We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every Animal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naibor Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naibor Camp
kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Every Animal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

This camp is situated in such a great location right on the river and central to all of the animals, you couldn't ask for a better camp. The rooms are beautiful yet they are set so remotely that you can simply disappear if you wish during yiour stay. When you wake in the morning you can identify the variety of footprints of the animals you suspected you heard at night and then plenty more after you fell asleep that happened to walk past (including lion prints!).

As far as the camp and its staff it far exceeded every expectation. The staff many times anticipated our needs before we even asked and they always did it with a smile, they just made you feel very special. The food was excellent and be sure you request dinner at your tent at least one night during your stay along with the campfire.

Recognizing that this kenya location is all about the animals, suffice to say we saw everything we had hoped to see plus more even including a totally unexpected wildebeest crossing! Our guide Jackson was just outstanding and he worked hard to make sure we saw what the park had to offer, he was a great person to spend our 3 days with, we will miss him!

As we studied various tent camps before our trip this one received consistently high reviews and it is easy now to understand why. The food, the views, the animals, a great guide, the sundowners are memories that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: room 6 is very close to where your vehicle can park in the morning and evening minimizing walking if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chewbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    12
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
101
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at Naibor wilderness camp in July 2013, We had booked our safari holiday through Africa Rose Travel, they had put together a wonderful, very personal itinerary for us to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and the highlight of the holiday was our stay at Naibor. The staff were very friendly , the camp was in an excellent location, overlooking the river and loads of hippos. We were very well fed too.
Our guide for the game drives was Jackson and he was top class, very knowledgeable and excellent at spotting the wildlife, it was a pleasure to spend time with him.
We had an amazing time at Naibor thanks to Julius, Jackson and Africa rose travel.

Peter

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoPeter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My mother and I had 4 days at Naibor tented camps and we could not fault anything .
From the luxury tents, amazing food and fantastic guides.
We can't describe how sad we were to leave. We saw every animal and more than we had ever imagined and had food that excelled everyday. We both felt safe and contented and finished our days with wonderful massages. What a brilliant place .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justwhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was our first experience of a tented camp, having stayed in lodges during the first two stages of our safari. We approached the experience with some trepidation but our worries and fears were allayed during our stay at this fabulous place.
Ken, Michelle and the staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the company of all the staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We especially enjoyed the private, and very romantic, dinner outside our tent, complete with our own camp-fire, and the complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our special wedding anniversary. Thank you.
Our tent was very spacious and it was with much relief that we saw the sturdy, semi-permanent bathroom facilities. We were a bit worried about the bucket-shower idea (notwithstanding Ken's gentle teasing!) but this was a reassuringly enjoyable experience.
The food exceeded our expectations and would not be amiss in a top-notch restaurant in any European city. Beautifully cooked, presented and served, it tasted divine.
The setting, next to the Talek river, is simply beautiful. It must be the nearest thing to peace on earth, with even the hippo noises adding to its beauty.
Our drivers and guides, David and Moses, were such very good company. They were so friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the environment and wildlife. We particularly enjoyed chatting with them as we enjoyed our 'sundowners' and watched spectacular sunsets.
We had only booked to stay for two nights because of our uncertainty about sleeping under canvas. However, we were totally converted and left wishing we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights only, sadly. Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend.
The tents are beautiful and spacious. The furniture, decor etc. is lovely- modern and light. Was dreading the bucket shower, but actually it was lovely and refreshing.
Some great little touches like the hot water bottle tucked into your bed at night, and the coffee brought to wake you up in the morning.
The food was amazing- would not have been out of place at a London restaurant. Felt really fresh and healthy. Nice wine too- and plenty of it.
Pre-dinner drinks around the campfire then the communal dining was a pleasure. The main tent at night is decked out with candles and looks beautiful. My 12 and 15 year olds were made very welcome and very much brought into the conversations at dinner.
Really did feel like we could make our own plan and the hosts, Michelle and Ken would sort it. Just trying to make sure we had the best time, arther than stick to their timetable.
David the driver was great. Knowledgeable, grabbed the best spots for things. And just a really nice guy.
Camp is open but felt very safe. The guards outside each tent seemed strange at first, but actually very reassuring.l
Just can’t rate highly enough!!!
Contrary to other reviews, our host Ken did not dance on the tables at all when we were there (bit disappointed really!!!), and both he and Michelle were actually just really great people. We wish them well in getting the #1 slot for Naibor!

Room Tip: All the tents are beautiful. We had 5 and 6 which were furthest away from the communal tent, but abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Thank you, Michelle and Ken, for making so welcome and giving me a very special stay at Little Naibor Camp. Everything about the camp is top notch and you are a very professional team. Every member of staff was very pleasant and helpful and I felt quite at home with every comfort to hand. The tents are lovely and spacious and the food is delicious. The spa and treatment room run by Mabel is a haven of peace - Mabel really knows what she's doing whether giving a pedicure or body massage.
Excellent game drive with Moses who knows the Mara well, showing me cheetah and lion amongst other flora and fauna. Highly recommend every aspect of the camp and Main Naibor and Naibor Wilderness Camp too. Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: Wonderful beauty treatments, pedicure, massage consumer tested 100% approved! I had room 2 Little N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Words will never express the amazing trip we had at this camp...HIGHLY,HIGHLY recommend it. Everything from the experienced driver, food, safety and knowledgeable/friendly management staff is spectacular! This place is top notch, be prepared to gain some weight with all the delicious food served and personalized service you will receive. I attached some pictures for you to see for yourself! You wake up every morning with tea/coffee and cookies brought to your room!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#36 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#20 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#35 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
20.2 mi away
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
#80 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Property: Naibor Camp
Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Naibor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing