We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the African bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Luxury in the middle of the African bush! Enormous tents with all the mod cons you would need. Everyone was very friendly and, in general, the food was very good. We did have one duff meal though - filets of beef that were definitely not filets of beef (we couldn’t even chew them!). We had an apology from the manager (Daryl) but no more than that – I would have expected a better response from someone in charge of such a prestigious camp.
This is the place to come if you want to see lots of game without having to look too far – it was a bit like fishing in a fish pond. There was so much to see. The only downside was the number of other safari vehicles that, naturally, wanted to be a part of any sighting. However, it was all handled in a very orderly manner by the game drivers and in nearly all cases it was not a problem at all – there was so much else to see.
We saw a couple of river crossings, which enhanced our respect for the humble wildebeest, and like everyone else, we willed them across without any harm coming to them. The score for the two crossing was – Crocs 4, Wildebeasts 100s. Definitely, the highlight of our stay.
Ngei, our game driver was excellent. Always very cheerful and obliging, he was very knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. We hope that he gains his silver award, which he is studying for, in April.
You can see why the Big Cat Diary team selected this as the place to be. However, I'm glad we didn't go on the hot air balloon trip...it's so much more interesting to be really close to the action.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exmoor-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Owner at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

Il Moran was a perfect lodge setting and the Masai Mara was amazing giving you the full game experience right from your door.

The accommodation was fantastic and very spacious. Staff were very attentive and always there to ensure your needs and overall safety were met. It is not every morning when you wake up to find that elephants had slept right next door to you.

The journey to Il Moran was so easy and quick. The drives were varied and our guide was so enthusiastic about the animals. Also and very importantly to us, he showed a lot of respect to the animals unlike some other companies we witnessed.

The food was good (lunch was usually better than dinner, for some unknown reason). One way we could have seen an improvement was to offer some African food on the menu. This was not readily apparent. When we asked however, they were more than happy to oblige and the waiting staff only too happy to explain what we were eating. Very tasty!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelleruk039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This is a truly excellent camp, as good as tented camps get (just FYI, still nothing like the top luxury lodges in South Africa though).
Head and shoulders above its two sister camps (Main Governors' and Little Governors').

Tents are huge, charming and spotless. Electricity is available for the majority of the day. Bathrooms are en-suite with great facilities and hot water.

The camp is small (10 tents), intimate and has great views of the Mara river. Service is attentive and food is decent. The manager, Daryl, is hands on, helpful and a great guy.

Jeeps are among the best I've seen roaming in the park and the rangers are extremely knowledgeable and tend to speak very good English.

Great position within the National park, close to the airstrip and to the "famous" Marsh Pride of lions. In all this is a fantastic safari experience, not least because the Mara offers the best game viewing opportunities in Africa (and I'm a safari lover who's been to SA, Botswana, Namibia, Zim and Zambia).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We spent two nights each at Governor's Il Moran, Mbalageti Serengeti, Ngorongoro Crater Lodge, Manyara Tree Lodge and Tortilis Amboseli. Il Moran was the best of these highly rated tent camps. We had the best game viewing, the best food, and at least as good service. The game viewing began out the back of our luxury tent, with hippos in the river ten steps away. One morning, elephants crammed the road out of the camp, and we had to wait a half hour before we could get around them. Most of the time we viewed game, there was no other car around.

The food was some of the best we've had anywhere in the world--salads, soups, gourmet entrees, all were fantastic.

The highlight was a bottle of chardonnay kept chilled and two wine glasses pulled out one night in front of a hippo pool and the next night in front of a pride of lions sprawled out beside us.

We've been all over Africa, and this was our favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjw125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

From start to finish this was a total surprise. Our light aircraft met at the landing strip in the middle of nowhere by Juma in a Landrover who became our driver for our entire stay even taking us back to the airstrip and waving goodbye on our last day.
The camp is extraordinary with huge tents and seperate bathrooms with victorian tubs big enough for two but the tents still lending to that intrepid feel.
Escorted from our tent to the dining area every night and served very, very good food (the best we ate in Africa) on a candle lit table in the open air around a camp fire. Here the expression "nothing is too much trouble" really does ring true.
And the Safari was extraordinary,3 drives a day in an open sided and - if you wanted it - open topped Land Rover, 6:30 then breakfast, 10:30 then lunch and a final 16:30 to 19:00 drive as the sun sets over the savannah. Lions, Ostriches, Zebra, Giraffe, Cheetah, Leopard, Jackal, Hyena, Elephants, Vultures, Gazelle, Buffalo, Baboons and around a million Wilderbeest - incredible.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marqueep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Everything about Governor's was perfect. It is the most luxurious of camps with tents having a wonderfully comfortable bed, hot shower, large bath and space to just relax in between game drives. All of the tents overlook the Mara River and that in itself is enough to pass the time away, watching the hippos wallow, spotting crocs or being amused by the baboons and warthogs on the opposite bank.

The staff are fantastic and each of them has the art of making every guest feel special. They could not do enough for you and the unexpected (and unasked for) little touches like the room attendant who cleaned our muddy shoes after we were caught in a downpour one afternoon and the guard who very politely inteupted my book reading to ask if we wanted to go off camp with him to see the family of hippos made the experience one we will never forget.

The food is amazing and would not be out of place in a top London restaurant, all the more exceptional when you consider where you are and that everything is flown in on a daily basis.

The game drives are spectacular and the knowledgeable drivers ensure that you see a huge range of animals and other wildlife. Again, nothing is too much trouble for them and the whole trip is designed to make a truly memorable experience. We did not do a balloon trip as I think you get a much better view and range of sights from a vehicle on the gound. Masai Mara is a place that touches your sole, one that I was incredibly sad to leave and hope to return to again (I've now been twice) more than anywhere I have ever been and would not contemplate staying anywhere other than Governors.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwickenhamCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We stayed at Il Moran Camp for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. I think its safe to say I will never experience anything as special as this in my life again. From the sheer luxury of the accomodation, the great food, the friendly atmosphere and the daily adventures of the game drives it was all just truly amazing. Of course not to forget the animals....after all thats why we were there. I didnt consider myself a wildlife fan before but i certainly am now. We were lucky enough to meet the presenters of the Big Cat Diaries who were there filming during our stay there. I know Its expensive but its so worth it and I would recommend this once in a lifetime experience to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank docgScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Governors' Il Moran Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for this Review it is much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.4 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#23 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
970 reviews
14.4 mi away
Elephant Pepper Camp
Elephant Pepper Camp
#21 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Angama Mara
Angama Mara
#19 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
124 reviews
20.2 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#2 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
531 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £665 - £1,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. Governors has been pioneering immersive and transformational safaris in the Mara since 1972. We were the first operators to be permanently based inside the Mara, our site was chosen for its prime location and was the designated “getaway” for the Governors of Kenya. Unfenced and right in the heart of the action. Our camps are Located in some of the best and most precious Wildlife Locations in the world. We are a family with a colourful cast of characters that embodies the spirit of safari, while placing the care of the environment, community and conservation at the heart of everything we do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Governors' Il Moran Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing