We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Enjoyable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overall Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for nearly two months while working in Mombasa. I thought long and hard about giving this place 5 stars. It is not perfect and I agree with other reviews about the quality of some of the rooms. I have to say that I had a great time here, hence the 5 stars.

Nyali International Beach Hotel is the oldest hotel in Mombasa - the core buildings were erected in the 1940's with the two additional wings going on in the 60's and 80's. As you can imagine, in a hotel this old, some things are starting to show their age. Avoid the 'garden view' rooms - these are the ones in serious need of renovation. Go for the Palm Wing, these are more expensive, but nicer. Even so, the bathrooms are showing their age. At the weekends you will get a bit of 'noise' from the music from the Aqua bar, but a few tuskers should help you forget this

There are two pools - a 33m pool that is great for serious swimmers who want to do a bucket load of lengths, the second pool is more aimed at the kiddies for having fun.

Harry's Bar is always empty, except on Friday 'Karaoki' night. The is also the Aqua bar, right on the beach

I would advise everyone not to stay here "full board" - you only get to eat in the buffet restaurant and will have to pay a surcharge if you want to try the others in the hotel - there are some good restaurants in the hotel and surrounding area that you should really try out.

The main restaurant is buffet service - I tended not to eat here too much as there is a very good Indian (Sheesh Mahal) and Seafood (Mvita) restaurants in the hotel grounds. The Fountain Lounge is good for lunch and some lighter evening meals if you don't want a biggie. Pizza's are good.They make all their own cakes and pastries which are also good. Sundays in BBQ lunch in the Sails restaurant.

Every Saturday, I went for a Blissful Back Massage - 40 minutes of very good, deep massage for about £13 - when you're used to UK prices like me, this is an absolute steal!

There is a water sports place that you can rent dingys, wind surfers and kite surfers. Yes, they do lessons.

There is a casino in the hotel that is mostly quiet, with poker, black jack, roulette and slots. You will get a very decent exchange rate there - as they will be taking your money on the gaming tables, there is no need to hit you with a commission.

If you are worried about security in Mombasa after recent events in Kenya, put your mind at rest. The hotel has more security staff that it does guests. Apart from the uniformed 'Ascari" that you will see dotted around the hotel, there are also a few Masai warriors guarding the casino and (something you will not see, unless you really look for them) armed patrols in the grounds.

The thing that did it for me was the staff - they really are very friendly, courteous and happy to serve. Being here for so long, I got to know quite a few of them very well and found them to be decent, honest, caring people. You will be hard pushed to find the same level of service in most top end hotels around the world

Room Tip: Do not go for the 'garden view' rooms - they are the ones in worst repair. When you book, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly your positive experience with our service and the staff. We indeed look forward to welcoming you again and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    88
    49
    35
    37
See reviews for
67
57
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This was the second time I was staying at this hotel. My first time was 10 years ago when there was apparently a different owner. I loved the place last time so I decided to stay here again, only to find that although the location and core building location structure is the same, it has a different ownership now and underwent a major renovation. The sad part is that the renovation seems to be for the worse..the previously average sized rooms have actually been made smaller, and they are not in great condition. I had to get my room changed twice because the plaster was peeling off the shower walls in one of my rooms and the other one was given to me in a very dirty state. The service is also very slow, the staff seems to be inexperienced and the food quality was very poor. I was very disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie_Kors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We have indeed noted with great concern your comments and have addressed the issues raised. We apologize for any inconveniences caused and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mombasa hotels

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The rooms are spread in mist of greenery. Next to beautiful white sand beach used exclusively by hotel guest. Food was average. WIFI was good, but signal was loosing at few locations. Must try the Indian restaurant.

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailendra71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are extremely please that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. We assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here a couple of times now and I would say the place is an interesting mix. It is a trsaditional hotel that has been going some time. The rooms are comfortable and the communal areas are fine. The pool area has great views of the ocean and the beach is fantastic (just look out for hawkers who will not leave you alone) The 'entertainment' is interesting, local people with a local flavour. Some bits of the hotel have been refurbished and I would say some still need doing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. The Hotel is constantly going through refurbishment to attain the best product. We do look forward to welcoming you back, and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calangute, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

we stayed here for 03 nights in the first week of August, the Hotel in general is nice, with pleasant and courteous staff. The problem is that their rooms are in urgent need of maintenance, we had to shift our room about three times during our stay, until they gave us a refurbished room .
i am aware that all rooms cannot be refurbished or renovated at the same time, but at least do the minimum basics in the old rooms that are in urgent need of work !!
The first room we were given, the bathroom was deplorable and looked unhygienic.
The second room we were shifted to, the Tv and Ac wouldn't work, and we ultimately had to move a third time till we were somewhat satisfied.
i all we still enjoyed our stay here, but i do hope the management does stand up and take notice to the guests comments.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished rooms, or you are asking for trouble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onasis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We have noted with concern your comments and have addressed the issues raised. We do apologize for any inconveniences caused, and assure you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed five days here . The resort is superb on the beach . You can have good time in the morning on the beach. Swimming pool is good . Wifi is free .recommended to everbody. The restaurant is good and serve excellent vegetarian dishes.

Room Tip: Near to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinayS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Nyali Beach resort is an old hotel where the management is making efforts with a well done renovation of the common parts (lobby, coffee bar, restaurant, swimming pool, etc) but the standard rooms look like 1980's with very noisy aircon, clean but outdated bathrooms, etc. Nice beach but not much to do there. Very good Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit outdated. May be other type of rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ples72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab R, Chief Operating Officer at Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have appreciated the renovations that we have undertaken, and this renovation is an ongoing activity, ultimately resulting in renovations and refurbishment to all areas that require this. We do however have our Deluxe Rooms, Villas and Suites fully renovated, and you may want to book your next stay with us and experience any of these room types.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
4.8 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
210 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
395 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 58 in Mombasa
973 reviews
1.7 mi away
EnglishPoint Hotel
EnglishPoint Hotel
#17 of 58 in Mombasa
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Moyne Drive, Mombasa 80100, Kenya (Formerly Nyali International Beach Hotel)
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is an architectural marvel and brings colonial past and glory of Kenya. Offering panoramic view of Indian Ocean, the hotel is a gracious landmark of the Mombasa, showcasing graceful arches, tiled roof lush green vast lawns and wood work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing