We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home of the Marsh Pride”
Review of Musiara Swamp

Musiara Swamp
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Excellent game-watching location to see lion, leopard, cheetah, elephant, giraffe.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home of the Marsh Pride”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This is the home of the Marsh pride of lions which were first brought to eminence on Big Cat Diary on the BBC. It is so close to Governors Camp that you actually feel like the pride belongs to you.
Many an hour was spent watching these beautiful a animals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JR1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We were privileged to see an epic battle between a lone buffalo and eleven lions of the Marsh pride.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were driving past the Musiara swamp when we spotted eleven lions stalking a lone male buffalo. We drove upto them and soon after, the lions attacked the buffalo. We felt sorry for the buffalo but needn't have been. The buffalo gave as good as it got and soon gored the lioness leading the charge, with it's horns. That took the wind out of the remaining lions and though they tried to keep attacking the runinant, it took its time but then drove away the cats and made an escape. The gored lioness was grievously injured, but we heard later that it was recovering.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NirmalyaKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thika
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wet and Green”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The Musiara marsh was quite wet, and very green. Normally not much game at this time of year, but the elephant were plenty as were nice herds of waterbuck and impala. The hippos pools near the marsh were full of hippo, but due to the high level of the river were not that visible.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Masharubu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Dürkheim
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We stay in the swMp more than 20times ower all the years”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stay always with our driver Simon Sitienei and he find all excelent places and anias from interest. his is a wonderfull place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nakupenda09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

A complete contrast to the busy scenes associated with the Wildebeest and Zebra crossings at BBC crossing on the Mara River, Lots of birdlife and elephant

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BulgingWallets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musiara Swamp also viewed

Masai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Masai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 
Masai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Masai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Musiara Swamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing