We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Outstanding Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Governors' Camp

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Little Governors' Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a wonderful trip for my wife & I and our son & daughter (both adults). It started with expert trip planning thanks to Julius Nzumbi and his staff at JT Safaris, who managed all reservation and transfer details. Our stay at Little Governors Camp was professionally hosted by Peter and his wonderful staff. Everything was perfect! The guiding was top-notch and we saw 4 of the "Big 5" on the first trip out. (We'll have to return for the leopard.) The tents had all the amenities -- my daughter called it "glamping" -- the food was _beyond_ excellent, and our every need was anticipated in advance.

A highlight of our trip came the first night when, in the pouring rain, we could not return to our tents after the safari because a herd of elephants was in the camp. No problem -- there was a warm firepit under cover, drinks and snacks were served, we had great conversations, and were treated to seeing the herd (including a baby) pass by on its way out of the camp. Another night there was apparently a lion and water buffalo outside our tents, but we were well protected by the staff at all times.

We were sad to leave. Even on the trip to the airstrip, the driver tried to find a spot where we could see a leopard before we left. Even on our cab ride back to the hotel in Nairobi, Julius Nzumbi was on the phone to us to ensure that the final leg of our trip was in order. What service!

This was a trip of a lifetime, and I would recommend it to everyone in a second!

Room Tip: Tents 10 & 11 were perfect -- Excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdjc35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    37
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
103
200
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

What an amazing place to stay - this is serious luxury and service next to a marsh in the middle of the Masai Mara. We went with our children (14 & 12) and had the amazing 3 days. The staff/service/food and cleaniness of the whole camp is outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was our second time at Little Governor's and it was as wonderful as the first. The camp has changed some since our first visit 9 years ago. It now has internet (which I could actually have done without), electricity in the tents and a few other "21st century amenities", but the general atmosphere is still the same. The marsh right outside your tent makes for wonderful viewing during the day and interesting sounds at night. Our guide this time, Ngaye, was incredibly knowledgeable. One would expect the guide to know all about the larger animals, but Ngaye could identify every bird and reptile we came across as well. I loved the fact that he was every bit as excited about seeing the migration as we were. He went out of his way to please us. Back at camp, the hospitality could not have been better. If we wanted for anything, they tried to arrange it. Both the bar and wait staff were excellent and we were so happy to see Duncan, our waiter from 9 years ago and again this time. One afternoon a herd of elephants visited the camp and made themselves right at home. While the staff kept us a safe distance away, it was quite an experience to be so close to such a huge animal and not be in the confines of a vehicle. That night we were awoken by hippos that were not happy with one another. In the evening as we had cocktails before dinner there were lively discussions about that day's game drives. While everyone's adventure is different, I can whole-heartedly recommend Little Governor's Camp.

Room Tip: We have stayed in tent 3 and 12A. I don't think there is a bad tent, however the lower the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sushuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Jambo! What a wonderful place! To be in an unfenced camp in the Masai Mara is surely the best way to experience this amazing part of Kenya. The boat access over the river adds to the excitement. The tents are more than your average tent. The beds are very comfortable with a hot water bottle provided every night & the bathroom is large & luxurious. It's true there isn't much hanging space, as mentioned in a previous review, but you don't take alot of clothing with the weight allowance so adequate. The view from the tent is the stuff of dreams with nothing between you & the water hole except subtle but ever present security. There were different animals in the water hole every day, just living their lives, while we watched! By night the noises are exhilarating. The staff were very friendly & always willing to chat & impart their own knowledge about the animals. Service brilliant. Duncan our waiter, Issa our bar waiter & Joseph our steward, all excellent. George, the manager, such a nice man, greeting us every day on the return from game drives. The food was excellent. The game drives were incredible. You are out for most of the day if you want to be but you don't have to. We loved the long drives with a picnic. You see 'something new' every day. Our guide was Oliver who was brilliant & he did all he could to ensure we had the best experience, even to the extent of driving much further out on our last day to try to see small lion cubs as we hadn't seen any up till then. He even spotted small animals like a hare & a tortoise! (They weren't having a race). We did the balloon safari from which we didn't see a lot of animals but just loved flying above everything with a champagne breakfast. We did a walking tour with Patrick which I would highly recommend. To be actually walking among the animals was amazing & what Patrick didn't know, wasn't worth knowing! Posh breakfast with champagne in the bush to finish it off. Visiting the Masai village is definitely a good experience plus meeting many Masai staff first hand & learning about their tribe was enlightening. The experience was so much more than seeing the animals. Kenya & its people are special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisbnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights and had a fantastic time in tent 12A which we had requested. Woken at midnight by a giraffe browsing on the tree at the back of our tent.Hippo's going past making their way to the marsh in front of the camp,Buffalo grazing,and the resident warthogs wandering around.Stanley who kept our tent clean and tidy and tucked the hot water bottle in the bed at night was so helpful and obligingas were all the staff at this wonderful camp.Peter the stand -in
manager always making sure if there was anyhting we needed,and our driver/guide taking us out on two mornings for a scruptious bush breakfast ,BRILLIANT

Room Tip: 12 to 17 but all tents are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KIm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The well appointed "tents" around a well visited waterhole gives this camp a wonderful advantage to African wildlife lovers. The accommodation, food and service are of a consistently high standard and what you would expect for the price paid, although there is little storage space for clothing. A free laundry service is provided. Drinks are at hotel rates although water, tea, coffee and hot chocolate are provided gratis.There are really no weak spots. The staff are all very good at client relations, the guides all very knowledgeable with eagle eyes for spotting game, English is spoken throughout and wifi works! A very good place from which to experience African Safari.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank enjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Spectacular! The amount of wildlife we saw was mind-blowing. We saw lions, hyenas, giraffes, and elephants on the 15-minute drive to the camp from the airport. We could hear the hippos munching directly outside of our tent, and the warthogs had made a semi-den on the front corner of our porch. Julius was our guide, and he was terrific! We took breakfast to-go one day and stayed out in the Mara for the entire morning. We took lunch to-go the next day, and Julius actually drove us all the way to the Tanzania border (an 8+ hour day). I loved every second of this trip -- from the delightful early morning trays of hot chocolate and biscuits, to the stunning balloon ride and champagne breakfast, to the romantic outdoor dinners, to the cozy turn-down service complete with hot water bottles to keep the bed warmer. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Little Governors!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedevildoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musiara, Manager at Little Governors' Camp, responded to this review, 20 February 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our property, your comments are very much valued and we are so glad you had such a memorable stay with us. We are delighted you had such a fantastic time with us all.

We really appreciate your feedback and we will pass this back onto the whole team who will highly appreciate it.

Thank you again and we also hope you will visit again one day soon.

Best wishes,

The Little Governors Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
13.4 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
25.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.2 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Governors' Il Moran Camp
#33 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
17.5 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#22 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Governors' Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Governors' Camp

Property: Little Governors' Camp
Address: C14 Keekorok, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Governors' Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a forest in the heart of the Masai Mara, Little Governors' is intimate in character. The luxury en-suite tents are tucked around a large water-hole clearing that teems with life. Beyond, lie the grasslands of the Masai Mara and the deep blue Olololo Ridge Escarpment. Arriving in Camp is an adventure, leaving your vehicle behind you cross the Mara River by boat and are escorted on foot through the forest to the camp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Governors' Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Governors` Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Little Governors' Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing