We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tipilikwani Mara Camp - Masai Mara
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$633
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$464
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mara Leisure Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ngerende Island Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$666
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sarova Mara Game Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$432
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sentrim Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
US$1,370
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,681
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$1,539
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashnil Mara Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Governor's Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
125
46
15
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
46
15
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalek rivermasai maragame drivesguide jonathanset the sceneself drivenever felt unsafeplenty of hot watereating breakfastacross the riverturn down servicestayed for two nightsafter darkan amazing experiencethe reservefantastic guidesouth africa
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just got back from a wonderful 3 week holiday in Kenya but our 5 day Safari experience was the best experience i will treasure for the rest of my life!!!
Our safari was organised by JT SAFARIS (Julius) in Diani, Mombasa. We stayed at ASHNIL CAMP (Masai Mara) the 1st night and TIPILIKWANI CAMP (Masai Mara) the 2nd night. Both camps were special and very unique but i think there were better viewing points from TIPILIKWANI CAMP. The sad thing is that we arrived late when it was dark and had to be up very early the next morning for our 8 hour drive to Lake Nkuru and so we didn't have any time here to relax and appreciate everything the camp has to offer. We cannot find anything to complain about - the staff were very welcoming on our arrival and remained so throughout our short stay. The food was delicious too!! The price we paid through JT SAFARIS was cheap and yet we got what seemed to be Royal - 5* accomodation!!! Well done Julius at JT SAFARIS and thank you for all your hard work finding us the best accomodation!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEDDY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

A warm welcome with great food (too much!!) amazing safari, careful customer service and comfortable accommodation. Take ear plugs to get a good night's sleep if there are hyenas walking past the tent! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stated at Tipilikwani for 3 nights in early August. The camp has 20 tents, most of which overlook the Talek river. The camp runs a mobile spa service and treatments are carried out in individuals rooms.

Points of interest:

1) The tent size is massive! So is the bathroom :) and both are fairly clean
2) Found some stains on the bedsheets (which was a put off for me) but if you're not OCD then you won't have an issue
3) Meals were mostly served to your table or on some days they have a buffet service. The vegetable soup was delicious!!
4) Packed lunch can be provided if you wish to be out on full-day game drive but please ensure you specify your dietary requirement or risk being surprised!
5) Power is switched off between 7.30am and 6pm and then again between 11pm and 5am - at least this was what we experienced when there. Electronic gadgets can be charged inside the restaurant.
6) Water for showers is nice and hot in the evenings ..

Overall, this was a nice place to stay although I wouldn't go back here due to proximity of game viewing ..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aparna_Nbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The tented rooms at this place are amazing. They are ENORMOUS and the bathroom is huge as well. It is a true tent - ie the room cannot be locked and there was no safe so we left our valuables locked in our luggage which was fine. Also, there were (surprisingly) no bugs in our room. We had a double room and my sister who is single had a "single" room which actually had two queen size beds! - easily would have fit four people except you would have had to share the bathroom.
I slept here very deeply although my husband was kept up by barking dogs and the sounds of the maasai guards screaming at something?! Apparently a hyena had entered the camp ... that was the rumor anyway!

The rooms also had an outdoor wooden deck with a view of forest and the mara beyond where we could see the wildebeest grazing. Chef Moses makes the best macadamia nut fudge - must try!!! Their lounge/dining area has some outdoor seating as well where you have the view of the mara and the wildebeest which is very nice.

The only downsides were that service was very slow and the camp is actually outside the park. Although it is on the edge, there were two drives where the driver actually drove outside the park and through a little village where there is alot of plastic/garbage on the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gauri83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Pros:
Staff friendly, manager is quite a presence
Nice size rooms
Amenities there; good water pressure
Restaurant is open-plan and spacious, really comfortable to hang out in
Ask for Jonathan for the game drive.

Cons:
Rooms felt worn down
Long distance walk from restaurant to low numbered bungalows
Have to drive through dull farmland to get to property (but: there is a bridge which you can take directly to the game drive)
Tent flaps were functional and there were no mosquitoes
Lighting was not pleasant in the room and on the property not very good covers.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews