We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quality Lodge”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Flew in from Malindi for 2nights/3days tour. Booked this through Abdul at Tunda Tours. For anyone staying in Watamu area we would recommend. Picked up from airstrip and experiance our first game drive couldn't believe the abundance of wildlife we saw. Within the first hour on the Masai Mara we had seen 3 of the big 5. On arrival at the lodge we where greeted with cool drinks and refreshing towel whilst checking in with James the manager. Then after a short introduction to our neighbours the hippo's we where introduced to our room guy Mark who showed us around our lodge Tembo no2 of 8 lodges. The place absolutely blew us away the detail and workmanship that as gone into these rooms is outstanding. The rooms are spacious and immaculately clean and there is a lovely walk in shower room with robes towels and toiletries to hand. Our first meal was a lovely surprise we where driven out on the plains and served a barbeque lunch. Food at the lodge was all top class restaurant standard. Meal times where quite special the managemnet went to great lenghs to vary location of meals. Dinner round the open fire or lunch by the side of the river all beautiful atmsopheric settings. Enjoyed all the game drives but do take a fleece for the early morning starts. We must mention that the lodge is very important to the local community, working closely with the Massia tribes and the conservation of the area. Special thanks to John our driver, Mark our room man, Tom our waiter, and not forgetting Wilson the head chef who made us the most delicious soups.
THE ROYAL MARA LODGE IS ABSOULTE QUALITY

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    23
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
113
211
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Royal Mara Lodge is located in the North Mara Conservancy and the game viewing was the best I have expereinced in Afica. We saw an amazing number of lion cubs in three prides close to the lodge. We also traveled into the National Mara reserve on two day trips (depart 08h00 after a lie in and back by 17h00 for a relaxing sundowner). It costs US$80 per person to enter the Mara resereve. We saw huge herds of wildebeest on the plains and about to cross the Mara before 9 lions ambushed them. We also saw a cheetah stalking and catching an impala, and one leopard in thick bush (great spot by John our guide). There are more vehicles in this area but they did not spoil the experience.
The tented rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Power is available from 6h30 pm for hot showers and charging batteries. The rooms face on to the Mara river so there are hippos around at night. The security guards are alert during the night to ensure the safety of guests and you can hear hippos grunting and grazing near by. The food was very good, particularily the soups served at lunch and dinner. The staff were very friendly and focused on making our stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks to John our guide we had great game viewing and James, the manager, and staff. This was one of the top 5 lodges I have visited in Africa and we hope to visit again

Room Tip: We stayed in No 7 with good views of the hippos in the Mara river. Room 8 is closest to the general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

For us, The Royal Mara has got every aspect of a safari perfect. All the employees at the lodge are outstanding and work extremely hard to make sure you are fully satisfied with your experience there; from food to safety and cleanliness and of course the animals.

We were greeted off the plane by John who was our game driver for the stay. John was a brilliant man, he had excellent knowledge about all the animals and knew where to find them; he also answered every question we asked with great detail.
John gave us some amazing experiences which I will never forget; at the end of an afternoon game drive (15:00 - 18:00ish) he led us to the open plains which weren't to far from the lodge where the sun was setting on the horizon and around 20 Elephants grazed past us as we sat in the landcruiser. The next day at the same time he found a Cheetah, as well as many other drivers, John said to us lets just wait and watch this Cheetah. So we waited unlike all the other drivers, and managed to see the Cheetah kill a small Wildebeest. We saw much, much more but I would be writing forever.
John loves his job and was everything I imagined a safari game driver to be - and more. He always wanted the best for us, and try endlessly to get it - brilliant!
We also heard great reviews about the other game drivers as well.

When it came to breakfast, lunch and dinner we had a very professional, polite and friendly man called Nelson who did everything he possibly could to ensure you were satisfied and full of course! He was great to chat to! His very personal service made us feel very welcome.
The food was excellent and plentiful with a great choice, funnily enough we have been to greece serveral times but had the best ever greek salad here. The fish and meat was also excellent, always cooked to perfection.
On our last day the safari lodge held a bush lunch where we ate our soup, salad and steaks on the open plains which was an amazing experience.

David, our housekeeper, was also great he kept our room spotless, he woke us up at 06:30 with hot chocolate and was always happy.

The security escorted us when ever we left our room, as there are no fences around the safari lodge, two very friendly members (James and Regan) of the security team took us on a bush walk where they had an incredible knowledge and vision as well as good stories about the animals and their lives.
All the security team make you feel extremely safe and we had no worries what so ever, especially with the .50 cal rifle.

The whole team knew us by face and name; and knew exactly where we needed to be and what we were doing that day - a very personal touch.
As we left the safari lodge the team including the managers, wished us a heartfelt farwell and waved us off with both hands - they were great.
We truly did not want to leave this special place and must admit we were very sad as the Royal Mara treat you like family!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Royal Mara is a place where you are truly in nature's lap (literally), you can hear hippos grazing below your tent and you can see them snoozing in the river from your balcony! Thanks to Regan who ensures you have a great night's sleep while he watches over..
I never thought I will ever get so close to wild life but this place belies all imagination. Special mention for our incredible guide John who ensured we have a great time. Thank you guys for making sure we have the best holiday ever...really enjoyed all those bush lunches, bush walks and most of all those incredible game drives! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The service at the Royal Mara was outstanding. The entire staff went above and beyond to make sure that our needs were met. Our room was great. A wonderful mix of rustic touches with the carved details of animals that live in the Mara. It was very comfortable with all the amenities of home, while maintaining the feeling of being in the wild with hippos grazing behind our tent at night. The food was fantastic--very fresh and creatively prepared by a top chef! I ate so much, that I thought I'd have to be rolled out of the camp. I loved the setting best because we were so close to the animals in their natural habitat, but I was never afraid because of the excellent security. I loved our guide, Jeffrey. He was excellent. We learned a great deal from him about the habits of the animals, and birds. He knew every species and could tell us the age of various baby elephants, giraffes, lion cubs, etc. just be looking at them. It was truly an education. I'll definitely be back to see and learn more. Both Georges, Sr. and Jr., added their own personal touch to the service and total experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Royal Mara which was simply superb. Having stayed at a number of lodges in Kenya in various game reserves this place is in a different league. The location is fantastic , the staff and service second to none , the food first class and above all the wildlife viewing experience was at times breathtaking. Witnessed a huge crossing of the Mara river by some 5 thousand plus Wildebeest plus sightings of 4 of the big 5 missing the Rhino. I would not hesitate to recommend this place if you are thinking of going to the Masai Mara and we certainly hope to return on our next trip to Africa

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My wife and I have lived in Kenya for over a year, and have been fortunate enough to stay in multiple safari camps within the Mara and other parks throughout the country. We chose the Royal Mara based upon its reputation amongst expats living in Kenya, and we were not disappointed! Everything from the location, the service, the staff, and the accommodations were top notch, and really provided a unique, relaxing Mara experience.

We have had two drivers during two separate stays at the camp, Wilson and Simon. Both have been knowledgeable, cooperative, and showed a true respect for the wildlife and the conservancy. They always knew where and how to find the most elusive animals, and were as patient as we were in seeking out the harder to find cats. One of the most pleasant parts about the Royal Mara drivers is that they work together to find cats, yet coordinate with each other in ways that does not draw dozens of vehicles from other camps. On several occasions we were the only vehicle watching lions or leopards, and that was a really special part of each of our visits. (A word of caution: other camps are far less concerned about this, and after Simon and my wife spotted a leopard high up in a tree, a second vehicle from another camp happened by, called the sighting in over a radio set, and within 10 minutes there were no less than 15 other vehicles in the vicinity.)

The accommodations and food have always been fantastic. Each tent is located right on the Mara River, which offers views of hippos, birds, and crocodiles from your balcony. The tents are raised off the ground, and offer the feeling of a large, well appointed suite. The showers and bathrooms are perfect and will make you forget that you are even in a tent. The staff has been great, and the management will cater to whatever you ask for. The food is delicious, from coffee and tea with your wake up call, to cook to order breakfast, to creative lunches and dinners. You won't go away hungry, and they will make every attempt to cater to special diets and tastes.

This is the camp that we choose to take our family and visitors to when they come to Kenya. It has everything that we look for in a camp, and is a really special experience. We have never been disappointed, and always recommend it to people looking for the whole Masai Mara experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.0 mi away
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
#47 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
154 reviews
35.3 mi away
Entumoto Safari Camp
Entumoto Safari Camp
#57 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
97 reviews
25.1 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#34 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
298 reviews
17.6 mi away
Saruni Mara
Saruni Mara
#24 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
222 reviews
28.4 mi away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#100 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mara Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mara Safari Lodge

Property: Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Address: Masai Mara North Conservancy | P.O Box 260, Masai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mara is a luxury safari and game viewing lodge located in Kenya's world famous Masai Mara, home to the annual Great Migration of the Wildebeest. We are situated directly on the Mara River with six riverfront guest suites. All suites are raised upon wooden decks with full mahogany flooring and original hand carved furniture. See the same wildlife-rich areas as broadcast on the BBC Big Cat Diary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Mara Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mara Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Royal Mara Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing