We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply perfect”
Review of Porini Lion Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Lion Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“simply perfect”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Porini Lion Camp property is quite special. Each game drive has both a driver and a spotter, the meals and sundowners are exceptionally planned and presented. The special small touches make the whole stay really exceptional - from the hot water bottles to warm your feet in the beds, to the coffee on your porch in the morning, to the fires at sunset, you are well taken care of in a beautiful place.

You won't believe that these are tents - that's how amazing they are, with full bathrooms and flushing toilets and the whole camp built to leave not the whisper of a footprint if they wanted to move it.

The Maasai Mara itself is a perfect place - especially for a first-time safari. You will see most of the big 5, all the Serengeti plains animals, and in a great reserve. Both Maasai Mara and Sarengeti are super-popular, though, so do expect to see and hear many many other safari vehicles and people. Occasionally, the number of vehicles and people far outnumber the game being observed, which can feel a bit like being an unwelcome paparazzo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank san_shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    20
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
181
232
74
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What an amazing experience! We stayed for 3 nights in tent 3 (Simba) and had such a great time! The staff couldn't have done more for us! The food and chef were superb and waiting staff, Manager and guards were great!

Our Safari guides (Big John and Jackson) were the best, great sense of humour and on every trip we saw something spectacular - we saw Cheetahs, Lions, Leopards, etc and the migration.

We really enjoyed the camp fires in the evening, the meals where all guests eat together so you are encouraged to get to know one another, the hot chocolate wake up calls, safari picnics and drink stops, hippos outside your tent in the evenings (very close) - amazing, amazing experience!

We are so grateful to everyone at Porini for looking after us and making our stay so special and wouln't hesitate in recommending!

I have used a lot of exclamation marks but I do think this was possibly our best holiday ever and largely thanks to the Porini Lion Camp Team!

Thank you again, Chris & Davina x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisp82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Back at Porini Mara for three days - My second trip this year.

Great to be back and meet old friends both human and animals. It is getting so that I now expect to see leopards on every game drive. Acacia and Fig are regulars and are the most chilled leopards I have seen - just doing their own thing.

There was plenty of lion action also and the Porini pride were very active around the camp. This place is full of lions and there are just so many. Notwithstanding had our usual game walks and bush picnics.

There are usually like minded people here so great to come back to camp sit around the camp fire and share the days experiences.

The conservancy is teeming with game so we declined the usual day trip into the National Reserve but those that went actually saw crocodiles taking a zebra that was doing a river crossing.

Can't wait to get back

Room Tip: All the tents are spacious with a large double bed and a smaller double bed and have good views - if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safaribuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had such a wonderful experience at lion porini camp. The team knew we were on our honeymoon and made such an effort to make our stay special. Every time we drove in from a game drive, alake (sp?) the camp manager and one or or two of the massai staff were there waving and smiling to greet us, and wave us off again when we left. The personalised wake up call with tea, hot chocolate and cookies was just the absolute best! We didn't get that at any other camp or lodge we stayed at.

The tents are very large and spacious )but do get pretty warm in the middle of the day and we were there in June) big bathroom and plenty of hot water for the shower on demand. ALL the staff were just so lovely, they all made the effort to chat with us, answer our questions and offer us whatever we wanted.They really treat you like royalty at lion porini And we loved they they were always in traditional massai gear! Only something little, but we liked it.

William and Josephant were our gamedriver team and were great. They were genuinely excited to see the animals with us and get us up as close as possible. They loved seeing the photos as we took them and were both very knowledgable.

We didn't see rhino, but saw the other big4, cheetah, crocs and 2 kills, so game viewing did not disappoint! Being in a conservancy is so much better than the main reserve, cannot recommend it more highly.

The food was delicious, especially the dinners, they feed you so much it's insane. We felt bad wasting anything but sometimes we just could squeeze anything more thing in!

Everything was just wonderful here but it was the little personal touches that really made this a favourite of our 6 week African honeymoon. Will absolutely be recommending family and friends to stay at a porini camp and if we every come back to Kenya we wouldn't hesitate coming back here.

Room Tip: We had a great open view of the the vast plains and animals, but not shade on our tent so it was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Wehearttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

As my second safari, I had some expectations. This has been a wonderful experience: the wildlife was spectacular. The conservancy is obviously thriving, with several prides of lions, leopards, elephants, large herds of buffalos, and hippos. The Masai staff and guides are friendly and very competent. Beyond a traditional safari, this camp gives you the opportunity to support the local community, exchange cultural points of view, and participate in the conservation effort of the very thing that brought you here in the first place: wildlife. This has been a holistic experience in this respect, without compromises.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MGSF2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here in January 2014. The game viewing was amazing - we saw the big 5 all on the second morning. We were very lucky - our guide hadn't seen a rhino for 5 months. The accommodation and service were great - luxury tents. Sadly, because of the terrorism threat, there were hardly any visitors to the Mara. Great for game viewing - we were the only safari truck for miles, but a shame for Kenya. The game viewing was way better then Tanzania, which we went to next. Two main reasons: first, there are far more tourists in Tanzania, and second, in the Mara the drivers are allowed to leave the road/track whereas they are not meant to do so in Tanzania (although sometimes they do).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omnitrip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was my fourth visit to this camp and probably the best experience of all. The wildlife in the conservancy gets better each time. The staff and the quality of the guides is faultless - what more can I say?! Except that I hope to return soon. Everybody should experience a stay at at least one of the Porini Camps. As a tour operator I have stayed at many accommodations in Kenya and needless to say the Porini Camps, especially Porini Lion Camp are very special. The fact that the majority of the staff are local Masai is a huge attraction to me as well as the camp being very eco-friendly. I would highly recommend a visit - it will literally change your life.

Room Tip: This is all tented (luxury) accommodation and all tents are well spaced and well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
22.3 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,034 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#13 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
924 reviews
9.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,033 reviews
11.7 mi away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
335 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Lion Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Lion Camp

Property: Porini Lion Camp
Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porini Lion Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Lion Camp is located in the exclusive 20,000 acre Olare Orok Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, home to an abundance of animals. With 10 spacious comfortably furnished tents, each with private verandahs and en-suite bathrooms, the camp is small and exclusive giving a real bush experience. Guests enjoy the game drives in open 4x4's, escorted bush walks with Maasai warriors and sundowners. The Camp is the perfect base to experience the annual wildebeest migration. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porini Lion Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Lion Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing