We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naibor - JUST GO! Amazing well worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naibor Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naibor Camp
Atlanta
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Naibor - JUST GO! Amazing well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The camp was GREAT. The people were very friendly and helpful. The location and options with hippos in the river while you have lunch is hard to beat. The location is right in the middle of the action. Had a small mishap with a Landrover where it needed some maintenance and eventually went sideways. Wish I would have stayed longer. The game drives were very full, the balloon safari was breathtaking, the food was flavorful and fulfilling and everything was meticulously clean. And not to leave out Ann, what a fantastic masseuse!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Beee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    12
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
101
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This camp is perfect! The location is right in the prime Maasai Mara area. The service is subtle and personal. The food is amazing. This was our first trip to Africa and we stayed in 4 locations in 2 countries. We will return to this camp. Ivan and Kim are wonderful hosts as camp managers. Davy was the best guide with incredible knowledge of animals, plants and birds. He knew the animal behaviors and frequently drove around crowds to get an ideal spot to be closer to lions, cheetah, etc. Our tents were very comfortable and clean. I can't think of anything we asked for that wasn't taken care of - including 3 trips they took to the local airport to try to track down luggage lost on our international flight from London to Nairobi. Small touches from Moses, our tent steward, may the "camping" experience great. We always had warm water for washing, etc. He was available for hot water at a moments notice and always kept our tent swept, cleaned and stocked. Ann runs a nice spa tent and gave a FANTASTIC massage after a long day in a Land Rover. I can't say enough about this team. They have been doing this for a long while and know what travelers need when out on safari. **Note - I booked through Ker and Downey who highly recommended Naibor. Great call!**

Room Tip: There are only 7 tents. My family had 3 of them and they were all ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cettline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

If there is a better safari experience in East Africa, we'd be very surprised. The accommodation was superb, food excellent, staff very attentive and friendly, location great for taking trips, and the guide we had (Matthew) was fantastic!
I'd go on and on but the accumulated ratings here demonstrate how good this place is.

Room Tip: I doubt that it matters what room you take. I'd suggest at least 3 nights so you have plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Naibor, from beginning to end, is spectacular. We have been on many different safaris before, but this one was crazy amazing. The camp itself is so perfect it is tempting to never leave! The people are so friendly and they create an enviornment that is warm and friendly without being fake in any way. It is great to sit around the fire in the evenings, having a sundowner, and talking to everyone about what they saw that day! We also had a private dinner one night and I felt like I was in a movie. The tents are luxious without being over the top, and the natural enviornment is very soothing. Our game driver was incredibly knowlegable of the Mara and was clearly a very experieced guide. I would say this is a once in a lifetime experience, but I am very tempted to go back as we just live in Nairobi!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_ltb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

My friend and I came expecting to see some wildlife in the midst of rainy season. While our expectations were met and exceeded (including two leopard cubs and a mama feasting on a gazelle a few short meters away), our Mara adventure was a once in a lifetime experience thanks to our stay at Naibor. Having lived in Nairobi for a year, I've had the opportunity to visit a few parks and camps - and Naibor is by far the best. The staff was phenomenal, the food outstanding (coming from a foodie), the drinks wonderful, the atmosphere spectacular (hippos galore). And our guide Lolo, by far the best guide in Kenya. Entertaining, knowledgeable, and witty he provided a encyclopedia worth of information. Ivan, the camp manager, made sure all the extra countless details were set and was wonderful company. The three short days we stayed in Naibor made for memories to last a lifetime. I can not say enough about this camp. I can only hope to return again soon. Thank you for the wonderful stay! - Leila B

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was a great place to end our trip to East Africa. The tents are very nice and the hot water bottle at night was surprisingly welcomed.

The staff is great and we can't tell you how wonderful it was to have a Masai Warrier as our guide/driver.

This was so nice and peaceful and to meet some great people from the UK who live in Nairobi and another family from Austrailia just made the trip even more meaningful.

The camp is more rustic than the other 2 camps we stayed out, but nothing was missing and food and staff were most excellent.

Great place to stay and the game drives were excellent, informative and just amazing.

Each safari ride we saw everything we wanted to see with the highlight for me to see cheetah cubs with their mom guarding a recent kill.

Lots of amazing sites and animals even without the migration in the area.

Room Tip: The showers were nice and hot and boy did I enjoy taking a couple of them a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Naibor Camp in the Maasai Mara was absolutely magical and everything we'd hoped for. Firstly the location – in the middle of the bush at the top of a river bank - was perfect. The camp overlooked a section of river where a family of around 30 hippos lived. Their antics, including a lot of grunting and snorting, never failed to charm and entertain. At night you could hear all sorts of strange and exciting noises from the various wild beasts who roam near to or often even inside the camp. But fear not – you are safe in your tent at night and the camp is closely guarded by the Maasai at all times.

Our accommodation was equally fabulous – a large luxury tent with an awesomely comfy bed and with a separate washroom section that included a flush toilet, a basin and shower. Water for the basin was provided in a jug and hot shower water was delivered on demand and winched up a tree to deliver water pressure. There were two further basins + mirrors just outside the tent and a lovely day bed + coffee table that served as a chill out area during the day. If you needed anything at any time you had your own walkie talkie and could radio for anything from a pot of tea to a gin and tonic. After dark you never leave your tent without a Maasai guard by your side (you are for instance always escorted back to your tent after dinner)

Further down from our tent at the top of the river bank was another table and two chairs. We were there for our first wedding anniversary and on the day itself they specially arranged for us to have a private dinner for two there, all lit up with oil lanterns, with our very own waiter, Maasai guard and camp fire. It was an unforgettable evening (and we were serenaded by the hippos throughout).

On other nights we would have drinks and dinner with the rest of the camp which was great fun. Each evening a camp fire would be lit down by the river bank, a circle of chairs set up along with a bar and people would gather for sundowners and share their tales of the day. Dinner (three courses) itself was served in a large tent around a large wood table with hippo tusks as a centrepiece and the food was extremely good. On occasion we would be joined by their imaginatively named ‘Bob the bat’ - a regular in the dinner tent who would come in and flap around for a bit, eating any invading insects. Lunch was always served al fresco down by the river bank and was equally good, especially Curry Sundays.

Now to the safari itself. We had the most brilliant Maasai driver/guide called Davyd. We found out afterwards that he was Naibor’s top guide and that came as no surprise. He was charming, entertaining, great company and extremely knowledgeable and thanks to him we got to see all the big five and more. Highlights included three male lions walking right up to and brushing past our jeep (Davyd had cleverly snuck in front of them and across their path). The lions couldn’t have been less bothered as they walked lazily past but they were so close we could have reached out and touched them (had we been stupid enough). It was a heart stopping moment amongst many other memorable encounters, including finding a very rare black rhino and stopping in amongst a large group (or 'tower') of beautiful giraffes, batting their eyelashes at us curiously and munching away like dinosaurs with the vast landscape stretching around them. Davyd's knowledge and expertise around the animals meant we could get really close without disturbing or upsetting them, and boy can he change a flat tire quickly!

Finally, Naibor itself was brilliantly run. All the staff, including the many Massai in full regalia were just charming and the service throughout was impeccable. Adam and Vicky, the British couple who were managing the camp, did so effortlessly and made us (and everyone else) feel so at home. They were without fail helpful, friendly and efficient – and great fun!

It short – WE CAN'T RECOMMEND NAIBOR HIGHLY ENOUGH! And we really miss the hippos - we found them so soothing :-(

Charlie and Charlie x

Room Tip: Ask for Davyd as your guide! Go on a walking safari - it's thrilling and a nice break from si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaznicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#38 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#20 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#40 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
20.2 mi away
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
#81 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Property: Naibor Camp
Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Naibor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing