that hot and cold water is always there!
After a delicious lunch (freshly baked pizza and salads) we had ample time to relax in the hammocks in front of the tents.
The afternoon safari gave us a good leopard sighting, (although the leopard was extremely lazy and just lying underneath the bush) and a stunning experience with a pride of lions, amongst them a lot of young that were up to mischief. We sat there for about an hour, watching them, with no other vehicles around us, just the lions, us and our sundowner gin&tonics. What an outstanding experience!

Upon return to the lodge the hot bucket shower was ready for us, and yes – water has to be used sparingly – but absolutely fine to have a good wash. Ladies who wish to wash their hair can always ask for a second bucket…
Dinner was a bit weak, we had expected more after the delicious lunch, but Patrick’s Crepes Suzette for dessert were delicious.

The next morning we decided to go on a quick bush walk, as Patrick is the only certified guide in the conservancy allowed to take guests out on foot. A Masai accompanied us, following with his bright red clothes to make sure nothing would attack us from behind.
We knew that there were plenty lions in the area, but we didn’t see any of them (I wasn’t too sad about this), just stacks of plane’s game.

We would go back to Elephant Pepper any time and definitely stay for at least 3 nights.

Room Tip: our tent was the one closest to the communal area and we were very happy with it. The honeymoon tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Angela,
Thank you for sharing your safari experience with us. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and saw plenty of lovely Masai Mara wildlife, even though it was brief. Next time you must stay for longer!
We are sorry to hear that our barbeque didn't meet your expectation. Thank you for raising this and, since your visit, we have worked hard to improve things.
We look forward to welcoming you back again for a longer stay at Elephant Pepper Camp.
Warm regards, Patrick and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We live in Kenya since 3 years so we visited different camps in different parks. Our favorite ones are always the Cheli Peacock ones because they offer us all what we are looking for : great location, good service, well trained guides, excellent food, tastefully decorated and original tents and not at least because of the small size of the camps, far away from any mass tourism ! Our stay in February was perfect. The honeymoon tent absolutely pretty (we loved the bucket showers !), the food excellent, the staff nice and helpful and thanks to our very friendly guide Francis we had one of our best safaris since we are in Kenya. Patrick and Sophia are the very best managers we met up to now. North Conservancy is the home of many cats and even more. We promised already to come again and do a walking safari... So, Patrick and Sophia, see you soon ! Keep on going managing the camp like it is. Congratulation ! To all the people who look for a special place, do not hesitate, book Elephant Pepper !

Room Tip: honeymoon tent of course !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Laurence,
We would like to express our sincere thanks for submitting your wonderful review. It is always very gratifying to read such positive feedback and comments from our guests and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back again for another memorable break,especially for one of our renouned walking safaris, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Until then, warm regards,
Patrick and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We just came back from Elephant Pepper Camp and keep wonderful memories from our 3 nights stay. Patrick and Sophie were great hosts and very generous. They spent some time with us at the camp and had dinner with us. It gave us a chance to speak french which did not happen often in Kenya. Meals are taken together, so it gives us a chance to share time with people from all over.

We are greated around the fire every morning to get some coffee and cookies before the morning game drive. Bonnie, our guide, then took us for great drives that included cats that we were expecting to see in the Mara.

I really liked the BBQ set-up by Patrick in the plain were we were amazed by a fantastic sunset looking at elephants walking at distance. What a great surprise for us to meet everybody staying at the camp all gathered around the fire. Not your typical night out believe me. If this does not amaze you, nothing will !

Patrick, you wished to get some Canadian made Maple sirup from us, we are ready to jump back in the plane to hand it out to you.

Michel et Cathy

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your kind review.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the time spent with us and to have been given the opportunity to speak in French with you.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon…bien sur avec du sirop d’erable!

Patrick & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I travelled from Joy's Camp to Elephant Pepper on a Safarilink flight with amazing views of the African landscape. I was met at the air strip by my driver and driven to the camp en route viewing zebras and giraffes.
The interior of my tent was decorated in the style of a bygone era with brass accessories in the bathroom. There was no shortage of style and so comfortable with an extra touch at night with a hot water bottle warming up the sheets on the cool nights. This must be the ultimate in safari living. The dining tent overlooked the open grassland where animals could be seen at all times of the day. In the evening I enjoyed dinner and meeting guests overlooking the savannah with elephants passing by
On one of the many game drives the leopard up a tree with his kill was awesome. He was so handsome and just hanging loose. The pride of lions were not interested in any tourist with clicking camera shutters. These lions were feasting on a hippo and quite content.
My bush breakfast on the banks of the Mara River was so special with an amazing viewpoint watching the hippos wallowing in the river alongside crocodiles. ( I finally got over my fear of watching crocs! ) I was also impressed with my driver being so caring for the environment by stopping to collect any odd piece of rubbish laying on the track.

The bespoke safari games drives were unique with a pride of lions enjoying a recent kill overlooked by hyenas and vultures – watching and waiting for their turn. Each game drive was amazing and different with sundowners on the savannah watching a storm brewing with elephants and zebras in the distance.
Elephant Pepper has an amazing view of the savannah plains with elephants, zebras and antelope visiting each afternoon. This lodge is highly recommended for people who treasure the lifestyle of bygone days.
The management team were great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. We've shown all the team here your review & they're also delighted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at two camps while in Kenya. This one was the better of the two. The staff was fantastic, the food was excellent, our guide (James) was great, and the management team (Patrick and Sophia) were outstanding! Highly recommend this camp! It's small and very much what you want in Africa! Stay here and not at the camps that allow for over 100 people!

Room Tip: Smaller camps are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheliPeacockKenya, Manager at Elephant Pepper Camp, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review - and also for coming to stay with us!
Warmest wishes
Patrick & Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
13.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#11 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
320 reviews
7.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
490 reviews
22.1 mi away
Sand River Masai Mara
Sand River Masai Mara
#46 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Mara Plains Camp
Great Plains Conservation Mara P...
#48 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
159 reviews
9.7 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
16.5 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#35 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Pepper Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Pepper Camp

Property: Elephant Pepper Camp
Address: Mara North Conservancy | Mara North Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elephant Pepper Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Pepper Camp is situated within the Mara North Conservancy. Small and exclusive, the camp is located in the heart of the African Bush. Our spacious canvas tents are comfortably furnished, featuring en suite bathrooms with flush toilets and traditional safari showers. Nothing rivals sitting around the campfire enjoying the sounds of the African night. Elephant Pepper Camp brings people back to nature – no traffic, no permanent structures, just the sights and sounds of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Elephant Pepper Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Pepper Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Elephant Pepper Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing