We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leleshwa Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leleshwa Camp
Lisbon
Level Contributor
1 review
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

Even better than we were dreaming about.
Everything is absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Our stay with Leleshwa Camp really was a journey of enlightenment and rejuvenation, just as their website claims it will be...
...starting with a stunning flight over the vast plains of the Masai Mara
...being greeted by our guide and a Masai Warrior at the Siana Springs airstrip, seeing a giraffe mother and baby on our drive to camp
...and welcomed into the Leleshwa family by one of the owners at camp
...viewing our tent for the first time and being amazed at the comfort, serenity, beauty and blendedness with the natural environment, feeling like we are on nature's doorstep
...Samuel making bow and arrow and spears for the kids, then going off hunting with them, crouching in the grass and trying to sneak up on the zebra's and thomson gazelles
...delicious, mouth-watering delicacies over candlelit dinners
...bush bonfires and drinks
...sunsets next to a herd of gazelles
...walking safari, seeing lion tracks and learning about the local vegetation
...games drives that included a spectacular viewing of a pride of lions hunting a buffalo, from initial sighting to attack, and picnics in the mara
...and of course the unforgettable visit to the Masai village, including a gathering by the fire inside a simple hut.

The feeling we left with is personal, unique, special. An unforgettable experience. Our 7 year old son cried when we left - something he's never done before despite having been to many places all over the world. Thank you Leleshwa!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

When we arrived at Leleshwa we didn't think anything could top the amazing places we'd already stayed on our 14 day Safari. We were wrong. The camp and it's staff made our last four days in Africa the best of the trip. The guides were amazing and found every animal in the Mara for us. The food was outstanding and was only topped by the beautiful scenery it was served in. At night we fell asleep in our stylishly decorated tent and awoke to fresh coffee delivered to our door. We left feeling like we'd made new friends. Thanks for an amazing experience!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

What an extraordinary place! You feel as if you have been transported right into the "Out of Africa" movie but with hot water and all the modern conveniences. Never in a million years would I think I would be spending a day in the Mara only to come home to a candlelight dinner. The staff and hosts are top notch - they make you feel at home instantly and truly think of everything. I plan on recommending them to anyone travelling to Kenya.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle_Traveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Leleshwa was by far my favorite of three camps I stayed in on the most spectacular trip of my life! The setting, the people, the accomodations - they instantly felt so familiar as if we had been together far longer than the few nights of our journey. Our tents were comfortable and secluded with amazing views. Joe and Jilian were instantly like old friends and the team they assembled reflected their spirit as well. The terrain we covered was an adventure in itself - including hiking around the camp and taking a night drive. The camp had everything you could ever need including running water, fabulous food and great company. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outofchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

I have read all the prior posts and agree with what has been said. You will not find a location that pays more attention to detail without being pretentious or overbearing anywhere. Reasons to love the camp include: activities, animal sightings, staff, cleanliness, concern for the environment, sensitivity to the animals, respect for the local culture, setting, food, and comfort. We were married with Maasai villagers as our attendants and elders performing a Maasai ceremony. They thought of everything! Traditionally, a homemade beer is part of the ceremony, but not wanting flies to be unwelcome guests, wine was substituted. Our wish was simply to get married in a non-traditional way. It was an incredible experience. Champagne, dried rose petals tossed, a buffet dinner in the bush - white table clothes and candleabras. I truly could go on and on. Whatever your needs are, they will be met at Leleshwa.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

My wife and i spent 3 nights at Leleshwa in Oct of '09.We were given the tented suite which was fantastic.Mike,Joe & Gillian as well as our guides Kenneth and Samuel were the most gracious hosts you could have.We would and will at some point return.It is the best.

Lewis Schneiderman/Hartsdale N.Y.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aventurerhartsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.6 mi away
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
Oldarpoi Mara Camp
#72 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
5.4 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#53 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
10.2 mi away
Amani Mara Lodge
Amani Mara Lodge
#94 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
SEMADEP Camp
SEMADEP Camp
#100 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#63 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kicheche Valley Camp
Kicheche Valley Camp
#56 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leleshwa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleshwa Camp

Property: Leleshwa Camp
Address: C12 Keekorok - NE Masai Mara Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leleshwa Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleshwa Camp is an intimate tented camp situated on the Siana Conservancy on the North–Eastern edge of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in Kenya. Resting along a stream valley overlooking picturesque hills and rolling plains dotted with resident game, Leleshwa Camp seeks to give its guests an authentic African experience. The camp offers simplistic elegance and style in a relaxed environment with six spacious permanent tents privately situated and designed to blend in naturally with the surrounding nature.We also offer a private traditional Mobile Tented Camp, also with six spacious ensuite tents that can be located anywhere in Kenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Leleshwa Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leleshwa Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing