We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”
Review of Porini Lion Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Lion Camp
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Words can't even describe the experience we had at Porini. The service is amazing! The staff is courteous, easy to get to know and makes you feel very comfortable. The safari guides are extremely knowledgeable! We saw so many animals in such a short time. Had a picnic breakfast beside a hippo pool, sunset snacks and drinks out on the savannah while viewing a pride of lions. Meshak and Jared are amazing!! Phillip and Joseph do everything in their power to make your stay more enjoyable! Hot showers and electricity available. Plenty of security at night. I felt completely safe while being as close to the animals as possible. Amazing time!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashleyk1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    20
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
177
231
74
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I can't say enough good things about Porini Lion camp in Maasai Mara. The staff is INCREDIBLE, doing everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. Joseph, Phillip, Jarrod, and Meshak are wonderful. The grounds are beautiful, tents are comfortable and so clean, food is amazing. There is not one negative thing I can say, I only wish we could have stayed longer!
Game drives were amazing, we saw so much. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and gave us so much information. We watched sunsets on the savannah, and had picnic breakfast by a hippo pool. An African experience like no other. There is electricity available to charge camera batteries and camping showers with hot water to wash the dust off after a long game drive. Due to the unfenced camp, security was always available for escort to our tents after dark. I felt completely safe. If you are considering an African safari, look no further, an amazing experience in every possible way.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurse324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Few places are that near to the best wild life experiences you can find especially for big cats; lions, cheetas and leopards, always lion cubs, usually cheetah cubs, some time leopard cubs. Just returned from my 3rd stay at Porini and hope to get back soon. There is no feetness center or swimming pool between the tents, but you will be so occupied with the genuin wild life that you will not miss it. The masai guides are excellent, they "smell" the animals and always place the car in the best angles for spectacuclar views and amazing pictures.

Room Tip: You may ask for a room in day shade to avoid too hot nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leftjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Having experienced a Gamewatchers safari here in October 2010, we had to return to this expertly managed, engaging camp to re-live our first adventure. It was even better the second time. The food was outstanding and the schedule was slightly altered in order for us to see the wildlife in their most active state. I loved the extra touches the camp manager gave us, ponchos for cool drives, extra tall jeep for our tall friend with us, hot water bottles to keep our toes warm, excellent guides who gave us an adhoc nature walk for fun. All of these touches combined together to make Gamewatchers Porini Lion camp one the best holiday experiences we have had. Can't wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug4863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

In some ways I am not really sure how to start this review as I have nothing but love, respect and admiration for this Safari Camp and all those that work there. It will hold a special place in our hearts for the rest of our lives. The reason being the Porini Lion Camp was the base for us and 13 members of our family and friends for our most magical wedding day. A real dream come true. From the moment we were collected by the Masai and Joseph our camp manager at the airstrip we knew we had arrived some place special. The scenery is breathtaking and the abundance of animals we saw on the plains just en route back to camp was amazing. The camp itself is very much respectful of its surroundings and one of the reasons we chose it. However this didn't take anything away from how spacious and comfortable and homely the camp felt. The staff were just incredible - James, Robert and Philip who served us wonderful meals, Jackson, John, Big John, William, Meshack and Ronko who took us out in the Jeeps everyday in search of the wonderful wildlife, to the chefs, the guys who bought us water for our showers everyday and the security guards who looked out for us whilst eating in the bush and at night. We thank you all for making us smile every day. Our wedding day itself was held not far from the camp and was so magical, emotional and truly spectacular. We are so glad we got to share it with not only close family and friends but with our new friends who did all they could to make it so special. We saw so many animals on our safari and on the eve of our wedding we managed to see a cheetah kill a baby gazelle. The knowledge our our guides was amazing, the sundowners were beautiful, being so close to the wildlife was incredible, Elephants, Zebra, Leopards, Cheetah, Lions including cubs and so much more. If you want the best out of your safari trip choose the Porini Lion Camp - we will most definitely be returning, more than once (in fact we are already planning the next trip), I would also like to say a huge thank you to Denis at Gamewatcher Safaris who met us at Nairobi airport and looked after us for two days whilst we organised our marriage licence. Denis also met us on return to Nairobi and made sure all our family and friends were well looked after before they flew home. Thank you all for the best experience of our lives.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My dream holiday came true when I stayed at the Porini Lion camp in Kenya. Breathtaking scenery, amazing hospitality and warmth from the Masai people who looked after us, our perfectly comfortable camp away from the big tourist safaris and the hugely knowledgeable trackers who every day got us so close to such a wide range of animals and other wildlife I could not believe my eyes! Thank you to everyone who made this the most magical holiday ever and special thanks to James and Jackson, you're stars! I can't recommend the Porini Lion Camp highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have just had the most amazing safari holiday and our daughters wedding in the Porini Lion camp.
Whilst the camp is 'back to nature' as it's in the Conservancy, the setting, accommodation, food and most importantly the friendliness and dedication to service and client satisfaction of the Masai who looked after us was first class.
Our daughter had a Masai and Christian wedding on top of the hill near the camp, this was one of the most amazing and emotional days of our lives and one that will stay with us forever. The Masai danced and sang for us and as we had already spent three days with most of them on the game drives and at meal times, we felt as if they were our friends and a real part of the wedding day.
We were very lucky on our many games drives, we saw a cheetah killing a gazelle, leopards, lions and six lion cubs, loads of elephants, zebra and topi and many birds and reptiles.
The food was freshly baked every day and we had many lovely meals out on the game drives where the settings were stunning.
The tents were clean, tidy and spacious and had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and exciting as we could hear the animals outside the tents in the evenings.
The Masai spoke excellent English and were able to answer all our questions with knowledge and facts, but most of all they couldn't do enough for our group of 15 family and friends.
We will return without question, a really fantastic experience.

Room Tip: All the tents are the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rayjane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
21.7 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,029 reviews
9.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
494 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,020 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
523 reviews
11.8 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 139 in Masai Mara National Reserve
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Lion Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Lion Camp

Property: Porini Lion Camp
Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porini Lion Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Lion Camp is located in the exclusive 20,000 acre Olare Orok Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, home to an abundance of animals. With 10 spacious comfortably furnished tents, each with private verandahs and en-suite bathrooms, the camp is small and exclusive giving a real bush experience. Guests enjoy the game drives in open 4x4's, escorted bush walks with Maasai warriors and sundowners. The Camp is the perfect base to experience the annual wildebeest migration. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porini Lion Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Lion Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing