We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect African experience”
Review of Naibor Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Naibor Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2010

A mate of mine and I were given 10 days leave from our wives and children to visit Naibor and then to Rwanda on a 'boys trip! (yes we have great aussie wives).....I can honestly say that the staff, ably led by the UK's finest; Adam and Vicki, Masai guide guru Lolo, and Bernard our Masai security (he throws his spear very far) were all fantastic. it might be the LOW season was HIGH enjoyment for us and with great guides and all the wild animals you could wish to see a few metres away....back to the camo for five star service, food and hospitality....we would highly recommend Naibor Camp.......Fireside chats a nice touch from our lovely hosts finished the day nicely....ask Adam for a complementary port.....he will have one with you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

Our three-night stay at Naibor was an incredible experience and the perfect location for our engagement.

The camp is in an incredible location on the Mara with so much wildlife on its doorstep. We saw everything we had hoped to see other than the elusive Rhino but this didn't detract from some incredible sighings. The highlight was undoubtedly witnessing the killing of a Topi by a pack of Hyena - gruesome but fascinating.

The camp itself was lovely, situated on the bend of a river with its own pod of hippos.The tents are excellent with great shower/toilet facilities. We were a bit surprised that there were not any mosquito nets but the tents are sprayed with insecticide every evening and the only bites we suffered were outside the tent. The restaurant/bar was excellent with fantastic food and great company during mealtimes. The campfire is also a great setting during the evenings. The staff were lovely, especially Craig and Kaya and our guide Petro. They made our engagement extremely special and were great hosts.

We had been concerned by the reports regarding camp security but there were always armed askaris wherever we went and we never once felt in any danger.

I'd thoroughly recommend Naibor to anyone interested in a luxury safari in the heart of the Maasai Mara.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bath_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed at Naibor for 3 nights and loved the atmosphere in camp and the location!
Safety and security are of major importance and they have 12 askaris and 2 additional armed guards on site which made us feel perfectly safe.
The tent itself was fine but the 2 outside wash basins are not everyones cup of tea. Certainly not ours!
First of all the basins are frequented BEFORE sunrise (game drives) and AFTER dark (when returning from game drives respectively from dinner). We certainly did not want to contribute to some kind of "bush TV" by following our washing ritual under the "supervision" of any askari - not to mention 4 legged fellow creatures ;-) so we only made use of the tiny basin in the attached bathroom tent.
Flush loo was working (not always the case in Kenya ;-) )
Bucket shower at any given time according to guest's wishes!
Even "room service" for drinks and snacks were offered - and very well received when we were just hanging out in the tent during siesta.

Here - as at so many camps in Kenya - a mosquito net would have been very much appreciated particularly as there were quite a few mossies around.
Also in order to protect against scorpions and snakes a net would provide a feel of "security".
Particularly in a Malaria area I would expect camp owners to take that into consideration. But East Africa camp owners seem to have a problem with fitting tents with this easy and cheap feature.

Meals were wonderful and the dinner table each night looked stunning!

Prive wise: The camp is in a prime location and that might be the reason to ask for that kind of rate. It is certainly not the best value for money - but there are others which are even worse. So that calms me down ;-)

Game drives were fantastic and vehicles comfortable but a bit shabby compared to earlier visit in 2007.

We would return if value for money at one stage balances.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pippa1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We recently stayed at Naibor camp and can honestly say it was an amazing few days! The tents were simple but stylish and comfortable, the food was superb, all the staff were excellent and we cannot speak highly enough of our guide Lolo! We loved the camp fire and the social evening meals and just relaxing watching the hippos was brilliant. We saw so many animals, including a pride of lions, cheetah and leophard. I would highly recommend this camp and we want to thank all the staff there for an awesome time.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Welshy2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Myself and my husband stayed at Naibor for three nights on our honeymoon at the beginning of January 2010. It was the most fantastic part of our whole trip. From the moment we touched down at Ol Kiombo airstrip our guide, Lolo, couldn't have done enough for us. We saw so many animals, just on the way to the camp from the airstrip! The camp was lovely - so much more than we had expected. Our tent was secluded, very private, and despite being so remote, it was equiped with everything we needed. A flushing toilet felt like a real luxury, bucket showers were great fun, and it was so nice to get back to basics for a while, but in a clean and luxurious way. We felt totally secure as we had a little walkie-talkie in case of emergency, and there was always security nearby if needed - which they weren't. Listening to hippos during the night was a huge highlight, if a little concerning to start with as they really are close!. The staff were extremely friendly and the food fabulous. In short, the location, the accommodation, the food, and the staff were all first class and we couldn't have wished for anything better for our honeymoon. I wholeheartedly recommend a stay at Naibor! We are saving up to go again already!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazlo_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

From the very moment we arrived we were looked after by our guide Nelson, one of the nicest and knowledgeable person you could wish to meet. The journey to the camp was memorable as we saw lots of animals on the way. Naibor Camp itself was great, the people extremely friendly and helpful, the accommodation was wonderful, especially because it was by the Talek River, home to lots of hippos. The food was very good and I liked the idea of meeting up for a drink round the camp fire before dinner, so everyone could get to know each other and swop the experiences of the day. Every day when we were out on safari there were animals aplenty and Nelson was always on hand to give us information about the species. I loved every second of our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

I was lucky enough to stay at Naibor in August of this year. I was a 19 year old travelling on my own and Jamie and Sophie, the management team, went out of their way to make me welcome. I also met one of the owners, Anthony Cheffings, who was clearly deeply committed to the success of Naibor.

The game drives were fantastic. Although the rhino had migrated we got great sightings of the other big four. Just as good for me though was the evening atmosphere at the camp with Jamie and Sophie making sure everyone was fully involved in conversation and entertainment.

I have been to the Mara before but for me Naibor gave me the most complete package of luxury, game viewing and atmosphere.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
Thank k8hunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
22.9 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
374 reviews
13 mi away
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Ca...
#10 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
Mara Ngenche Safari Camp
#39 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
138 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mara Eden Safari Camp
Mara Eden Safari Camp
#42 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
182 reviews
10.4 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#24 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £675 - £939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Naibor Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing