We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service”
Review of Eataly

Eataly
Ranked #25 of 137 Restaurants in Mombasa
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Went on spec to this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised. Ferdinand was an excellent waiter and the food from Giovanni was cooked to perfection. Will definitely go back. Would love to see Chianti on the wine list though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mombasa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crap would be an improvement”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I'm a frequent restraint goer and I've given this place the benefit of the doubt and today was my fourth visit. Each time the service and food have amazed me in how bad and consecutively the standards have fallen to new lows each visit. Today was the limit , I went with 3 other we ordered ; a pizza ,seafood platter, fish fingers and roast lamb leg. The lamb leg was mainly fat cooked in a horrid brown sauce that tasted like dishwasher fluid, the seafood platter was no platter , the lobster was burned , the pizza sauce was unseasoned and it was overdone with no mozzarella as it was supposed to have. We were the only guests apart from the flies who were in their hundreds. This lead us to question the places hygiene and cleanliness ,the waiters did not know their products or what they had in their bar stocks. They were unprofessional and when we asked for the chef they refused. We then called the manager who took 20 minutes to come surprising as we were the only clients thy had. The staff laughed off our complaints with a silly don't care attitude equally shared bathos called manager. I'll never go to this restaurant again. It's absolutely terrible

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bwanabamburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo z, Proprietario at Eataly, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
4 visits for the benefit of the doubt?
But please.
Come poisoned the first time and you go back another 3?
That day I was there, the restaurant was full and no one complained.
Or are you a masochist or a liar.
Same to you:
once again piloted a review.
If La Veranda has some problem with us is as well not to tell us directly via tripadvisor
Please
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food.”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The food and service was good. We specifically asked for a non smoking section when we entered. We were seated on a table, and at the very next table they then seated some smokers. when we asked the waitress to ask the other patrons to not some in the non smoking section, she went and spoke to what seemed to be her manager, who simply looked at us and did nothing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mombasa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Nevertheless, here we go again. If you are looking for very good Italian food prepared by a italian chef go to La veranda and not here at Eataly. Then La Veranda restaurant is definitely the place for you. Not only the chef is involved but also one italian manager with an experience of 25 years in this business. At Eataly Restaurant we eat tomato soups and minestrone soup which looked like water and the tomato soups was too sweet.and insipid. We eat spinach and ricotta ravioli in cream sauce and pizza Napoli, all night I did not sleep. After this terrible experience at Eataly Restaurant They do not see me more, surely I'll go 'only to Veranda or Robertos '
Dino De Lupo.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dino d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianpaolo z, Proprietario at Eataly, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
once again a piloted review.
If La Veranda has some problem with us is as well to tell us directly not via tripadvisor
Please
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanzu, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Food - Great service - Shame about the Flies”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Ate here last Sunday. Food was very good and plentiful size portions - service was excellent but we were plagued by flies.
Before anybody leaps in and says "well this is Africa" I know. I live here and eat out reqularly but have never seen so many flies. We ate outside as it was a nice afternoon but by the time we had finished we were fed up with trying to swat the abundance of flies attracted by the food and drink.
The tables either side, which were unoccupied, had no flies at all around them. Another table nearby which was occupied had the same problem we had.
Maybe it is a compliment to the food but we found it too distracting to fully enjoy the food. The food was very good and as said earlier the waiter and service was excellent. The prices are rreasonable viz-a-viz the quality.
I have given 4 stars as I am giving Eataly the benefit of the doubt and maybe we just caught it on "fly day". Will try it again another time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westwoodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eataly also viewed

 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Eataly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing