We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here a couple of times now and I would say the place is an interesting mix. It is a trsaditional hotel that has been going some time. The rooms are comfortable and the communal areas are fine. The pool area has great views of the ocean and the beach is fantastic (just look out for hawkers who will not leave you alone) The 'entertainment' is interesting, local people with a local flavour. Some bits of the hotel have been refurbished and I would say some still need doing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The Hotel is constantly going through refurbishment to attain the best product. We do look forward to welcoming you back, and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    88
    49
    34
    35
See reviews for
67
57
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

we stayed here for 03 nights in the first week of August, the Hotel in general is nice, with pleasant and courteous staff. The problem is that their rooms are in urgent need of maintenance, we had to shift our room about three times during our stay, until they gave us a refurbished room .
i am aware that all rooms cannot be refurbished or renovated at the same time, but at least do the minimum basics in the old rooms that are in urgent need of work !!
The first room we were given, the bathroom was deplorable and looked unhygienic.
The second room we were shifted to, the Tv and Ac wouldn't work, and we ultimately had to move a third time till we were somewhat satisfied.
i all we still enjoyed our stay here, but i do hope the management does stand up and take notice to the guests comments.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished rooms, or you are asking for trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onasis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We have noted with concern your comments and have addressed the issues raised. We do apologize for any inconveniences caused, and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed five days here . The resort is superb on the beach . You can have good time in the morning on the beach. Swimming pool is good . Wifi is free .recommended to everbody. The restaurant is good and serve excellent vegetarian dishes.

Room Tip: Near to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nyali Beach resort is an old hotel where the management is making efforts with a well done renovation of the common parts (lobby, coffee bar, restaurant, swimming pool, etc) but the standard rooms look like 1980's with very noisy aircon, clean but outdated bathrooms, etc. Nice beach but not much to do there. Very good Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit outdated. May be other type of rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ples72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have appreciated the renovations that we have undertaken, and this renovation is an ongoing activity, ultimately resulting in renovations and refurbishment to all areas that require this. We do however have our Deluxe Rooms, Villas and Suites fully renovated, and you may want to book your next stay with us and experience any of these room types.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I had an excellent five night stay at nyali international. the rooms were pretty decent and the service I must say was quite good, definately have some very good memories... most certainly will come back again soon and this time for much longer than five nights.. thank you nyali international...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, We look forward to welcoming you again.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Quality of room provided was poor. Bathroom had mould in the bath tub, shower wasn't working, linen was worn out, found hair lying on the pillow case from previous guest and a lizard crawling around in the room! Room was highly in need of refurbishment. The reception area, food and outdoor area is quite good.

Room Tip: Enquire about the refurbished rooms prior to booking as some are very run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nizzles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We have noted with concern your comments about the room and the bathroom and have already addressed the issues raised. In the meantime, we apologize for any inconveniences caused.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mombasa hotels

Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

very good organisation. all facilities available. servcie was good and staff polite.food was good and well organised. it was easy for guests for self service due to many stations. the atmosphere was also good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zulfikar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
1.1 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.7 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Creekside Hotel
4.8 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Moyne Drive, Mombasa 80100, Kenya (Formerly Nyali International Beach Hotel)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an architectural marvel and brings colonial past and glory of Kenya. Offering panoramic view of Indian Ocean, the hotel is a gracious landmark of the Mombasa, showcasing graceful arches, tiled roof lush green vast lawns and wood work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing