We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Bamburi Beach Hotel, and we were not disappointed! Right from the moment of booking up to check-out, our experience was very good. The hotel is situated on the beach - I particularly like the 'boardwalk' facing the sea. It is not a 'sprawling' hotel, which makes it quite cosy and the swimming pool, dining area, etc., are very accessible. One thing which really stands out at this hotel is the attitude of the staff: everyone is very friendly and helpful - and cheerful! Our room had a lovely sea view and ideal for our stay. Evening entertainment is good and attempts to get guests to participate. The choice of food is excellent. I would certainly recommend Bamburi Beach Hotel - and also look forward to staying here often in the future. Well done, everyone at Bamburi Beach Hotel!

Room Tip: The top floor doesn't give a very good sea view, so I'd recommend asking for a room on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is one the best in Mombasa with all the facilities one would require in a holiday. The swimming pool is very well maintained and you get music of your choice while swimming. The food quality is excellent and is served by the staff who are always smiling. We were two families who spent 3 nights Friday, Saturday and Sunday of last week. The rooms are very clean fitted with Air conditioners and TV has all the channels we usually watch at our home. The kids really had a nice time in the pool and the beach. The kitchen near to your room with all facilities allows you to cook with comfort

Room Tip: Book Well in advance during the peak season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having holidayed in Kenya as a volunteer for six years now and stayed in a number of hotels along Bamburi Beach, this was our second time at this hotel and in comparison found it ticked all the right boxes. Central location to many interesting attractions, friendly staff who were more than willing to assist to make our holiday an enjoyable time, excellent choice of food and extremely tasty. One had the choice to have meals either in the dining area or at the pool restaurant which we often did. Room was ideal for our stay, clean and came with a wonderful sea view.

A perfect hotel for friends, couples or families with entertainment every evening and organised trips and activities during the day.

This picture is of the Bamburi Hotel "Band of Brothers" beach boys who you will easily recognise by their Rasta Hats! I bought these for my son who never wore them so I gave them to sell to earn money but have kept them on! A friendly bunch trying to earn a living and I had some delightful chats with them and they would teach me Swahili. Please support them and say Morag says 'hi'.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morag M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

U'll do a good choice if you'll decide to hoste izn this hotel! nice people , nice crew!Nice pool, gym and good meals!The rooms have air condition and are bigger than U expect!Internet conection is free, finally!

Thank grigoreanka
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Just read the previous review 'Stay Elsewhere' and it's a real shame that the person writing it didn't have the experience we did.. Our room was basic but clean with excellent aircon and no mossie net AND no bites but there was a facility for a net if you wanted one and asked for it..

We couldn't fault the food and out of a party of 8 there were no upset tummies in 2 weeks..

Couldn't fault the staff either who always went the extra mile and we tipped at the end of the holiday so it had nothing to do with tipping.. we bought a bottle of water from reception and asked for the water to be put in our fridge in the room, this unlocked the fridge for 2 weeks with no further charge for the fridge.. we got cold water in the glass anytime we wanted it, from the bars or ordered from the waiters..

As for internet, it is free next door in Yul's were you can order the best pizza and ice cream ever if you want.. ate here twice and it was more than excellent..

About it really, we loved it but had we had problems, I am sure they would have been addressed by reception or one of the managers..

As for noise, I have never stayed in a hotel anywhere that hasn't had music and laughter and people enjoying themselves before 11 pm. We would return tomorrow if we had the funds or time off work..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Staff never stop smiling and are so friendly,Have always enjoyed my stays at the hotel , we had a wonderful room looking over the ocean, day we went on the glass bottom boat and went snorkeling - our guide here was great and pointed out all sorts of fish including lion fish, trumpet fish and sting rays, it was truly amazing!
Wonderful to just relax and to re-charge tired bodies & souls
Many thanks for the new manager Hassan, he is there all day and night, even Sundays, always smile very helpful, and very friendly we will come back because of Hassan

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I would not recommend staying here. Do not be fooled by the fancy lobby pictures on the website. Things that made our stay unpleasant: grimy old tiny rooms, old linens that are not fresh (at least 10 years +), saltwater from the faucets and showers (you'll feel salty the whole time), clogged shower drain, mosquitos and no mosquito net, you will be nickeled and dimed: internet 350 shillings an hour for each computer (even though it is wi-fi) and is very slow, they charge you for fresh water out of the bubbler (not bottled), they charge you to use the safe in the room each day, the fridge in the room is an extra charge to use each day and every night there is very loud thumping music until after 11 pm. Oh and if you think it is a good deal because they include meals based on your rate: the food is terrible.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and stay at a nicer hotel, or go to Diani beach and stay at a nicer resort there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank casey u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamburi Beach H... M, General Manager at Bamburi Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

I write to thank you for finding time to contribute in the trip advisor and above all, for being our guest during your recent holiday.

I note that somehow you were not happy with a number of issues within the Hotel. May I offer my apologies on behalf of this hotel. Your comments are taken positively and with a lot of interest. They will indeed help us to improve our services beyond expectation.

Nevertherless, you may also appreciate that every hotel will have a few things that are done differently. I also believe that you can easily access the information on what we offer.

The entire Management was available during your stay and I am sure we could have been useful to you in sorting out a few issues that you have raised.

In the meantime please, be rest assured that you continue to be our valued guest and I request you to pay us another visit if a chance arises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburi Beach Hotel

Address: Malindi Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: £84 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamburi Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel welcomes guests with a distinctly African vibe and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean! The spacious and comfortable vibrant deluxe rooms have a TV, Coffee and Tea making facilities, safe (chargeable) and mini fridge to ensure you can relax and enjoy, in air conditioned comfort with quiet, split unit air conditioners or on the terrace with a spectacular view and a cool Indian Ocean breeze. The ocean deck edges onto the ocean and offers a relaxing atmosphere during the day enjoying a sunbath with a terrific view of the ocean! Whether you come to the Bamburi Beach Hotel to relax or to use it as a starting point for your game drives, we do everything we can to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bamburi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Kenya
Bamburi Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing