We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another hotel”
Review of Twiga Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mombasa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twiga Lodge
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed at Twiga Lodge during an ulitmate frisbee tournament and had a horrible experience. Checking into the lodge we were not expecting the greatest of aminities but were still shocked by the lack of basic necesities. Our room was one of the beach views but definitly not worth the upgrade as the electricity frequently went out during the night and the concrete structure turned into an oven. Most nights we lathered up on bugspray and slept on the beach or the balcony.

The wait staff at the hotel are rude and unable to provide the most basic of services. It took us an hour and a half one morning to get hot water to make our OWN coffee. When we spoke to the manager she was unresponsive and uncaring. She knew the place was a dump and was unwilling to do anything about it.

I definitly recommend staying elsewhere and if you have to stay here due to the tournament then I recommend camping. At least then the breeze will blow through your tent at night!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Imagine the view when you pitch your tent right on the beach next to a palm tree. It is kind of windy so be sure to bring a strong tent, or rent one from the lodge. Showers and toilets are basic but ok. For only 300 KSh per person per night you can't expect much more. Talk nicely to the barkeeper and he will keep your beers cold in the fridge. Didn't eat in the restaurant since we had our own chef with us and there was plenty of fish around. Every day local fishermen passed by to sell us their catch. The lodge looks old and needs renovation. Typical swahili-buildings, big white walls, nothing but rectangles. Location makes up for it. Safety seems to be ok, nothing happened and there was light at night on the campsite, and a guard. Watch out at night for big crabs biting your toes on your way to the toilet!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank primatetoursuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Tiwi is one of the most beauiful beaches inthe world and definately Southern Coast Kenya.
Tiwi is 20 minutes off the main road South of Mombassa's Likoni ferry but dont let that put you off

Twiga has been there for over 30 years. The current manager, Margaret for 25 years.
The camp site is basic - I stayed there 6 months before, but at $3 a night you can deal with it
The main bar and restaurant area overlook the beach, gather a gentle breeze, and seem to keep their staff - so they are generally friendly and helpful,albeit a bit slow.
The beach is beautiful white sandy with lovely warm sea. At the right tide go for a walk around the coral coves to the left (take a beach boy for $3) and youll see the coral pools in the shape of Africa and Oz, and go swimming between caves.
The food is fine. Currys, meats etc and all reasonably priced

This time somehow I got convinced by family to stay in the hotel room for 2 nights!!!! It was about $50 per night per room
You get two small doubles and en suite in the superior rooms! Mosquito nets included and fans
Our rooms had sliding doors to the balcony overlooking the sea
the bathroom is grimy and hasnt seen any decent bleach since the 80's. No water pressure so dont try washing your hair!! The towels really are from the 80's and rough...in fact rock hard!!
The beds were clean. Sheets over a wooly blanket which was quite sweaty

It wasnt my greatest night sleep but it was ful of people who regularly return...so they must be doing something right
In future Ill stick to sleeping in Diani and coming here for the day - otherwise me and Tiwi will fall out!!

Room Tip: At least pay the most....otherwise camp!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Twiga Lodge aka Tiwi Beach camping is a amazing camping spot! Having a car is a must - unless you fancy a 4km walk from the main road. It's Only a short drive from Mombasa (45min to an hour) and a 20min drive down a nice and rugged dirt road - it's very well signed posted, so you won't get lost. The property is located right on the beach, has lodes of trees for shade and to hang your hammock up, you can basicalley drive your car right onto the beach (try not to get stuck) and set up camp. It cost 300ksh per night per person (camping with your own tent) security is very good. Male and female toilet facilities - very basic, but they are clean and showers are good! Also a few sinks to wash dishes, clean food etc.... One small negative is that you do get the beach boys hassling you every now and again, asking if they can get you firewood or anything else you might need. I paid 100ksh for a BIG pile of wood, twiga will charge you about 200/300 ksh for the wood. Fishermen also come around selling all sorts of tasty fresh catch. Lobster (800 to 1400ksh per kilo) Crab (150ksh each) Fish (150ksh per whole White snapper) Calamari (300ksh per kg) if you do t have a cool box then the restaurant will be happy to keep it for you. Now onto the restaurant - I've read some other reviews about how bad the food is and how the service is sooo slow. Well they are kind of right, expect to wait 30/45min for food. Ive taken a picture of the food menu so you can check out prices and see whats on offer. Tasty food & a big enough option. Cold Beer :-) Tusker, Pilsner etc are priced @ 180ksh each (not bad at all) and they have a large selection of other stuff. Bar/ Resturant dose close pretty early. So don't leave it to late if your hungry (8ish for last orders) sooo over all it's a fantastic spot right on the beach, you get a cool sea breeze all day. You can walk along to your right and find some amazing lagoons when it's low tied (20 min walk) sea is great for swimming when at high tied. Overall i loved the place, no wonder people come back year after year.... Enjoy x ohhh p.s a taxi to and from diani should cost around 1500 to 1700ksh return. Incase you fancy a change or watching some sports at forty thieves.

Room Tip: Camp... It's more fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrAyeAyeOptimistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Considering the prices of the rooms and camping its a fantastic place, we have stayed there 3 times now and enjoy every minute of it. It would be better to take your own vehicle as we do n yes the quality of the service and food is not the best but again considering what you pay compared to else where on the coast its satisfactory. fishermen bring fresh fish every day and one can store it in the freezer at the lodge. This is a backpacker budget place n the private beaches with few beach boys bothering you makes it much more comfortable than other beaches. unfortunately we are unable to go this new yr but will def be there next year.
Expectations of this place should not be high otherwise go stay at a hotel, we have met great people everytime we go and we have a blast.
i also think its one of the few places that allows dogs as i have seen this all the time and thats great!!!!!!!

There are other campsites and budget places on diani but generally they not on the beach and the cost is higher.

few improvements needed but again not much considering the price

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shazia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for one night camping in the campsite
It costs $3 so you cant go wrong!!! The camping ground is a little uneven but we pitched a good area. There is running water and plenty of trees to tie a washing line. Best of all you are right on the sea front. Its amazing the views are spectacular
The toilet and shower blocks clearly havent seen some bleach....EVER but hey!!
Every day local sales people arrive with fish, meat fruit or sarongs for sale. They were pretty reasonable
We made a fire on the beach with other people saying here - great night

The lodge itself hasnt changed in 27 years....trust me Ive been coming for this long! However they serve basic and reasonably priced food, its quiet, serene and exactly the reason you come to Tiwi!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariepuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Positives:
-quiet and isolated

Negatives
-nearly no transport options if you do not have a car, you will be immediately emptying your pockets to irrationally high priced taxi drivers at the junction where the main road and the rough road meet. Twiga is too far from the main road for walking.
-service is bad bad bad and again, bad. Staff are clearly overworked and underpaid--starting at 6:00am and running around until they are dog tired at 11pm or later. No meal comes out of the kitchen on time. for breakfast (which they cannot deliver to your table before at least 1.5 hours of waiting and reminders, and there is definite impatience and irritation behind the tired looks they give you).
-food prices: extortionate. 500 ksh for a itty bitty pizza? 400 ksh for mayo covered avocado slices? Give me a break. 100 ksh for a pot of Nescafe? gross.
-no AC in our room made for sweaty nights under the mosquito net
-tide is out from late morning until afternoon--plus when you walk out to the low tide water the ocean floor is covered in sea urchins. must wait until afternoon for tide to return, and then you can kind of float around.

Room Tip: camp and bring your own food, and your own car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.6 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,053 reviews
5.5 mi away
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Nyali Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nightingale Apartments
Nightingale Apartments
#7 of 74 in Mombasa
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tulia House Backpackers
Tulia House Backpackers
#1 of 74 in Mombasa
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Lodge

Address: Tiwi Beach, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Mombasa
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Twiga Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing