We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One week was not enough”
other traveller has booked this property
More veging out
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
More veging out
Pathway to beach from Top house.  Rondavel on left and Beach house to right Beach Cottage with extension to right for extra bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
More veging out
Pathway to beach from Top house.  Rondavel on left and Beach house to right
Beach Cottage with extension to right for extra bedroom
Beach house from Rondavel, before new thatch roof
Verandah of Beach house
Sitting room in Beach house
View from kitchen to dining area in beach house
The bar rondavel on the inner beach
Looking out from bar to the sea
New makuti structure at end of inner beach for veging out on Lamu bed
Veging in
New tennis court and pavilion nestles into tropical gardens within the 4 acre beach shamba
Pool looking from Clamkara House towards tropical gardens,  Beach house and Indian Ocean
New very private covered patio off back off corridor through new large wooden doors by the sea
Fish brought in to our inner beach, daily when anyone is staying
New master bedroom
Bathroom in new bedroom
Double bedroom, showing en suite to left, with basin in the room
Dinner for 120, laid out for wedding between bar and sea
My daughters wedding on the beach in front of Beach house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Mombasa, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Companion...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One week was not enough”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect for little ones - lovely intimate flat shady beach. Very helpful staff who cooked us delicious meals and found us fresh fish and seafood. The wonderful owner was also on hand to help with any queries. We loved the freeform pool and wish we had stayed longer to enjoy the tennis court.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2018
Thank you very much for your Review. We too wish you had stayed longer as I know from my own grandchildren how our little beach is perfect and Safe For the little ones. See you again sometime I hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LightPack...
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage is right on the beach and is absolutely charming. The staff is friendly and the on site cook does a great job preparing meals. You have to bring your food in and we had forgotten a few things but she went out to get them for us.
The grounds are stunning and we were even able to feed bananas to monkeys in the trees. I would definitely recommend it for families, small groups or even couples.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Thank you very much for your Review Kelly. Do encourage your friends to come to our little bit of paradise on the beach. Thanks and see you again soon. You know we also have our home Lahai above Lake Naivasha, which is great for a weekend getaway from Nairobi. It is also with Trip Advisor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterdavi...
Nairobi Region, Kenya
1 review
“Perfect beach retreat”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a fantastic time staying at the Ritchies house in Vipingo - this lovely beach house must be the closest house on the coast to the beach, just a step from you door! The beach is probably one of the quietest in the whole country - if you want piece, no hassle, and a virtually private beach, this is the place. The bedrooms, including the new master suite were amazing. To top it all of the staff where amazing and looked after us amazingly - we where perfectly looked after four the four nights.

Highly recommenced this, a lovely house, thanks again Andrew for having us!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomWalsh
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach house on secluded beach”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Clamkara is simply a beautiful 3 bed beach house in Vipingo, about an hour north of Mombasa. Andrew Ritchie, the owner is incredibly accommodating and very helpful. The beach is right in front of the property and might as well be private as no-one is ever around.
Pendo, your resident chef makes INCREDIBLE local seafood dishes (make sure you order in advance as can take a day to get the ingredients, lobster etc). There's also a local masseuse who does the best massages ever as you look out on the Indian Ocean.

We will definitely be back - thanks so much Andrew

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing