We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Twiga Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$140
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CityBlue Creekside Hotel & Suites(Mombasa)(Great Value!)
US$51
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$180
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
11
13
5
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
13
5
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspitch your tentcamping experiencebeach boytiwibackpackersafricasecuritypalm
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed on the campsite with my own overland truck for three months and loved the place.
Played cast away on a diet of fish and coco nuts.Swimming and looking for sea shells.
Reading books.Love the place because there is nothing.

Room Tip: Bring your own transport.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This campsite has the most idyllic setting on a piece of untouched paradise. Complete peace and quiet and such nice friendly locals. It has basic facilities which consist of toilets, showers, bar and restaurant. What more does one need? Just pitch your tent (or VW camper in our case) and relax and enjoy the daily comings and goings of the tide. We cooked on a beach fire near our van and ate fresh fish, tomatoes, mangos and lime salsa, all readily available here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank Linzi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The best thing about the twiga is the location. Beach is the most beautiful and quiet. Perfect place to relax. Prices of the rooms are too high copared to their quality. Towels were very dirty and in the shower water came really slow. We stayed both budget room and superior room. Buget room was 3000 ksh and the superior (included breakfast) was 5000. The difference between these two room were massive, but we didn´t like the brakfast (very fatty staff), so we changed room. There are lot of bees in the breakfast area. Mosquito nets were full of holes in both rooms. Budget room was quite filthy. We felt that the management were inflexible for example giving up the room. The place was almost empty and we still had to give up our room at 10am and our flight was leaving at night. In the restaurant the food was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We recently stayed at Twiga Lodge during an ulitmate frisbee tournament and had a horrible experience. Checking into the lodge we were not expecting the greatest of aminities but were still shocked by the lack of basic necesities. Our room was one of the beach views but definitly not worth the upgrade as the electricity frequently went out during the night and the concrete structure turned into an oven. Most nights we lathered up on bugspray and slept on the beach or the balcony.

The wait staff at the hotel are rude and unable to provide the most basic of services. It took us an hour and a half one morning to get hot water to make our OWN coffee. When we spoke to the manager she was unresponsive and uncaring. She knew the place was a dump and was unwilling to do anything about it.

I definitly recommend staying elsewhere and if you have to stay here due to the tournament then I recommend camping. At least then the breeze will blow through your tent at night!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Imagine the view when you pitch your tent right on the beach next to a palm tree. It is kind of windy so be sure to bring a strong tent, or rent one from the lodge. Showers and toilets are basic but ok. For only 300 KSh per person per night you can't expect much more. Talk nicely to the barkeeper and he will keep your beers cold in the fridge. Didn't eat in the restaurant since we had our own chef with us and there was plenty of fish around. Every day local fishermen passed by to sell us their catch. The lodge looks old and needs renovation. Typical swahili-buildings, big white walls, nothing but rectangles. Location makes up for it. Safety seems to be ok, nothing happened and there was light at night on the campsite, and a guard. Watch out at night for big crabs biting your toes on your way to the toilet!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank primatetoursuganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews