We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love it”
Review of Twiga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twiga Lodge
Jinja, Uganda
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just love it”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed on the campsite with my own overland truck for three months and loved the place.
Played cast away on a diet of fish and coco nuts.Swimming and looking for sea shells.
Reading books.Love the place because there is nothing.

Room Tip: Bring your own transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This campsite has the most idyllic setting on a piece of untouched paradise. Complete peace and quiet and such nice friendly locals. It has basic facilities which consist of toilets, showers, bar and restaurant. What more does one need? Just pitch your tent (or VW camper in our case) and relax and enjoy the daily comings and goings of the tide. We cooked on a beach fire near our van and ate fresh fish, tomatoes, mangos and lime salsa, all readily available here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Linzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The best thing about the twiga is the location. Beach is the most beautiful and quiet. Perfect place to relax. Prices of the rooms are too high copared to their quality. Towels were very dirty and in the shower water came really slow. We stayed both budget room and superior room. Buget room was 3000 ksh and the superior (included breakfast) was 5000. The difference between these two room were massive, but we didn´t like the brakfast (very fatty staff), so we changed room. There are lot of bees in the breakfast area. Mosquito nets were full of holes in both rooms. Budget room was quite filthy. We felt that the management were inflexible for example giving up the room. The place was almost empty and we still had to give up our room at 10am and our flight was leaving at night. In the restaurant the food was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mombasa hotels

Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed at Twiga Lodge during an ulitmate frisbee tournament and had a horrible experience. Checking into the lodge we were not expecting the greatest of aminities but were still shocked by the lack of basic necesities. Our room was one of the beach views but definitly not worth the upgrade as the electricity frequently went out during the night and the concrete structure turned into an oven. Most nights we lathered up on bugspray and slept on the beach or the balcony.

The wait staff at the hotel are rude and unable to provide the most basic of services. It took us an hour and a half one morning to get hot water to make our OWN coffee. When we spoke to the manager she was unresponsive and uncaring. She knew the place was a dump and was unwilling to do anything about it.

I definitly recommend staying elsewhere and if you have to stay here due to the tournament then I recommend camping. At least then the breeze will blow through your tent at night!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Portal, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Imagine the view when you pitch your tent right on the beach next to a palm tree. It is kind of windy so be sure to bring a strong tent, or rent one from the lodge. Showers and toilets are basic but ok. For only 300 KSh per person per night you can't expect much more. Talk nicely to the barkeeper and he will keep your beers cold in the fridge. Didn't eat in the restaurant since we had our own chef with us and there was plenty of fish around. Every day local fishermen passed by to sell us their catch. The lodge looks old and needs renovation. Typical swahili-buildings, big white walls, nothing but rectangles. Location makes up for it. Safety seems to be ok, nothing happened and there was light at night on the campsite, and a guard. Watch out at night for big crabs biting your toes on your way to the toilet!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank primatetoursuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Tiwi is one of the most beauiful beaches inthe world and definately Southern Coast Kenya.
Tiwi is 20 minutes off the main road South of Mombassa's Likoni ferry but dont let that put you off

Twiga has been there for over 30 years. The current manager, Margaret for 25 years.
The camp site is basic - I stayed there 6 months before, but at $3 a night you can deal with it
The main bar and restaurant area overlook the beach, gather a gentle breeze, and seem to keep their staff - so they are generally friendly and helpful,albeit a bit slow.
The beach is beautiful white sandy with lovely warm sea. At the right tide go for a walk around the coral coves to the left (take a beach boy for $3) and youll see the coral pools in the shape of Africa and Oz, and go swimming between caves.
The food is fine. Currys, meats etc and all reasonably priced

This time somehow I got convinced by family to stay in the hotel room for 2 nights!!!! It was about $50 per night per room
You get two small doubles and en suite in the superior rooms! Mosquito nets included and fans
Our rooms had sliding doors to the balcony overlooking the sea
the bathroom is grimy and hasnt seen any decent bleach since the 80's. No water pressure so dont try washing your hair!! The towels really are from the 80's and rough...in fact rock hard!!
The beds were clean. Sheets over a wooly blanket which was quite sweaty

It wasnt my greatest night sleep but it was ful of people who regularly return...so they must be doing something right
In future Ill stick to sleeping in Diani and coming here for the day - otherwise me and Tiwi will fall out!!

Room Tip: At least pay the most....otherwise camp!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willowhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Twiga Lodge aka Tiwi Beach camping is a amazing camping spot! Having a car is a must - unless you fancy a 4km walk from the main road. It's Only a short drive from Mombasa (45min to an hour) and a 20min drive down a nice and rugged dirt road - it's very well signed posted, so you won't get lost. The property is located right on the beach, has lodes of trees for shade and to hang your hammock up, you can basicalley drive your car right onto the beach (try not to get stuck) and set up camp. It cost 300ksh per night per person (camping with your own tent) security is very good. Male and female toilet facilities - very basic, but they are clean and showers are good! Also a few sinks to wash dishes, clean food etc.... One small negative is that you do get the beach boys hassling you every now and again, asking if they can get you firewood or anything else you might need. I paid 100ksh for a BIG pile of wood, twiga will charge you about 200/300 ksh for the wood. Fishermen also come around selling all sorts of tasty fresh catch. Lobster (800 to 1400ksh per kilo) Crab (150ksh each) Fish (150ksh per whole White snapper) Calamari (300ksh per kg) if you do t have a cool box then the restaurant will be happy to keep it for you. Now onto the restaurant - I've read some other reviews about how bad the food is and how the service is sooo slow. Well they are kind of right, expect to wait 30/45min for food. Ive taken a picture of the food menu so you can check out prices and see whats on offer. Tasty food & a big enough option. Cold Beer :-) Tusker, Pilsner etc are priced @ 180ksh each (not bad at all) and they have a large selection of other stuff. Bar/ Resturant dose close pretty early. So don't leave it to late if your hungry (8ish for last orders) sooo over all it's a fantastic spot right on the beach, you get a cool sea breeze all day. You can walk along to your right and find some amazing lagoons when it's low tied (20 min walk) sea is great for swimming when at high tied. Overall i loved the place, no wonder people come back year after year.... Enjoy x ohhh p.s a taxi to and from diani should cost around 1500 to 1700ksh return. Incase you fancy a change or watching some sports at forty thieves.

Room Tip: Camp... It's more fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrOptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombasa
23.4 mi away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#2 of 65 in Diani Beach
249 reviews
5.5 mi away
Serena Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Tulia House Backpackers
Tulia House Backpackers
#1 of 67 in Mombasa
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,947 reviews
16.6 mi away
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
Amani Tiwi Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in Ukunda
755 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coastgate Hotel
Coastgate Hotel
#15 of 51 in Mombasa
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twiga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twiga Lodge

Property: Twiga Lodge
Address: Tiwi Beach, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Mombasa
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Twiga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twiga Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing