We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An unforgettable experience - Magic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Naibor Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naibor Camp
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An unforgettable experience - Magic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed here for four night while on Honeymoon - Wow!
From the moment our friendly guide picked us up from the airport we were made to feel welcome by every single member of the extensive staff!
The tents we stayed in were brilliant: comfortable, clean and luxurious, but at the same time retain the feeling that you are in the middle of the Mara, surrounded by wildlife. (The noisy hippos make sure you remember that!).
The food was exceptional, I have no idea how they produce such food in the middle of the bush, but someone behind the scenes was working miracles! The attention to detail was wonderful, from the coffee and biscuits you are woken up with, to the hot water bottles in your bed at night.
Our guide,Petro was knowledgable, enthusiastic and good fun, and the quality and quantity of widelife we saw was staggering.
The camp managers Jamie and Sophie made us feel at home immediately, they worked incredibly hard to look after everyone, and I can't thank them enough for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen_T81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    11
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
99
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We chose Naibor camp as the destination for our honeymoon having done lots of research into the different camps in the Masai Mara, as we wanted a small camp with a personal feel. Well we were not disappointed, from the moment we landed at the airstrip and were met by our guide, to the day we left -nothing was too much trouble. The camp is set beside a river providing great viewing and some interesting noises at night (very noisy hippos!).

The tents have huge v.comfortable beds (with enticing hot water bottles), and the hot bush showers were great after a long day out. The evening campfire was always entertaining, followed by superb well cooked evening dinners. Sophia & Jamie were excellent friendly hosts & managed the camp superbly. Our private bush dinner and very own campfire one evening will always be a highlight of our trip. Our guide was brilliant & informative, he found some fab locations for bush breakfasts & relaxing sundowners & having our own private vehicle with just the two of us was even more special. We saw pretty much everything that we came to see & more.....

This amazing experience will stay in our memories & was a great start to our honeymoon. You will definitely be making the right decision if you choose Naibor.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TT-Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We travel to Africa every year with our personal guide Andy Campbell. This year we stayed at Naibor camp. What a beautiful place on the river. The location is great for going in all different directions for animal searching each day. And if you are there at the right time of the year its perfect for driving to the crossing. Jamie and Sophia manage the camp and they are as sweet and fun as can be. Kate, an intern from Scotland was there during our stay and she was an extra added plus to the hospitality offered at the property. The game viewing was superb as we saw 24 lions, 11 cheeta and 1 leopard during our stay. The food was fantastic and they were great with handling special diet restrictions. I highly recommend this camp!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DallasAnastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

Naibor enjoys a great location by the Talek river and is brilliantly run by hosts Jamie and Sophia, who could not have been more welcoming and knowledgable. The food was fantastic and we enjoyed the communal dining in the superb mess tent. The highlight of our stay was seeing the Marsh Pride of lions (of Big Cat Diary fame) hunting zebra - thanks to our guide, Nelson, for spotting the lions from about 1km away. There is also plenty of wildlife around the camp - sitting by the river I saw hippos, crocs, baboons, waterbuck and impala and we woke up to find fresh elephant dung about 10m from the tent! So much more personal and enjoyable than one of the big lodges or camps.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

This was our first ever safari and we weren’t sure what to expect - but from start to finish this was a truly magical experience.

After an overnight flight from London and a rather painful passage through immigration at Nairobi airport all we were set for on arrival was a nice big kip. But from the moment you land you’re blown away and sleep is the last thing on your mind (plus this is the most spectacular airport transfer you’ll ever experience!) The camp is fantastic – set in a small wooded area, right in the reserve and on the edge of a river that is home to a wonderful (if not somewhat noisy!) family of hippos. The tents are as luxurious as camping gets and the food and service are exceptional. Every need is catered for and you are made to feel so welcome (and totally safe) by all the staff - and Jamie and Sophie were exceptional hosts.

The animal viewing is spectacular and you won’t be disappointed – our guide was Francis and he was great at ensuring we got to see all the fantastic wildlife that the Masai Mara has to offer.

We treated ourselves and combined this with a few days in a luxury lodge (Shompole) and a 5* hotel in Zanzibar and without a doubt Naibor was the highlight of our trip.

There’s a big wide world out there and I never go back to the same place – but for Naibor I’d make an exception and I’m already plotting when I can return. You’ll love it.

  • Liked — Loved everything about the accomodation - although the hot water bottle was a bit of a winner!
  • Disliked — This is not the place where you pack a hair dryer and straighteners - but once you're there you really won't care!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosecottageLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

Amazing!

I have been on many safaris and this was the best yet!

My guide, David, picked up me and another couple from the airstrip. On the way to the camp we stopped to see 2 leopards sleeping in the bush. What a great start!

The camp was really lovely and peaceful (apart from the hippos and that alarm clock bird)! Jamie and Sophia made me feel very welcome. The tents and food were of a very high standard.

We were extraordinarily lucky with the game we saw. As is was tending to rain late afternoon we set off early in the mornings and stayed out until 3/4. On the first day we saw hyenas eating a wilderbeast, vultures eating a wilderbeast, jackals who had just killed a baby gazelle, Big Cat's famous Shakira and her cubs, mating lions, a serval cat, Big Cat's 3 male cheetahs, partial viewing of a small group of wilderbeast crossing the river and a 2 month old elephant..

Shakira was amazing. We first saw her in the shade with her cubs. We then watched her get up and look for prey. Before long she had caught a gazelle. We were watching her and the cubs eating it when I noticed a rabbit nearby. For some reason it ran directly towards them and made them all jump. Shakira then realised what it was chased it and caught it before bringing it back for them all to eat.

We thought the 2nd day could never compare but we were wrong. Within 10 minutes of leaving the camp David had found us a young female leopard, then a pride of 13 lions, another large pride of lions, Shakira and the cubs again, more lions, then a huge male leopard. On the way back to the camp I saw something small and catlike walking in the bushes and it was a young leopard of 5/6 months.

The next morning, before my flight, we saw more lions eating a wilderbeast and 2 male lions grooming each other.

What more could we have asked for?!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaleyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#41 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#21 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#40 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sentinel Mara Camp
Sentinel Mara Camp
#32 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
20.2 mi away
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
#81 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Property: Naibor Camp
Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Naibor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing