We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Safari”
Review of Leleshwa Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leleshwa Camp
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had another great trip to Leleshwa. From sunset cocktails to spectacular tents to first-class accommodations, this is the way to experience the Masai Mara at its best. The food was great and having a hot shower after a long day in the Mara (despite being in a tented camp) makes this hard to call "camping". Brought several work colleagues here for the first time and many are already talking about bringing family/friends back in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Was here on my birthday Jan 10-13. The camp is so beautiful located in the Siana Conservancy. The staff is now like family to me and already looking for my return. The tents are beautiful, the grounds captivating, the food 5 star. David was my personal guide with Sopia as my spotter, yep I was blessed to see the big 5 in one day. If you go nowhere else you must go here

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebelMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Three nights and four days at Leleshwacamp ... Named after a tree in the Mara bush... There were leleshwa leaves left at our bedside, on our linens, as a greeting, and a lovely gift on our arrival.
We were met at the airstrip by two Maasai warriors, Julian and Rinka, who drove us to the camp, all the while explaining their culture and what we were seeing en route in excellent English. They stayed with us, taking us on game drives, walking trips, along with eating at our table. We even visited one of their families' villages, dancing with the men and women, and being invited into a home in the boma.
Our relief Manager, Andy, was most hospitable and informative.
Our tent was definitely a 5-star, with a flush toilet and hot water available in thr mornings and evenings. The game drives always involved a sundowner (cocktails at sunset, and or dinner) and we could also have an early breakfast picnic drive. Most memorable was our late night drives.
Everyone was ready for any type of activity we desired.
Our children had two babies under two, and they were welcomed and cherished by the very friendly Kenyans.
The food was fabulous, always fresh and plentiful.
The other guests had their own guides, and dinner in the dining tent was always fun to swap stories, and later by the fire.
Nothing could surpass this vacation of a lifetime.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank JosetteG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed in Leleshwa Camp in December with my family of five - two adults and three kids aged 11(boy), 7 and 3.5 (girls). We had a fantastic holiday!! It was exactly what we were hoping for and more. We wanted a holiday in the Mara which was engaging for the kids beyond the game drive and pool experience. From the moment we arrived at the camp we felt like we were visiting friend in their fabulous camp. The atmosphere was so relaxed and the kids were not made to feel like they were in the way of any guests. There was adequate space for the kids to play without being in the way of other guests as they might be in a hotel lobby etc. The kids were also kept engaged with activities when they were not on game drives. They had bow and arrow making and archery which my older two kids absolutely loved! The girls had a bead making session with two Maasai ladies.

We enjoyed the sundowners in the conservancy, the game drives in the Mara, the long walks, the food, the friendships, the whole expereince


The staff at Leleshwa Camp were not only knowledgeable but also very pleasant and friendly. We had Simon as our tour guide and Pere as our Maasai tracker and they were both amazing!! Andy the Manager and his team at Leleshwa Camp are doing fantastic job and I cannot recommend this camp enough for anyone looking for a unique experience of the Mara.

We booked directly with Leleshwa Camp's Nairobi office. I would like to request that they consider enabling their customers to pay by credit card as it was a little inconvenient having to deposit the money into their bank account.

If you want to visit the Mara, don't hesitate to go to Leleshwa Camp!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wangui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just returned back from the family holiday of a lifetime in Kenya. To celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary we pushed the boat out and took our 2 children (7,5) to Kenya for half term.

Following a friends recommendation, we booked the trip through Natural Habitat Safaris - planning a few days on Safari and then 5 days at Watamu on the coast.

As a rule we're not very good a booking holidays - we seem to spend longer trying to work out where to go and worrying about making the wrong decision then we do actually on holiday. This time we had none of that and it was bliss! The team at Natural Habitat Safaris were amazing - they took care of everything for us.

We'd read some brilliant reviews about Leleshwa and so our expectations were pretty high - but the words and a few photos had not really prepared us for the magical time we had at the camp and with their team on Safari.

On the way to the camp we drove across plains filled with zebra, wildebeest and gazelle, all our eyes popping out of the heads. We then dipped down into the trees before parking up beside the bridge to the camp - across which our hosts came greeting us with the warmest smiles and coolest flannels.

It was the start of an unforgettable few days being looked after by the loveliest people, seeing the most amazing sights, eating delicious food, laughing lots and seeing out children loving every moment.

There happened to be 2 other families and on the second day all our children were treated to an art and craft session with 2 lovely Masai ladies. They were in heaven, painting and making beaded necklaces and bracelets.

As for the safari's - WOW. The Leleshwa guides really know the area, the fauna, the flora and how to show you the real wild - avoiding the crowds and taking you to the most beautiful spots and the best sites for seeing the animals. This time we did not see a rhino but we saw everything else - without chasing anything we simply stumbled across them.

I could spend hours sharing stories of our time at Leleshwa but the only way to really share it is to encourage you to go too.

Sundowners overlooking paradise, marshmallows one the fire, happy children and a million more memories...

I don't know if we'll be able to wait another 10 years to go again. We all loved it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the family tents - but they all looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC_Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

stayed 2.5 wks on safari, been to multiple camps and lodges but this one was superior compared to it all. mark and jeanine really did a great job at making you feel welcome and a relaxed atmosphere. anything you want, whenever you want it. doesn't get any better than this

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chopstick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I travelled to Leleshwa Camp as part of a holiday with my sister and her two teenage children who were in Kenya for the first time. This Mara trip came at the end of the holiday and we loved it! Apart from getting lost on the way (make sure you get directions from staff) - it was fantastic in every way. We drove from Nairobi and arrived a bit late but lunch was waiting for us, and we were welcomed by Janine and Mark who manage the camp. Hot and dusty we retired to our very spacious family tent, which they had set up for the 4 of us. Home made biscuits awaited, and then we were off on a game drive in the conservancy, driving amongst giraffe in huge numbers. We even saw a Tommy chasing a jackal! William Ole Siara, our professional guide, with his assistant David, were extremely knowledgeable. They got a fire going and we sat star gazing and listening to the sounds of the night. Magical! Oh, and having a sundowner with delicious honey-roasted cashew nuts. We returned by 8 for dinner round a large table whereupon we met the other guests. The next morning we were up with the larks at 5.30, woken by a cup of our choice, and then drove the short distance to the Mara. We saw lions at very close proximity, also many elephant, thousands of wildebeest and zebra, hippos, crocodiles, an amazing day out including a bush breakfast under a tree and lunch in view of the Mara river.... Unfortunately we missed the animals crossing the river - very disappointing - but we saw them queuing up on the other side! That evening we slept early and rose for a brief walk near the camp before breakfast - what should we see but 2 elephants browsing in the bush! After a delicious breakfast we left for Nairobi, with heavy hearts. We will return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jok20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
10.5 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#74 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
9.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,082 reviews
13.5 mi away
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
Cottar's 1920s Camp & Bush Villa
#1 of 1 in Olderkesi Private Reserve
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,068 reviews
30.3 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
566 reviews
25.1 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#12 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leleshwa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleshwa Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok - NE Masai Mara Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £222 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leleshwa Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleshwa Camp is an intimate tented camp situated on the Siana Conservancy on the North–Eastern edge of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in Kenya. Resting along a stream valley overlooking picturesque hills and rolling plains dotted with resident game, Leleshwa Camp seeks to give its guests an authentic African experience. The camp offers simplistic elegance and style in a relaxed environment with six spacious permanent tents privately situated and designed to blend in naturally with the surrounding nature.We also offer a private traditional Mobile Tented Camp, also with six spacious ensuite tents that can be located anywhere in Kenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leleshwa Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leleshwa Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing