We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Porini Lion Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Lion Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
1 review
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

I arranged my travel through Gamewatchers in Nairobi, on recommendation from a friend. The whole trip from start to finish was excellent, the best hol I have had in many years. The Lion Porini camp and its staff were very helpful and it lived upto what it says it delivers. The stay was very comfortable, we got to see the "big five". We had a proper feel for staying in the wild but with a certain level of comfort. Nothing was too much for the staff at the camp. I would recommend this camp and gamewatchers to anyone who was doing a safari in Kenya. Thanks to all from the Dhesi's

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gravesendians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    20
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
171
225
73
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

This is absolutely the best safari trip possible. The camp is set in the heart of this stunning conservancy, so that while the accommodation is extremely comfortable, one still feels wonderfully close to nature. The service was first-rate: enthusiastic and knowledgeable guides, and friendly and helpful camp staff. Going on Porini safari drives or walks - just you, the guides and the thriving wildlife - provides a far more special and authentic experience than one can expect on the tourist minibuses in the main Mara park. In addition to this, the camp is both eco-friendly and committed to helping and maintaining the local wildlife and communities.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harwood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

We were visiting Kenya for a wedding and had 4 days after the wedding to go on Safari. After speaking with a lot of people we realized that Porini Lion Camp was the way to go. When you arrive, you are greeted at the airport by 2 Masai warriors in red happily carrying your bags and taking you to the custom built Land Rover. Within moments we were looking at Cheetahs enjoying the shade underneath a tree. The guides have great English...but, more importantly, they are truly Masai people so they know the land and all the animals very well since they have lived there since birth. When you come on 2 lions, for example, they will tell you that they are 'honeymooners' and will explain that these 2 lions will stay together for 1 week and not hunt/eat for this time as they are 'honeymooning'. They know hold the lions are, and which pride they are from. Arrival at the camp brings more happy Masai faces. They wake you up with tea or coffee and a nice 'hello' outside your tent. The tents are quite spacious. Visting the local village is a must -- they will do tribal dances and sing for you as well. Be sure to bring plenty of Kenya shillings and really bargain for your Masai items. They originally quoted 60,000 shillings for the giant bag of items we wanted for friends back home...but quickly lowered their price to 15,000 shillings. Great quality of workwomanship on the beads and other items. Back to the camp...you will receive a dedicated guide and spotter for your entire stay. This is great -- we had John and Steven and they were wonderful! You get to really know them and they will plan out your stay with you. Tired from a night drive? No problem! You can get up late the next day! :) We would have stayed more time at the Mara River if possible -- as there is so much life there. We saw more animals than we ever expected -- the Big 5 - a wildebeast crossing -- tons of crocs and hippos - -and the beauty of a family of elephants taking mudbaths at the river. The kids really enjoyed it -- and even liked watching the lions eating a 'Pumba' (warthog). The camp manager is a real pleasure and is perfect for the job. Hearing Lions roaring outside your tent and hippos smelling you through the tent is a once in a lifetime experience. At night, the Masai warriors escort you around the tent for your safety.
In short, a once in a lifetime place...bring plenty of digital cards for your camera and lots of shillings for a visit to the local village...enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetoTravelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

We visited Amboseli, Mara Camp and Lion Camp and were impressed by all three. They are different in some ways but the basic care for all guests while at camp and out and about was faultless. We saw all big five, two crossings plus a range of other things. The food was superb and the facilities very comfortable. A normal shower is definitely very boring now that we are home!! Without doubt the way to see the Mara and ensure that the locals benefit too.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulnwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We struggled to choose a safari location amongst the hundreds that are out there and found trip advisor helpful in making our choice. So I wanted to add my comments to the others on here about Porini Lion Camp. It simply was an amazing experience. We were on our honeymoon last year and had always wanted to do a safari. For us it was a once in a life time opportunity and we wanted to get it just right. I can't compare it to any other camps as we went from here to Zanzibar but we had such a great time at Porini. From the incredible, knowledgeable staff to the fantastic food and comfortable 'tents' everything was spot on. But most importantly of course were the drives into the park. Within ten minutes of being picked up from the airstrip, we had encountered a family of lions with their cubs, an incredible sight! From then on it was a constant stream of lions, cheetahs, elephants, buffallos and even the elusive leopard. Our drivers and guides could not do enough to enhance our experience. We also opted for a walking tour one morning which I highly recommend, great to get your feet on the soil, in amongst the 'foot' prints of all of those animals you've been spotting! The staff couldn't do enough for us, including bringing us fresh coffee to drink whilst watching the wildlife from our terrace and leaving a bottle of wine chilling in the tent. The tents were 'guarded' by Masai at night time and even though we could hear lions roaring outside and hippos grunting (!!) we felt completely safe and secure. Don't think about going, just go - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

We love the lion camp, No crowds ! Off the beaten Path , it seem no one was around for miles....The guides were very good and we were able to see Baby everything,lions,hippo,cheetah ,giraffe,zebra WartHog, Just to name a few. The food was good .Everynight around the campfire we could discuss day and share our pictures with our fellow campmates .Loved listen to the lions at night from" {INSide"} the tent. Perfect !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

As the name suggest Lion camp is situated in an area that is teeming with wildlife and especially big cats, in fact the Big Cat Diary is filmed near there and the best thing is that it's a private conservancy, so you don't get 20 mini-vans around you while you watching a lion and you can actually observe cheetahs hunting something that would be impossible with the kind of traffic you get elsewhere in the Maasai Mara National Park.

The camp itself is clean and comfortable and you know that it isn't destroying the surrounding environment plus the conservancy is managed and owned by the local Masai. So if you want an exclusive wildlife experience then Lion Camp is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filmingholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
18.5 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
16.1 mi away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
10.6 mi away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
9.6 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#3 of 137 in Masai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porini Lion Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Lion Camp

Property: Porini Lion Camp
Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Porini Lion Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Lion Camp is located in the exclusive 20,000 acre Olare Orok Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, home to an abundance of animals. With 10 spacious comfortably furnished tents, each with private verandahs and en-suite bathrooms, the camp is small and exclusive giving a real bush experience. Guests enjoy the game drives in open 4x4's, escorted bush walks with Maasai warriors and sundowners. The Camp is the perfect base to experience the annual wildebeest migration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Porini Lion Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porini Lion Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Lion Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing