We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning & surreal!”
Review of Naibor Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naibor Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning & surreal!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Arriving at Naibor Camp was an experience in itself. We were greeted by our guide/driver Jackson who is a charismatic, warm hearted Masai Mara warrior. Upon our 20min drive from the airport to the campsite we came across the beautiful wildlife that is Kenya. The actual campsite is simply stunning but what made it such a memorable experience was the service. The friendly staff & their warm & accommodating nature to ensure your experience is second to none.
Naibor Camp is situated in the Masai Mara. You're in the heart of it all. The facilities at Naibor are first class, the bed, shower, the tents and not to forget the food. Be warned, its impossible not to indulge! The food is delicious.
I cannot recommend Naibor highly enough. It's a must do visit if you're in Kenya. Kim & Ivan run an amazing campsite! Hats off to you guys. Thank you for making my stay so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishika_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    13
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
102
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Everything was just perfect and we didn't want to leave! We loved the camp managers, Ivan & Kim, who have created the perfect combo of comfort and wildlife. Naibor has the best vehicles for game drives - open tops for maximum viewing, cool boxes for a nice cold glass of wine at sunset while watching lions wake up from their nap. The guides are incredibly knowledgeable and fantastic at spotting some very rare and well-camouflaged animals. We saw black rhino 3 times, a leopard hunting, the big 5 on countless occasions, a wildebeest river crossing, and all sorts of baby animals.

The "glamping" was very comfortable but still offered the close proximity to wildlife - we fell asleep each night listening to hippos and hyenas. We loved the family-style dinners at night. And Anne gives great massages (and I am a massage snob). Everyone at camp clearly has a passion and respect for the environment and wildlife.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

What an amazing experience. Ivan and Kim and all their staff couldn't do enough for you. Everyone was so friendly. Location stunning, sitting by the river watching the hippos playing, swimming and sunbathing. Also having one walk by us as we were being guided back to our luxury tent after our evening meal. Unforgettable. The meals were superb. The bucket showers hot and welcome after our afternoon drives. Our guide Lolo was the best and his knowledge of the Mara is immense.Our breakfast picnic on a hill early one morning was unbelievable, looking round the landscape for miles. If anyone is thinking of a safari, go to this camp. You won't regret it. Our only regret was not stopping longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredandkatejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just idyllic.

Our guide, Petro, was a joy and his in depth knowledge meant he was able to cater for all levels of animal lover. His reaction at finding some three month old cheater cubs that he hadn’t seen for a while will stay with me forever.

The camp was ‘out of Africa’ luxury at its best and the guys running/working there we simply fantastic.

If you get the chance go!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrtwrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at Naibor as part of our Imagine Africa-arranged safari. The camp is split into 3: suites and the main camp on one side, and the wilderness camp on the other. Wilderness camp is essentially its own place - only 3 tents, its own dining facilities. As it were, we were the only couple in the camp at the time, which made for the utmost in privacy. Service was excellent, and the camp is incredibly relaxing and quiet. Its location within the Mara is unparalleled - a hippo pool outside the main lodge and myriad animals just outside the camp, both during the day and at night. A wonderful place to stay to see the wildebeest migration.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYtraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The camp was GREAT. The people were very friendly and helpful. The location and options with hippos in the river while you have lunch is hard to beat. The location is right in the middle of the action. Had a small mishap with a Landrover where it needed some maintenance and eventually went sideways. Wish I would have stayed longer. The game drives were very full, the balloon safari was breathtaking, the food was flavorful and fulfilling and everything was meticulously clean. And not to leave out Ann, what a fantastic masseuse!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This camp is perfect! The location is right in the prime Maasai Mara area. The service is subtle and personal. The food is amazing. This was our first trip to Africa and we stayed in 4 locations in 2 countries. We will return to this camp. Ivan and Kim are wonderful hosts as camp managers. Davy was the best guide with incredible knowledge of animals, plants and birds. He knew the animal behaviors and frequently drove around crowds to get an ideal spot to be closer to lions, cheetah, etc. Our tents were very comfortable and clean. I can't think of anything we asked for that wasn't taken care of - including 3 trips they took to the local airport to try to track down luggage lost on our international flight from London to Nairobi. Small touches from Moses, our tent steward, may the "camping" experience great. We always had warm water for washing, etc. He was available for hot water at a moments notice and always kept our tent swept, cleaned and stocked. Ann runs a nice spa tent and gave a FANTASTIC massage after a long day in a Land Rover. I can't say enough about this team. They have been doing this for a long while and know what travelers need when out on safari. **Note - I booked through Ker and Downey who highly recommended Naibor. Great call!**

Room Tip: There are only 7 tents. My family had 3 of them and they were all ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cettline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#16 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
157 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#39 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#36 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
216 reviews
6.4 mi away
Great Plains Conservation Mara Plains Camp
Great Plains Conservation Mara P...
#48 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Property: Naibor Camp
Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Priceline so you can book your Naibor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing