We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We felt like Royalty!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Mara Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We felt like Royalty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The semi-tented accomodation is stunningly attractive, gloriously located & serviced by a hugely attentive & friendly team. Eland browse outside your tent by day, and at night the solid timber walls & balcony of your accomodation provide reassurance that nocturnal browsers cannot enter. Huge populations of wildlife within minutes of the hotel & the best Mara river migration crossing point can be reached within two hours. The walking safaris are well worth doing to give a real feel of Africa.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rohug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    23
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
112
211
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Private, luxurious in a great location. Tremendous staff that was very responsive to every need. Great food, great service and we were able to see the big 5 up-close and personal! We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the river and the hippos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelidisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We love travelling all around the world and have been in quite a few of the top destinations... but nothing compared to spending one week at Maasai Mara. Surrounded by thousands of amazing animals, this place offers a different and outstanding surprise every single day.

The location is a dream and the staff is simply superb. We loved the game drives with Julius, the walking safaris with Steve and Samuel, the dinners with Sammy and, of course, Moses, our housekeeper. All of them perfectly managed by James and his neverending smile. Thank you all.

In summary, you will not forget every single minute spent here. This will certainly be one of your best experiences ever.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was my 2nd trip to the Maasai Mara. My first trip was during the Great Migration in 2011 (see previous reviews of that trip). This time I wanted to go in the green season and avoid the crowds. I decided to stay in the North Conservancy with hope to the the Loita Hills migration. aka the mini migration. When I arrived I saw hundreds of animals on the short drive from the landing strip to the camp. This was just the start to seeing thousands of animals over my stay.

The camp is small but the tents are huge - bigger than most luxury hotel suites. Each tent is on an elevated platform with a deck that overlooks the Mara river filled with hippos. The hand carved furniture enhanced the Africa experience.

The food was excellent. The variety of food was very good. My favorites were the red snapper, lamp chops, watermelon feta salad, and the cream of mushroom soup.

Best of all was the staff. Everyone was very friendly. I was traveling solo but I enjoyed many conversations with the staff during my stay.

The game drives were incredible. Often I did not see another safari vehicle the entire day. I got to enjoy photographing many lions kills with no one else around. Right outside the camp (and sometimes in the camp) were giraffes, elephants, hippos, Thompson gazelles, wildebeest, buffalo, topi, dik-dik, warthogs, reedbucks, impala, zebra, hyenas, waterbucks, baboons and monkeys. Best of all there were lot of babies from just a couple of days old to a couple of weeks.

I enjoyed several walks thru the bush. Walking down to the river and getting eye level with hippos is an experience to remember. The walking safaris were free other camps charge $100 plus per walk.

This was a great trip and I will visit again.

Room Tip: All the tents were right on the river. I think they are all equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing time. Very private and luxurious too. Thank you to the staff, Julius, Reagan, Steve, Steve, the chef, etc...food was delicious. And best of all, price was great! I would recommend this lodge.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Galey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

A great place. We were there 3 days and 2 nights. From the beginning we realized to be in a special place with very friendly staff and always available for anything. Incredible attention to detail in the tent, and the rest of the lodge. Incredible scenery on the river with many hippos as a frame. Great food from breakfast to dinner, soups are excellent. Safari beautiful but this is also about the beautiful Masai Mara. Definitely a special place to spend even just 3 or 4 days.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rossano Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Simply one of the best 3 days I have had in a long time. Attentive staff, amazing guides, yummy food (and I am picky). Bed so comfortable. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Would highly recommend to anyone traveling to the Mara. Felt very safe the entire time. Was traveling alone and other than it being slightly awkward to eat all my meals at a table by myself (would have been nice to have communal tables, at least at breakfast and lunch so I didn't feel isolated), I felt very well taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianTraveller511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
1.0 mi away
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
#43 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mara River Lodge
Mara River Lodge
#73 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#74 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#25 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
10.8 mi away
Olumara Camp
Olumara Camp
#90 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
11.4 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mara Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mara Safari Lodge

Property: Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Address: Masai Mara North Conservancy | P.O Box 260, Masai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mara is a luxury safari and game viewing lodge located in Kenya's world famous Masai Mara, home to the annual Great Migration of the Wildebeest. We are situated directly on the Mara River with six riverfront guest suites. All suites are raised upon wooden decks with full mahogany flooring and original hand carved furniture. See the same wildlife-rich areas as broadcast on the BBC Big Cat Diary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Royal Mara Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mara Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Royal Mara Safari Lodge Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing