We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entim Camp an eco-friendly oasis of old world hospitality in the Mara wilderness”
Review of Entim Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Entim Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Entim Camp was an absolute joy. The best location in the Masai Mara and the friendly staff made us feel the most welcome that I've ever experienced anywhere I've stayed. You really felt like you were being looked after in a way rarely seen today - nothing was too much trouble, though everything was taken care of without even our bidding.
Discreetly located overlooking the Mara river - at a key migration crossing point - the well-appointed tents are a beguiling taste of old world safari luxury, except with excellent bathroom facilities! The food and service were uniformly excellent - how mpishi conjured goat milk ice cream in the middle of the Mara is beyond me - and we slipped into bed well sated before going to sleep with the sounds of the African night just outside - hyenas laughing, hippos snuffling and grunting, the rumble of hooves (though safe in the knowledge that our friendly Masai guards kept watch nearby). I've been to many game parks across Africa, but our driver for the game drives, Sammy, was the most knowledgeable I've met, as well as being great company and good fun, with a wicked sense of humour - like when the engine cut out as we were surrounded by lions on our own in the middle of the great grassy plains. I'd like to say a huge "thank you" to the staff at Entim for a most wonderful stay and i hope to be back some time soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-and-D-on-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Entim Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2010

Entim has become one of our favourite camps in Africa. It is not the most luxurious, but it gives us just what we need and like, friendly staff, very good drivers, very tasty food, ideal vehicles and nice clean tents. The staff are friendly without being overbearing. Entim offers one of the most relaxing experiences in the Mara at one of it's best locations, right at the site of a main wildebeest river crossing point. Been twice, and going back twice more.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This was definitely one of the best places we stayed during our month in Kenya and Tanzania. A very remote location (our driver had to stop and pick up a Masai friend to help us find it!), perched above the Mara River, this small camp disappears into the bush. We stayed 3 nights and would easily have stayed more if we could. Jonathon and the other staff provided impeccable service and superb food - amazing considering the remoteness, and the intermittent power. Everything was great here - excellent showers, very comfortable beds, insect spray and repellant supplied, all drinks were included in our package, plus easy recharging of batteries etc in the lounge tent.

The atmosphere in camp was really friendly and relaxed, and the wildlife are right there as it is in the middle of the Mara. Lexi was the camp manager and we loved her company and her sense of humour. Our guide Wilson is an amazing man - a Masai, he has been involved in vulture research and some of his colleagues visited to continue the research while we were there. A scienitst myself, I really enjoyed meeting all of these guys.

If we return to any of the places we stayed during our month safari, it would be Entim.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

We stayed at Entim during the low season in November.We had searched on the net and found this beautiful and private camp . The best part of the safari at Entim was the camp,s remote location inside the reserve.The first night we were there ,there were a few visitors. The other nights we had the camp to ourselves.Each Tent had its own viewing deck looking onto the Mara River.Good food and the helpful staff made the experience very rewarding.The game drives in safari built land cruisers were enjoyable. Bush breakfasts on look out hill were memorable! . A good camp for those looking for a remote and luxurious bush experience .

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swalker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

This is a real gem. Situated overlooking the Mara River in the centre of the park. This is a small camp set under shady trees about 500 meters from the river with sweeping views across the plains.In the evening zebra graze through the camp and hippo can be heard calling from the river.The tent accomodation is spacious with double beds and comfortable furniture. Each tent has a good sized bathroom with shower, toilet and hand basin over a tiled floor.There is a good supply of hot water for the bathrooms. Bottled drinking water is provided in each tent.
A large tent set up as a well appointed guest's lounge and a similar large tent is set up as the dining area.The food here is a cut above other camps I have stayed at, and Johnathan the chef and his staff do a wonderful job. Breakfast is serve-your-self fruit and cereals, followed by cooked dishes to order, such as eggs and bacon. Lunch is buffet style choice of salads and cold meats, and dinner is soup, two choices of the main dish and a desert. Wine and other drinks are extra but reasonably priced.The staff are very keen to please and service is good.
Mobile phones work here but there is no internet wifi connection. Electric power is a problem, as it comes from a generator or solar, and is only on at certain times of the day and evening. If you want to recharge your camera batteries, mobile phone or laptop, it has to be done in the evening in the guest lounge where a power board is available. Some tents are lucky enough to have a power board by the bed for the bedside lights, but not all. Accounts can be setttled by credit card as they have a terminal linked to the mobile phone system.
Masi warriors patrol the camp after dark and escort you to and from your tent, as wild animals are known to wander through.
Being situated in the centre of the park, the wild animals are on your door step, and time is not wasted in long drives to the best viewing locations.
I have no hesitation recommending this camp. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

I spent two nights at Entim in off season and the most fantastic time. We were the only group staying and had the undivided attention of the staff who looked after us incredibly well. They arranged a bonfire for us and all the safaris were excellent. Our guide was very knowledgeable and when we got back we found that we'd seen far more than other people we met who had been on a safari at the same time.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
Thank liz330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

As part of a photographic group this was an experience of a lifetime. For a serious photographer this is heaven! Animals at every turn doing something all day! Saw 4 crossings. More than one sighting of any kind of animal on each drive. Did not have one bad day and even when it rained we simply closed up the vehicle and went looking for more animals that came out to play after the rain. The staff at the camp were exemplary and our every need was catered for. The remote location has its challenges and these were met at every turn. The tents were comfortable and even charging batteries and downloading thousands of photos was possible. I will be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rorke's L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,050 reviews
11.9 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#5 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#5 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#15 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Mara Intrepids Luxury Tented Cam...
#16 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
846 reviews
16.2 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Entim Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entim Camp

Address: PO Box 64196 | Nairobi, Masai Mara National Reserve 00620, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: £318 - £622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entim is located inside the the Masai Mara game reserve and overlooks the mara river One of the migration crossing points is in front of the camp and guests are privileged to enjoy a private crossings in season. The camp is ideal for photographers and private game viewing in our panoramic location.The camp has a private wing that is ideal for photographers. It offers a Photographic tent that is fully equipped with i mac computers and projectors. The camp has new land cruisers customised for game viewing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entim Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Entim Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing