We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandstand view”
Review of Entim Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Entim Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grandstand view”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

You sometimes need luck to get to see a good migration crossing in the Masai Mara, even if you are there at the so-called right times of the year. (Sort-of July to sort-of October.) But if your luck is in (it took me four days), can there be a better spot from which to view a crossing than from Entim Camp? A wonderful view looking out over a great horseshoe bend of the Mara River, and a crossing with no vehicles fighting and jostling for a vantage point; just camp guests and staff watching from a vantage point on the banks of the river. Decidedly special, I would have to say.

Room Tip: Furthest away from the lounge and dining room area means a few more calories burned off, getting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    22
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
102
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is one of the smallest accommodation options inside the reserve, which gives it a nice intimate feel - and one of the reasons why we chose it. It is situated quite far from any entrance gates so for some time at morning and dusk we could enjoy the relative "quiet". The location is quite good, it's central so many areas can be easily reached, including wildebeest crossing points. The driver guides are quite adept at avoiding the areas with the most traffic, while still finding some great sightings - and they have infinite patience, even with demanding photographers like us! The camp itself is lovely - the tents are wonderfully appointed, large and very comfortable. I really liked the decor. I also really liked the view onto the Mara river from our veranda as well as from the common areas. If you are lucky the wildebeest might cross right in front of the camp! The service was very friendly - everyone always greeted us with a smile and made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent, plentiful and imaginative - seriously I don't know how they conjure up such stuff in the middle of the bush. Especially when it's also so impeccably presented! A bonus point for me is the individual dining - where you are sitting on your own table with your partner or group. I don't really dig the communal dining at other camps. Furthermore timing of the meals is more flexible than the set dining at other camps - another bonus point. All considered Entim Camp is very good value for money and I would have no qualms in visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheetah80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

An amazing camp situated right on the banks of a major crossing point. The wildlife sightings just around the camp are brilliant and the service from the staff and drivers is exceptional. If you are looking for a camp to stay at in the Masai Mara then there is not much point in looking any further than Entim Camp!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Entnim is a really outstanding location. Very nice People, comfortable campsites and tents and of course the Location vice versa the crossing spot of the Migration. Must have been for safari junkies!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The first thing that strikes you about Entim Camp is its location - by the river, in the heart of the Mara. This is the ideal base location for starting out on game drives during the day, and you continue to see and hear wildlife in the evening and night hours (relax, there is enough armed security to keep the animals away from the tents at night).

The tents themselves have all the comforts you could ask for - flush toilets, hot water showers (although the shower stall itself is quite small), a comfortable bed, clean linens, etc. There's wifi in the common area, and the manager (Kat) was friendly and helpful, as were the rest of the staff. It's not Four Seasons luxurious, but definitely clean and comfortable.

The best part of Entim though are their guides. They are very knowledgeable about the terrain, and our guide Sammy went out of the way (literally) to show us all the Mara had to offer. From the Big 5 to all the different antelopes to the smaller, elusive cats like the Caracal and Serval - we saw them all. I highly recommend Entim camp for this reason alone, and would definitely go back here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR-EDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Entim is a wonderful camp - so much so I've been twice just this year!

It's right in the hear of the Masai Mara so perfectly positioned to make the most of the specular Migration which, if you're lucky, you can see literally go right past the camp (even while drinking your GnT from a hammock - or in my case I'd just jumped out the shower to go watch from a safe distance, as I could hear the thousands of wildebeest stampeding nearby!) Panic not - they don't go near the tents. Tents is also not a good word to use...they are fabulous tented rooms with all the little touches you would expect in a good hotel.

The bar and restaurant areas in both the main and the more private areas are lovely and there are plenty of wildlife photography books to read from the comfy sofas once dusk falls, if you haven't quite had your fix of wild things. Though I was very lucky and saw the big 5 on both occasions and much more beside. All creatures great and small!

The staff, headed by the very gentle and friendly David, are charming and very diligent; and I spent many an evening chatting by the glorious fire under the stars, to the Kenya Wildlife Service Guards (protecting the animals from the poachers) and the Masai's, who escort your tent at night. And of course the guides including Daniel, Dominic and Henry are all great guys and excellent spotters - Perfect!

Was very pleased to know I was heading back when I left the 1st time - when I left the 2nd time I was rather sad. So go - camera in hand and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I just had a great time in Kenya and specially in this Hotel. The location is just superb with the crossing of the Mara river right in front of you; i´ve coudnt think for a better spot. My girlfriend is a photographer entusiastic and she really enjoyed the facilities in there for that activity. Meanwhile I just sat in the seats and relax with the view. Our guide was really kind and he was allways smiling and laughing at us everytime we had a walk with him and try to throw rocks as he did.

Great place.

Keep it up.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the river so it really doesnt matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santiago J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,022 reviews
9.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Ashnil Mara Camp
Ashnil Mara Camp
#28 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#15 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
821 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entim Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entim Camp

Property: Entim Camp
Address: PO Box 64196 | Nairobi, Masai Mara National Reserve 00620, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entim is located inside the the Masai Mara game reserve and overlooks the mara river One of the migration crossing points is in front of the camp and guests are privileged to enjoy a private crossings in season. The camp is ideal for photographers and private game viewing in our panoramic location.The camp has a private wing that is ideal for photographers. It offers a Photographic tent that is fully equipped with i mac computers and projectors. The camp has new land cruisers customised for game viewing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entim Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Entim Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing