We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Marvelous”
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mara Explorer Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had 3 lovely days in Mara Explorer, The Camp was simply fantastic.
I am normally the skeptic type and would never rate anything 5 star, but must when it is called for.
The tents where absolutely lovely, with views over the river. The bathtub on the verandah was a great little extra, soaking up while looking down over the river and the wildlife. Everything very luxurious.
The food was simply fantastic. We never expected food in this great quality so far out in the bush, like a 5star restaurant in an European city. And the service; Godfrey was simply the best! I have rarely if ever experienced so attentive or personal service. He made every meal special. Maria loved her birthday song, and the cake:-)
The Game drives. We drove with Paul. Probably the most knowledgeable safari guide one could ever find. He simply knew everything there is to know! We were fortunate enough to see all the animals possible, and I am sure only due to the fact that we were driving with Paul. When we are going back to the Masai Mara, We will only be driving with Paul…Period!
Steve the camp manager was also amazing. Personal and attentive, and showed a real interest in how your day had gone by. Your jolly mood was fantastic and contagious. The overall management of the camp and the personnell make many luxury hotels look like amateurs.
In no way to neglect the rest of the personnel which where all simply fantastic. So Steve, Godfrey, Paul, and all the rest of you, thanks for simply amazing 3 days. We will be back as soon as we can.
Best regards
Martin & Maria

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

As you perhaps know i respond to all Guests Comments on this Forum. Some of them make me so happy i can cry. This is one of them. We are so glad you stayed with us.
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

The game drives and our guide Vincent were fantastic, and could not have been better. Engaging, knowledgeable about Kenya, the game, plants, and the ecosystem, Vincent gave us a broad overview of this incredible part of Kenya. The staff was helpful, friendly and very professional. The "tents" were luxurious, and the food was absolutely amazing. The chef, wait staff and camp staff were attentive and always helpful. We recommend this lodge with no reservations, and would love to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We are glad you enjoyed. Thank you for posting this awesome feedback.
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very comfortable tent accommodations, excellent meals 5 or 7 course always with choice of veg or meat/chicken/fish, wonderful soups, attentive camp staff, and Joseph our guide friendly, conscientious, and very knowledgable. You will not go wrong to select Mara Explorer for your trip of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Tent 4 is on a bank overlooking a hippo pool. You will hear them all night long.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Dear Guest,
It is nice you had such an awesome experience. We are ever ready for your next visit in the future. Send your friends too.
Kind regards,
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The "tents" were luxurious, the safaris were amazing and the food was lovely. And the service was special -- the manager George attended to our every need as did his staff.

The rooms are tents but integrated with permanent structures, so the bathroom is indoor except for a lovely bathtub. It was very comfortable, clean and fairly luxurious for being in the middle of a nature reserve.

The safaris were wonderful. A guide drove us around 2-3 times a day -- we recommend the longer morning drive and have breakfast in the bush, and we saw so many animals -- all except the elusive rhino.

The food was full of fresh ingredients and though all of the meals were taken in the camp, it didn't feel repetitive even after 5 days/4 nights. We also ate at our own tables.

The manager and the staff were warm and friendly. A terrific holiday -- there was nothing disappointing about it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwglobal_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

It is so nice you visited and enjoyed yourself. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
The GRVL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

If you are still looking where to stay then stop now, look no further. Mara Explorer is just wonderful. We spent four nights there and loved every single minute. The staff are fantastic, the tents are amazing. I will try and keep this short as I could write forever about it.
The main purpose of going on safari is to see the animals so let me start there. A huge big thank you to Dennis our guide who we really felt was a friend after spending only a short time with. His knowledge and passion made each drive an amazing experience, we both felt so lucky to have spent time with him. Dennis was always one step ahead, it was almost like he had a crystal ball and would take us somewhere where the action was about to happen. It was so clear that he wanted us to see as many things as possible. We nick named him The Stig from top gear as his driving was brilliant. Dennis is a real asset to the camp, thanks to him we saw the big five, topping off on our last evening we saw the Rhino coming down from Rhino Ridge, we were lucky enough to then spend time close up with him, an experience that we will treasure and remember always. We both learnt so much about the animals due to Dennis's vast knowledge and experience. We both felt privileged to have spent our drives with Dennis and will have great memories of those days.
The camp is not fenced off meaning that you really do get the true outdoor safari experience, there are loads of lovely little surprises which I will keep to myself so it is not spoilt for when you do go to the camp.
We must also mention a few other members of staff who made our stay memorable, Steve the manager from the time he picked us up on day one with his warm welcoming smile, he could not be any more helpful. Godfrey who again was a delight to us at every meal time serving Jim plenty of "Tusker" AKA elephant milk. Daniel and Maleto the massai warriors who were a joy to be around, one night I heard an animal outside the tent, the next day when I said to Daniel that I was worried during the night he reassured me telling me there was no need to worry as he was a Massai Warrior, this was very true and sincere. James K, equally was a gem to be around, his warm smile in the morning was lovely to be greeted by, it was much appreciated how lovely he kept our room.
The food at Explorer is true fine dining, each meal was just delicious and the chefs are to be commended. All though we are mentioning certain individuals it must be said that every member of staff we came across were delightful.
The luxury tents were just brilliant, I said I would keep this short but am finding it hard as I could just keep writing. All we would say is that we hope to be lucky enough to go back one day, I was there for my 40th birthday trip, there is no where in the world I would rather have been.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
As you may have noticed i respond to all Guests comments on this forum. Your posting has left me with no provision to add anything. I can only thank you for making it to our Units.
Blessings.
The Mara Explorer Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We chose Mara Explorer 'cos my sister had stayed for 10 days at the Intrepids camp and had a fantastic time. She strongly recommended the driver/guide who showed them around and I too wanted to Safari with him. We weren't disappointed. Our driver made us feel welcome right away..... and shared in our excitement to be on safari in equal measure, showing us animals, including a very pregnant giraffe, on our way from the air strip to the camp itself.
The camp is beautifully located right on the banks of the Talek River, a permanent home for some very boisterous and amusing hippos. If you are lucky you might even see Olive (the leopard) make a kill on the banks of the Talek River, just across from the dining area. The tents are beautifully done up..... they are truly luxurious with every amenity. The tents even have an outdoor tub and running hot water (contrast this with some other camps like Kicheche Mara Camp that offer only one bucket of hot water daily for your bucket shower between two tent occupants). After a full day of safari, when you return hot and covered in sand, a hot running water shower is just what you need.
The staff at Mara Explorer was very warm and friendly..... even the Masai who saw us to our tents had a smile and a story about which animals had visited the camp overnight. The food was fantastic.... we couldn't believe that such good quality food could be consistently offered in the middle of a wildlife reserve. There was always a choice of 2-3 for every course of the three course menu. This meant that if you weren't partial to say pineapple, you weren't stuck with eating pineapple upside down cake for dessert. For vegetarians or people who don't eat red meat, such a menu would be even more welcome. We have no dietary restrictions, but were happy to indulge ourselves with the choice offered. On the occasions the camp had few guests, they showed us the menu in advance and we made our picks, to avoid wastage in the kitchen. The packed breakfasts (we did breakfast every day on the go on safari and one lunch on the go too) and lunch were fantastic. There was always too much, and we could never finish what was packed, and we did not regret missing the camp breakfasts and lunch.
Our driver was the best. He gave us so much information on the animals and their behaviour and even told us anecdotes about the animals. By the time we left I knew of all the various prides of lions resident in the Mara (had seen almost all the prides) and was well versed in the local lion political scene. Before each safari our driver would explain where he was taking us and to see what. For example he would begin a safari by saying that he planned to travel east to try and find the male lions, Notch and his sons.... and we did find them, mating with lionesses. In this manner we covered all directions of the Mara. The migration had just about started when we were there, so our driver organised a full day of safari, and drove us down to the Sand River (the border of the Mara and Serengeti), to see the early migration and animal crossings. We were the first jeep there, and it was an amazing feeling when on the way we were surrounded by the migrating animals and not another human soul besides us.
We even got to see the elusive Rhino.... again with not another jeep in sight. Our driver had a knack of finding animals. Once we were passing a bush with no visible sign of animals and a few jeeps looking lost a couple of kms ahead, and our driver took a turn and we found an entire pride of lions behind the bush. We saw so many special sights.... animals feeding on a zebra kill, cheetah with cubs feeding on a kill, Malaika the cheetah on the roof of the jeep and her cub waiting below. Olive, the leopard, out for a morning stroll with her cub, baby elephants and teen elephants showing off. With multiple leopard, lion and cheetah sightings.... we counted ourselves very lucky. We even saw the relatively rare sight of two Serval cats. We enjoyed watching and photographing the birds of Mara too. Our driver was very sensitive to my interest in photography and would angle the jeep, entirely on his own initiative, to get the best shot.
The jeeps of the Mara Explorer came equipped with a fridge ..... so the long safari days were made comfortable with a supply of cold water, soft drinks, beer etc. For the chilly mornings there was always the thermos of coffee and tea.
We had such a fantastic time and we cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent overlooking the Talek River so that you can have a ringside view of the hippos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MoveableFeast_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, COO at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,
So glad you had such a wonderful time. We hope to see you again soon. It was such a honor to be of service
Regards,
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This was our second stay at Mara Explorer Camp.
As promised we came back as soon as possible :-) and again enjoyed every second. Highly recommend the Camp to every one looking for luxurious tents, a laid back atmosphere, awesome food and great service.
The location is wonderful and the tents are very comfortable, and well positioned for views and a degree of privacy.The food is varied and prepared and presented to a very high standard. The staff gifs an unbelievably high quality service, and nothing is ever too much trouble, thanks guys!!! And last but not least a special thanks to our driver Paul, who managed to make every drive a very special one.
Can't wait to go back to this place, it has a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

We are so excited you came again. It means so much to us to host repeat Guests. you are now part of Family. In Maasai you are a "Ndauo" meaning Friend.
We are waiting for you next visit.
God Bless
The Mara Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
887 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ngerende Island Lodge
Ngerende Island Lodge
#74 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
Mara Bush Camp - Private Wing
#12 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
Loyk Mara Luxury Camp
#55 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
137 reviews
8.4 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#7 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
311 reviews
17.5 mi away
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp
#50 of 146 in Masai Mara National Reserve
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £488 - £1,099 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing