We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Monalisa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Monalisa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 50 Mombasa B&B and Inns
Nairobi
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Keep up the great service. The hotel environment was so beautiful and serene, warm an loving reception, the meals were wonderfully prepared and brought within the specified time. the rooms are spacious and clean, nice balcony my daughter loved it. roof top swimming pool is a great idea for the hotel, so beautiful. I suggest that there should be a provision for n extra coffee table for people with families who would like room service. We will definitely visit again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moses B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonalisaMtwapa, Guest Relations Manager at The Monalisa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thanks for the review! We are glad that your family enjoyed their holiday. We will put in place a big coffee table for families as per your suggestion. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
6
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

The room was quite enchanting, the comfort was so exquisite, I slept so soundly thinking I was at home, almost missing out on the breakfast. I will most certainly revisit, this place is quite the unforgettable. Keep it up. Oh and by the way , room service ... you guys know your stuff a little too well. Very prompt, very swift, I think too efficient. Am one satisfied customer,

Room Tip: Rooms on the Second Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prodeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonalisaMtwapa, Guest Relations Manager at The Monalisa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We are very glad you happily overslept, our flexible check-out hours are designed to ensure your maximum comfort. Please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a new hotel situated in mtwapa, with all facilities still new and in good condition, the rooms are very nice, each room is fitted with an AC, flat screen and WIFI, though the connection was not good.
the breakfast was great, though not with a lot of varieties, they also have a fully stocked bar with all beers and spirits.
the hotel is also very near the main road, so there is no hussle in getting public transport....its also near the night clubs, kasaurina, bannhoff and kendass,

its just a five minutes drive to haller park,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonalisaMtwapa, Guest Relations Manager at The Monalisa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This was the best hotel i have ever been in kenya. Food was great. The room was clean. The only thing which was bad the showers had shock. Also on my last day in kenya i had a bad experience with them i ordered food to my room two of the plates fell off because they were stuck on the same tray it was an accident so i had to pay ksh 1390 and also payed ksh 500 extra for plates and food to me was unfair.There wasnt internet. But other services were great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank enock g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonalisaMtwapa, Guest Relations Manager at The Monalisa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thanks for your feedback, it is very much appreciated and will go towards making improvements at Monalisa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was longing for a break from the hectic schedule I had at work and Easter was right around the corner.I wanted a place with a beach, somewhere I could really relax and get back to work renewed.I heard about Monalisa Hotel in Mtwapa, Mombasa from a friend and my friends and I decided to try it out.
The hotel is hidden from the busy road and provides a serene atmosphere, perfect for those like me who need to get away. It is only a 10 minute drive from the beach which is great.
I loved the food in Monalisa Hotel, they make the best pancakes!
I always like a clean hotel, so I appreciated the care taken into hygiene.
I enjoyed my holiday there and I recommend others to go there as well.

Joanah M

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JoanahM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonalisaMtwapa, Owner at The Monalisa Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I had an excellent time at Monalisa Hotel, Mtwapa. The hotel was clean, well taken care of, close to public transport and the rate affordable.

I had breakfast by the penthouse pool, the chef was kind enough to accomodate my requests and the service as top of the range. I would definitely stay at Monalisa Hotel next time i am in Mombasa

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LeahNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonalisaMtwapa, Guest Relations Manager at The Monalisa Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks! We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Mtwapa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I had all the things anyone could possibly want from a holiday at Monalisa Hotel.
It was fantastic,and a whole list of other adjectives.

The staff is great and they listen to you and attend to your needs, they have a personal touch and you immediately feel like family. The rooms are spacious, aired with a choice of AC or Fan for cooling, so they are top notch comfortable. THe bathrooms are clean and with hot showers.
The meals are sumptuous, and the chef will take up any special requests you might have.

And my absolute best part, the pool at the rooftop. its amazing, complete with a bar and an entertainment area. you may request for music and the staff is ready and willing to provide you with that.

Mona Lisa is also accessible if you are using public means, its a well known hotel and one can walk to the road or take a cheap ksh 50 ride to the hotel. The hotel also does pick ups and drops for those customers who wish. They also have great references in case you want to take tours around the area or in Mombasa.

All in all, my stay at Monalisa was wonderful, and it is my hotel of choice in Mtwapa. I cannot wait to be back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KendiMiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonalisaMtwapa, Guest Relations Manager at The Monalisa Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thanks, we really appreciate your stay with us and look forward to hosting you when you are back in Mombasa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mombasa
2.7 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
163 reviews
2.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beaumont Resort
Beaumont Resort
#3 of 3 in Mtwapa
4 reviews
6.2 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
2,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monalisa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monalisa Hotel

Property: The Monalisa Hotel
Address: La Marina Road | Mtwapa, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monalisa is a beautifully serene hotel with a posh contemporary character. Strategically located in Mtwapa, minutes away from the Mombasa city centre and in close proximity to leisure, beach areas and shopping locations, our intimate establishment is guaranteed to be your home away from home.The name Monalisa reminiscent of the portrait by the Italian artist Leonardo da Vinci, offers pleasing aesthetics and a one of a kind experience in bustling Mtwapa. The hotel comprises: •Single, deluxe and twin-bed ensuite guest rooms•Restaurant •Roof-top swimming pool and bar •Conference room•Spa & barbershop•Duplex Penthouse apartment Suited for the business and leisure traveler, our friendly hosts ensure your stay is as pleasant and unforgettable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Jovago.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your The Monalisa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing