We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lions Galore!”
Review of Porini Lion Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Lion Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lions Galore!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Porini Lion Camp at the end of Oct '13 at the end of a month-long trip around East Africa (Kenya, Tanzania & Zanzibar) and it was the absolute highlight of our trip. The whole booking process (via Julie) was very smooth and straightforward and from start to finish it was well organised and we were very well looked after right through from pick up at our hotel, to being dropped back there at the end of our trip. We flew there in a light plane and were met by the very cheerful and traditionally dressed Masaai guides William & Stanley, who remained with us as our guides for the entire 4 days that we were there. The location of the camp is superb, the tents luxurious (complete with flushing toilet and bucket showers that a Masaai will hand deliver hot water to!) and every member of staff was welcoming, friendly and wanting to make your stay the best one possible. (If we were getting up at dawn for a game drive, our wake up call was a Masaai delivering coffee & tea and hot water to wash our faces in, with a cheery 'Jambo' at the door of our tent). When it was someone's birthday, the entire staff delivered a cake with the most superb Masaai singing and traditional dancing to go with it! But it was the game drives that really made this trip. William & Stanley worked hard to ensure that we saw as much as possible and were exceptionally good at knowing where to find it. We saw many different prides of lions (each of which they knew well and could explain the relationships of the lions within it); leopards (very hard to find, but we saw more than one); cheetahs; elephants; giraffe; hyenas; wildebeest; many types of antelope; vultures - you name it, we saw it on EVERY game drive too. But what was the most awesome part about it was just how close we got. There weren't too many cars competing to get near the action and all were respectful at giving each car a turn at getting close enough to see things. At times, we were also the first ones there and so had plenty of time to view things from just feet away. One time, we were so close to a male and female lion that we could have reached out and touched them (not that you would dare!) But it enabled us to really see their body language, hear the sounds they'd make to each other and really get a better understanding of how they behave in the wild. It was incredible. William & Stanley also took the trouble to find the most scenic spots for anywhere we might stop and have breakfast, lunch or a G&T sundowner. For example, we had breakfast, following a dawn game drive, overlooking a river full of hippos. Or a sundowner on a hill overlooking all the animals on the plain, as we watched the sun set. It was truly awesome. They were also very informative about what we were seeing, so we learnt a lot.
Back at camp we were also right in the middle of it all. We could observe the families of baboons just metres away, or zebra and wildebeest at a waterhole not too far away. By night, hippos would graze grass literally just feet from our tent and you could hear the zebras and hyenas calling out in the night. It has given us such a great taste of this extraordinary landscape, filled with its wondrous array of wildlife that we now definitely want to go back. If not to this camp, then possibly one of their other locations, which we have also heard great things about.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    20
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
172
225
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

As my husband said, "this is not the camping that I remember doing!" Luxury tents with attention to detail, wonderful service, delicious food, and game rides with excellent Maasai guides that created memories for a lifetime. We never dreamed that we would see all the animals that we did - up close and personal. If you want a trip of a lifetime, Porini Camps is the way to go.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGH793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashhad, Iran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I live in Kenya and my brother visited me from the US and this was his first time in Africa. I made a two week plan of extreme adventure travelling from Western Kenya to Uganda and Coast of Mombasa with a short stop in Masai Mara. Having done 5 safari trips over the last 10 years, it was becoming tougher and tougher to find a place where I knew he would have the same amazing experiences I have had, but only in a much shorter space of time - 3 days. As I was researching, two of my friends, recommended Porini Lion Camp and they told me that he is going to be spoit for his first safari experience. And they were spot on. Porini Lion Camp is now my second most favourite safari place. Not only because of it's beautiful location and the amazing animals, but also the level of professionalism of the staff and their hospitality.

We had a tough time getting to the camp due to some logistical problem - bad driver - and it took us over 15 hours to get to the camp from Mbale in Uganda. I lieu of our problems, the camp arranged for the Masai guide to come to pick us up at the Olerai Junction which is a good couple of hours drive from the camp. Although the guide was unable to reach us, he contacted his friend who had a matatu and came to pick us up and took us to the nearest town (Talek) to meet our guide. I thought that was genius and we couldn't have thanked our guides enough.

This was just the beginning. As we missed our first day of activities due to being late, the guide took us on a longer route back to the camp, so we could see animals and catch the sunset. I thought that was very considerate of them. My brother couldn't have been happier, and I was thrilled to see it all worked out at the end.

The camp is beautiful, the tents are very well managed and the tranquility of the place is indescribable. To sleep in large canvas tents, where you can undo the window zips and listen to the wildlife all around you, and gaze at the stars, is probably the best and tricky way to sleep - tricky, because you can't possibly want to sleep with everything happening around you! We heard buffalo, hippo, elephant and lions roaring in the distant, not to forget the bush babies playing around the tent.

The Masai guides are superb - they are patient, kind, tolerant with me as a keen photographer, intelligent and definitely have a sixth sense when it comes to the animals. We also visited a Masai Village, which I highly recommend. It was very well organised and we were welcomed with literally open arms and jumping young Masai men to take us into their village. Masai are very proud of their herritage, so they answer all questions and spend as much time as you need with you.

The management was also incredible from the booking team to on land management, you guys made our trip super special. The overall experience was well above my expectation. Thanks to every body in Porini Lion Camp. I will be back and my brother will come back with his family. We can't wait to bring our parents here.

Thank you and see you soon :)

Room Tip: Room are very well spaced from each other. We stayed in room 1, because on the first night we were t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamiramisSarkardei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What an absolutely wonderful experience. From our first enquiries, to making bookings, to adding trips Gamewatchers (Julie...yey!) were outstanding. The transfers, hotels, and ease of travel were made possible by the incredible local knowledge and great communication skills.

And then there are those Porini camps. For a person returning to Kenya my country of birth, after twenty years, and having "been on safari" several times, this safari was magical. The accommodations and food were excellent, but it was the service, the warmth, the sense of humour that stood out for us. As well the drivers/spotters/guides were so patient, professional and knowledgable. We stayed at the Porini Mara and Porini Lion Camps, both fantastic and, from what fellow guests said, it seems all are as good.

We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JER144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed one week in the lovly Porini Camp, I loved the place and all the Mammals.
As a birdwatcher i found 148 during my stay, this includes around the camp and during
the driving in the area.
We probably did not see all, another week would have given more bird-species
Thanks to all the wonderfull people in the camp and to our birdguide Jareld and the driver Ketere for safe driving.
I would love to come back some day. Thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The overall safari experience is well above my expectation.
Thanks to everyone in Porini Lion Camp, especially Meshak and William for the game drive, and Joseph for the overall services. With such a good knowledge about the animal habit and the area, we have no difficulty to explore the wildlife, and even witness the migration in November.
Lion Camp is not the cheapest option. However, from my experience, it worth the extra bit. It would be a total waste of time and money for going all the way to Masai Mara but not able to have the best safari experience out of it.
I highly recommended the Porini Lion Camp.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Wow, that was a really wonderful and memorable experience at Porini Lion Camp. It certainly lives up to it's Name, with our guides, 'Big John' and James knowing the lions by Name, the families and the history of the prides... simply amazing. We saw the Enkuyanai pride with cubs and then they found one of the females with cubs of 2-3 weeks old, hidden in the bushes. another day we followed the Moniko Pride. Just great. WE then found Fig, the Leopard sitting up a tree and then Amani, the cheetah with her 2 cubs. On the last day we say Fig's sister and for the guides to know and recognise them all was so interesting. The tents were big, cleanand showers were hot and ready whenever we wanted them. We only needed 1 bucket for us both. It was great to listen to the animals just outside the tent at night, knowing you are safe inside...
Our biggest thank you is for the wonderful evening prepared for us at the camp so we could do our 'ring Exchange' ceremony. We wanted something to remember and something Special, just for us, and that is exactly whet we got. We requested a quiet dinner, alone, possibly outside and we got that and sooooooo much more. We were the only ones in camp, and had a Special grill Chef outside, wonderful table and a beautiful fire. Service was perfect, Food amazing and then.... well for our ceremony, the Massai celebrated with us - dancing and jumping and were genuinely happy with us. The Manager kindly took our camera and now we have some amazing memories - THANK YOU so much for all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midjan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#14 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
9.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Lion Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Lion Camp

Property: Porini Lion Camp
Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porini Lion Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Lion Camp is located in the exclusive 20,000 acre Olare Orok Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, home to an abundance of animals. With 10 spacious comfortably furnished tents, each with private verandahs and en-suite bathrooms, the camp is small and exclusive giving a real bush experience. Guests enjoy the game drives in open 4x4's, escorted bush walks with Maasai warriors and sundowners. The Camp is the perfect base to experience the annual wildebeest migration. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porini Lion Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Lion Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing