We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Naibor - Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Naibor Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naibor Camp
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Naibor - Simply Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Myself and my husband stayed at Naibor for three nights on our honeymoon at the beginning of January 2010. It was the most fantastic part of our whole trip. From the moment we touched down at Ol Kiombo airstrip our guide, Lolo, couldn't have done enough for us. We saw so many animals, just on the way to the camp from the airstrip! The camp was lovely - so much more than we had expected. Our tent was secluded, very private, and despite being so remote, it was equiped with everything we needed. A flushing toilet felt like a real luxury, bucket showers were great fun, and it was so nice to get back to basics for a while, but in a clean and luxurious way. We felt totally secure as we had a little walkie-talkie in case of emergency, and there was always security nearby if needed - which they weren't. Listening to hippos during the night was a huge highlight, if a little concerning to start with as they really are close!. The staff were extremely friendly and the food fabulous. In short, the location, the accommodation, the food, and the staff were all first class and we couldn't have wished for anything better for our honeymoon. I wholeheartedly recommend a stay at Naibor! We are saving up to go again already!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazlo_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    12
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
101
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

From the very moment we arrived we were looked after by our guide Nelson, one of the nicest and knowledgeable person you could wish to meet. The journey to the camp was memorable as we saw lots of animals on the way. Naibor Camp itself was great, the people extremely friendly and helpful, the accommodation was wonderful, especially because it was by the Talek River, home to lots of hippos. The food was very good and I liked the idea of meeting up for a drink round the camp fire before dinner, so everyone could get to know each other and swop the experiences of the day. Every day when we were out on safari there were animals aplenty and Nelson was always on hand to give us information about the species. I loved every second of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

I was lucky enough to stay at Naibor in August of this year. I was a 19 year old travelling on my own and Jamie and Sophie, the management team, went out of their way to make me welcome. I also met one of the owners, Anthony Cheffings, who was clearly deeply committed to the success of Naibor.

The game drives were fantastic. Although the rhino had migrated we got great sightings of the other big four. Just as good for me though was the evening atmosphere at the camp with Jamie and Sophie making sure everyone was fully involved in conversation and entertainment.

I have been to the Mara before but for me Naibor gave me the most complete package of luxury, game viewing and atmosphere.

Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank k8hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

Me and my partner stayed at Naibor in August 2009, on a recommendation from one of our friends who has travels to Kenya a lot. We thought that the tents are average and look better in the photos than real life. The tents (well ours) looked a little old and tired and the bed linen and towels, we expected better for something promoted as 5 star.

Another thing, we had a problem with a few of our possessions disappearing, like a compact digital camera and some medications. The managers didn’t really take these claims seriously saying that maybe we lost these things during a game drive. Other than that the trip was ok, guides and the like.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kymshizbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

My wife and I spent four days and nights at Naibor. We found the management team to be very friendly and flexible, the game viewing exceptional and the accommodation very comfortable. It is one of the best situated camps we have stayed at with the river animals giving a great backdrop to the evening drinks around the campfire. We would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsman747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east africa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

Naibor is the best masai mara camp i have visited . Having stayed in several camps in the mara , i found the location , the service , the staff simply top class.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuwinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

Not my first safari, but by far the best. Sophie, Jamie & Pedro made the stay extra special and ensured that I saw the big five and more in this amazing location. The accommodation and food were wonderful and all staff were kind and attentive. Never once did I feel unsafe or uncared for. I cannot praise them enough!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
11.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mara Bush Camp
Mara Bush Camp
#42 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#41 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#21 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
20.2 mi away
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
Losokwan Camp Maasai Mara
#84 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Property: Naibor Camp
Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Naibor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing