We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mara Siria Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara West Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Porini Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    AA Lodge Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)
    View Hotel
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    View Hotel
    • Pool
    • Bar/Lounge
    Reviews (427)
    Filter reviews
    427 results
    Traveller rating
    394
    24
    5
    1
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    394
    24
    5
    1
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewst bone steakcarved furniturethe riverarmed guardsgame drivesour waiteranimal carvingsbeautiful handwild animalsresident hipposgame drivershare their knowledgeevery mealoff roadparadise on earthhear hipposamazing experience
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    86 - 91 of 427 reviews
    Reviewed 12 January 2014

    The lodge has just six rooms all by the Mara River. There is no perimeter fence and at night some hippos clamber up the steep path to graze inside the property. Elephants and Impala wander in as well and one morning we saw fresh lion pug marks just a few metres away from our room. The rooms are very big and each one has a large verandah that overlooks the Mara River that flows right in front.
    Wilson, the driver who took us around on most of our game drives is the best we've ever seen. An expert tracker, he actually led us to a pair of lions sleeping below a bush by tracking their pug marks and hair snagged on branches of bushes. Because the lodge is in a private conservancy with very few lodges, you feel as if you have the park to yourselves. We had the most amazing 30 minutes with five lion cubs playing and two lionesses. Our car was the only one there. In Masai Mara we would soon have had ten other vehicles, each jostling for the best view.
    The service at the lodge and the food are very good as well.

    • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank NirmalyaKE
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 January 2014

    Our family stayed in two rooms at the Royal Mara. When you walk into your room you are really wowed with the splendor and African decor. No detail is left out. The room is spacious and beautiful, and you also have a wonderful porch which overlooks the river and the rhinos.

    We had excellent game drives and saw the big 5. Staff was so attentive. Food was delicious. We visiting a nearby Masai Village and thorougly enjoyed meeting the villagers and mingling with them. The women danced for us and the children sang. We also enjoyed the walking safari and got very close to buffalo and giraffes.

    What an incredible experience.

    Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    1  Thank ifawoman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 January 2014

    The Royal Mara Lodge was by far the highlight of our 2 week long Kenya safari. The RML is actually located in the Mara North Conservancy, which is a private conservancy adjacent to the actual Masai Mara Reserve. Because the Mara North is private, drivers can offroad at any time (in the actual national reserve, vehicles are generally required to stay on paths). Offroading permits you to get closer to and seem more animals. We had the closest and best animal encounters of our entire trip while in the Mara North.

    The lodge itself is perfection. There are only 8 tents, so it offers a very personal, private experience. Each tent comes with its own staff - you have your driver, your housekeeper and your server, who stay with you throughout your stay. Each tent is spacious and immaculately decorated, with a very comfortable king sized bed and an extra large bathroom. Each tent also has a large porch overlooking the Mara River and the resident hippos. At night, you can fall asleep to the sound of wildlife (particularly the hippos that come out to graze). No tent is better than the next - they are all equally wonderful and spaced reasonably far apart so you have a great deal of privacy.

    The food was excellent. Every meal began with a delicious cream of ___ (some vegetable) soup and ended with a lovely homemade dessert.

    The best part of the RML experience was the staff. Everyone went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. Each employee seemed genuinely happy to be there, which says a lot for the way the staff must be treated. In particular, our wonderful driver, James, showed us all of the Big 5 in our short 3 day stay, including THREE leopard sightings. Reagan, Steve, Simon, Tom, Alex, to name a few of our wonderful staff.

    We will be recommending RML to all of our friends. I can't speak highly enough of the entire experience.

    Room Tip: All of the rooms appear to be similarly great.
    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank gnahzmap
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 January 2014

    This review is long overdue, but none the less it’s still worth writing as I know how helpful these reviews were when me and my friends were planning our trip. Pictures cannot express well in words how amazing this Lodge is. If you like what you see, be prepared to be blown away. The exterior and natural surroundings are absolutely breath taking and it was so surreal having wild animals crossing the grounds so peacefully. The Lodges are beautiful and the wood craftsmanship is simply gorgeous, this even beats the best of hotels around the world.

    Another great thing about the Royal Mara Lodge is that all the staff are friendly and provide you with all the information that you need. Guards are at hand 24-7, so you can rest assured that you are safe as they are there to protect the visitors. In regards to food, I was pleasantly surprised that the food was so good. So the fact that you are all inclusive, this worked out very well.

    Lastly, the game rides were an absolute highlight to the trip. By the second day, we had already seen the big 5 and some exciting hunts through the course of the three days. I would highly recommend Royal Mara Lodge and a Trip to the Masai Mara is an absolute must add to the bucket list. Great honeymoon destination also. 

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Nu25
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 December 2013

    Well the title says it all
    This camp sited in the Mara is a wonderful place and you are looked after by the most pleasant and attentive people you could ever meet. They are a credit to the company and cannot do enough to ensure that our 2 night 3 day stay was absolute perfection. The lodges are amazing the staff are there at hand to keep you safe from the wildlife that you are surrounded by. On our arrival at the air strip we were met by Julius our personal driver for our stay. He was very knowledgable and ensured that we saw the Big 5 and much more during our stay. The food was varied and plentiful and again nothing was too much trouble .
    We had an amazing 2 hr walking safari with The guards which we found to be informative bad fun if not a little exhausting in the heat. This was preceded by a ballon trip which again is a must and ended with the most enjoyable full English breakfast with champagne in the middle of the Mara ( quite surreal ) thanks to all the staff for making our stay a memorable one and also to JT Safari's for organizing the whole trip . We cannot thank you enough Julius Nzumbi for all you and your staff done to ensure this was a trip of a life time
    Cannot wait to return and use your services again

    Room Tip: All lodges are fantastic and sited right on the river Mara
    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank grommit3d
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews