We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway in Paradise”
Review of Tijara Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tijara Beach
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you're looking for a magical, peaceful, getaway in paradise, Tijara is it.

From the minute we arrived at the airport, we felt incredibly taken care of. Ian, Larissa and the Tijara staff give such personalized service--an incredibly refreshing change from traditional hotels. Ian or Larissa would meet us each day and took care of everything. Trip to the caves? Safari? Trip to town? Snorkeling? We were just given a time to show up and we were off on adventure--no time wasted planning, no confusion on how to get around, who to trust, or how much to pay.

The service isn't the only thing that sets Tijara apart. The setting is away from everything--kilometers of scrub brush and coral rock for kilometers around. Nothing to interrupt relaxation. The grounds are immaculate. Beautiful gardens separate the four cottages. Each cottage feels apart from the others, a personal escape. The rooms are luxurious--large and open with fresh flowers every day. We spent hours on the balcony, reading on the daybed, afternoon drinks, meditating on the ocean.

The private beach overlooking a wide reef felt out of a movie, scattered with gorgeous shells, fishing boats, and tidal pools. The ocean is the temperature of bath water. The pool is fresh and free of chemicals.

I was very impressed with the food. I'm unable to eat gluten or dairy--which can sometimes (and even more so in Africa) be difficult for chefs. Not only was the food at Tijara delicious and different every day, the menu was rich in fresh fish, fruits, and vegetables.

There's just the right mix of things to do and, as holidays are good for, nothing to do. My boyfriend and I spent a full week there and could have stayed weeks longer.

We can't recommend Tijara highly enough and already planning our trip back!

Room Tip: All are wonderful
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rwanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! It was our pleasure hosting your and we are thrilled that you enjoyed Tijara so much! We built Tijara as a romantic escape and a place for a quality family holidays, and we positioned our cottages in such a way that everyone enjoys their privacy and fantastic views of the ocean. Our reef is superb for snorkelling and reef walks, caves are spectacular and these two activities are not to be missed!

We cater for various dietary restrictions and requirements and your advance notice helped us a lot to make your stay even more comfortable by catering for your specific requests from the onset, thank you! It was also our pleasure to arrange a few trips for you and we are glad that you enjoyed them, we hope that you will be coming to stay with us at Tijara again soon! We enjoy meeting our guests in person and have made a lot of friends over the years that we have been open.

We will look forward to hosting you at Tijara again!

Take care,

Larissa & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Tijara Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

This place is sooo amazing. I spent a week here on vacation,meditation and Safari with my girl friend. The owners are the most welcoming people i have seen on the Earth. They trained their team and every one is so welcoming.
The food is fantastic and drinks are to die for.
Am already planning my next trip and i can not wait to go back.
Please help your self and refresh your self by spending time at this place.
Thanks you every one at Tijara Beach and you know i can not thank enough!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inemaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review which we appreciate very much. It was our pleasure hosting you at Tijara and we are glad that you enjoyed your week's break with us. Total relaxation is what we are all about!

Thank you for your stories about Kigali and Rwanda, it was very interesting to learn new things about not such a far away place, and we will look forward to host you at Tijara soon - just two of you and also with your friends.

All the best with your art and your gallery and take care till we see you again!

Yours,

Larissa & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Tijara Beach resort experiecnce of our family of five over the New Year 2014 was (almost) perfect. Great setting, wonderful very roomy guest houses - absolute luxury, stunning views, immaculate grounds, strong breeze without which the heat would have been oppressive, very very nice pool, great beach (with total privacy, no one else there) and reef in front of it, snorkling was a delight (many thanks to Ian for taking us) the nearby caves were a sight absolutely worth a visit. Food was good, much better than Mara Safari Club (but just a little short of top-notch, keep up the aspiration for really good stuff). Some dishes (e.g. breaded/fried fish) were really good. Available wines were somewhat of a disappointment, all at the low end of (our usual) scale, prices quite affordable, cheap even. The intimacy of a place with only 8 – 10 guests total added to the pleasure. Ian and Larissa and their staff were very nice, we got very good service. Definitely a place to recommend to anyone who does not seek night life and beach crowds. Perfect for doing nothing at all. Just keep in mind: There are just 4 guest houses, the owners and the staff. That's it. Nobody else there or on the beach. No town, no village (well, a couple of houses along the dirt road about 1 - 2 km from the hotel). Mombasa is not far though, it is visible north up the shore, maybe 30 km away (won't take my word for it). Tijara is the perfect place for unwinding !

Room Tip: All four guest houses are perfect, can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romppanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we are glad that you enjoyed your staying with us. We were happy to have your family around and it was our pleasure taking you to the reef and the caves, both are definitely worth doing and we are glad that you recommend them to our future guests, thank you!

Thank you for your kind words and encouragement about our food, both our chefs are delighted and inspired! We hope that if you come again you will find our new exciting dishes to your taste and expectations. We are sorry that our wine selection did not quite meet your requirements, we wish we knew about it during your stay as we would have definitely catered for your taste and ordered wine of your choice especially for you. Being a small place we only keep a limited stock of popular wines but with advance notice or request from our guests during their stay we try and source the wine of their choice if it is available. However, we are glad that you liked and enjoyed Tijara and our privacy, seclusion, service and food - it is fantastic for us to know this!

We hope to see you at Tijara again and wish you all the best.

Yours,

Larissa & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

On our previous visits we were using Tijara for relaxation after a strenuous safaris. For this visit, planned over 12 months ago, we dedicated all of our 3 weeks to relaxing & enjoying this very special place.

Larissa picked us up on 24 Dec at MBA from our flight from NBO. As always we received a very warm welcome. Within the hour we were at Tijara. The locality was just as beautiful as we remembered. We spent a very pleasant few hours in the company of Ian & Larissa catching up on their news & hearing of future plans.

We enjoyed a wonderful, almost traditional Christmas meal with the family. As are all the meals at Tijara, it was delicious. Fortunately with our morning walks & hours in the swimming pool the calories didn't do too much damage!

Every morning before breakfast we walked from Tijara to the main road & the community of Ng'ombeni, a round trip of 6 kms. The local people are so friendly & one soon feels like the Pied Piper as the children follow on laughing & asking "how are you" & giving the traditional greeting of "jambo". The colourful dresses of the ladies provide a beautiful contrast with the rich foliage & stone houses. Most of the houses are built from white stone from the local quarry which is moved manually by carts propelled by 2 or 3 very fit young men.

Chii, the local dairy farmer, provides the people with their milk from his healthy herd of 50 Friesians. He also has 20 Somali beef cattle. Towards the end of her stay Mel even helped with the (manual) milking!! This was considerably less energetic than helping raise the buckets of water from the 75 foot deep well.

I hope that this will help reassure visitors that Kenya is a safe destination & the local people are both friendly & welcoming.

Back at Tijara, walking the beach & exploring the reef are as enjoyable & as fascinating as ever. A trip to the caves is a must, as is the snorkelling.

On NY Eve along with the other guests we were treated to a gargantuan feast, served around the pool. Every taste was catered for, the seafood was amazing. The prawns were bigger than the lobster!! Guests from the UK, Finland, France, Austria & Kenya started 2014 in great style.

On another evening we enjoyed dinner alone by the pool, watched over by a 1/4 moon. A very romantic evening which was followed a few days later by the celebration of Mel's birthday & our wedding anniversary. Again we were spoilt by the service, food & Anne's birthday cake.

Trips to Mombasa & Diani were as fascinating as ever & a special thanks to Ian for his help when Mel's asthma eventually got the better of her. Her treatment during her 24 hours in Diani Beach hospital couldn't have been better.

All too soon it was time to leave. Planning for 2015 is already under-way. A million thanks to all at Tijara for making this the best possible start to 2014.

Room Tip: We have a favourite cottage (Ngalawa) but all 4 are perfect.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Nick & Mel,

Thank you for your wonderful review and you are such a part of our Tijara family! You are also a legend amongst the villagers arounds us with your daily early morning walks!
Thank you for coming and sharing some special moments and celebrations with us, it has always been our pleasure having you staying here. It has been your third stay and we hope to have you at Tijara many more times. We are glad that Tijara is like coming home for you, equally your coming is like family reunion. Cold Malt is in the fridge! Wishing you all the best and see you soon.

Yours,
Larissa & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We went to this hotel after safari, to just swim in the pool and do nothing. Afterwards, it was so great, that Ian organised a trip to Mombasa Old City and also snorkling. The food was the best in whole Mombasa (except mango juice, which was a little bit frozen). After our 4-days stay, Ian drove Us to the airport in Mombasa. Snorkling - we went there with both, Ian and Larissa. Larissa was also really nice, and she is an expert in snorkling. For everybody, who plans a stay at Tijara, You will not waste any time!

Room Tip: As there are only 4 bungalows, every room has its own feature, and everyone is really great! (we too...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janek_Dobiesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Dear Janek,
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! It was our pleasure hosting your family and we are glad that you had such a good time here. We certainly enjoyed taking you snorkelling, your enthusiasm was infectious and we hope that you took good photos and videos to remind you about snorkelling in our beautiful lagoon. Our reef, caves and lagoon are really amazing and we are glad that our gusts share our enthusiasm about marine life.
We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you here again in the future.
Larissa & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Unwind and renew your spirit is Tijara's moto and last weekend this is exactly what we did! Being in the tourism industry and having travelled to many places and visited hundreds of properties, I can with all confidence say that Tijara was a mind-blowing experience. I searched for anything that was less than perfect, but alas found nothing. Ian and Larissa were delightful, considerate hosts, the staff at Tijara were kind, thoughtful, unobtrusive and SO efficient. The food ... well other than having put on 3 kilos in 2 days - was divine. The rooms are spectacular and there are not enough adjectives to completely, correctly describe these rooms - that become your own little private space in paradise. Looking out onto the sprawling lawns and compound, one cannot believe that they are at the coast in a hot and often very dry climate. The swimming pool is so enticing, and the beach and little coves are enchanting. There were so many highlights to our trip, but one that stands out was our snorkeling experience with Ian and Larissa. Their little lagoon compounded with their extraordinary marine knowledge and obvious passion was breathtaking. Ian and Larissa, thank you so, so much for all your hospitality - your love, dedication, hard work and passion for Tijara shines through every little corner of your property. We will definitely return to Tijara and despite wanting to keep Tijara a little secret, will pass the word on.. Shelina & Rob

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelinaAllport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Shelina,
Thank you for your review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us. A special big thank you for all your encouragement and we will look forward to hosting you and your guests here again! We tried to create a very informal atmosphere for our guests whereby they feel totally at home from the moment they arrive with all their needs being taken care of, yet enjoy it all in total privacy and seclusion.
We are also so glad that you enjoyed our lagoon - we are so lucky to have this amazing place right on our doorstep - indeed a giant personal aquarium! Even guests who have never snorkelled before or are not confident swimmers enjoy our reef outings!
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family!
Ian & Larissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was invited to visit Tijara Beach and I was so impressed, riding over bumpy roads you eventually arrive at gates, and WOW when they are opened you are taken into a little Paradise. The whole of the complex is owned and operated lovingly by Larissa and Ian. I was so impressed with the villas each designed and situated perfectly to embrace the beautiful scenery.

The gardens are excellently and all I could see was a beautiful venue for a wedding, something I would dearly like to plan for someone.

Accommodation is on an all inclusive basis. Everything is taken care of even the bag packed ready for your visit to their private beach.

Definitely a must for those who are looking for a private, safe, homely and quiet holiday after their safari.

Room Tip: All of the villas have an excellent view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jambo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijara_Beach, Owner at Tijara Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed Tijara. Indeed it is a romantic spot and a perfect venue for a small intimate wedding and a relaxing honeymoon. Tijara is small enough to be taken over exclusively by a wedding party and we have had lots of fun and joy in the past to host such parties.
We will look forward to stay in touch!
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Ian & Larissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombasa
14.8 mi away
The Sands at Nomad
The Sands at Nomad
#10 of 29 in Diani Beach
436 reviews
9.9 mi away
Jacaranda Indian Ocean Beach Resort
10.3 mi away
Southern Palms Beach Resort
Southern Palms Beach Resort
#9 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
220 reviews
13.2 mi away
Diani Sea Resort
Diani Sea Resort
#6 of 29 in Diani Beach
1,008 reviews
7.9 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tijara Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tijara Beach

Address: Kilindini | P.O. Box 99914, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range: £35 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tijara Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate, private and secluded, yet only a short distance south from Mombasa Island in Kenya, Tijara Beach is an exclusive private resort hosting not more than 8 people. The owners who live on the property and manage it are always available should their guests need anything.Tijara is about total relaxation, getting out of touch with the world and appreciating the beauty of barefoot luxury. It is for people who appreciate tranquility, nature, personal service and absolute privacy. Unwind and renew your spirit at the best escape from the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tijara Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tijara Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing