We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cowrie Shell Beach Apartments(Mombasa)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Severin Sea Lodge(Bamburi)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,030)
Filter reviews
1,030 results
Traveller rating
371
350
178
79
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
350
178
79
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamburi beachkaribu grillbeach boyshaller parkanimation teamgreat holidaytwo weekscrocodile farmwater polosnack barevening entertainmentrooms are basicsoupsbeach sellersweek staymasai marathe general manager
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 1,030 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

we have just returned from bamburi beach hotel after a 2 week fantastic holiday, there is a new food and beverage manager, and the food and drink has vastly improved for the better, the reception staff, animators,waiters and barmen were superb and so helpful as i am disabled, thankyou to all involved.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at Bamburi Beach hotel in July 2013 for 11 days. All in all we loved our stay. Even though the hotel is rated ***, many of its facilities and aspects would deserve ****. Rooms are quite basic, but very clean and cleaned every day. You can get a mosquito net upon request (even though on coast the danger of malaria is rather low). The pool area is amazing, just like the restaurant. We had all inclusive plan and the meals were great - the choice was very rich, there was something for everybody. Waiters and all the staff were extremely polite and helpfull. The hotel is located right on the beach, which is great. The beach is beautiful, even though we didn't enjoy it as much as we wanted to. First of all, you can't lie on the beach, you have to lie on the sun terrace of the hotel or by the pool. The beach is full of sellers - "beach boys" - and their stalls and "offices". This was a real disadvantage as we don't like to lie by the pool and definitely prefer beach. Also, make sure to check what time is low tide and high tide during the period for which you plan your trip. The low tide in Bamburi is really very low - the water disappears more than a kilometr away and it is impossible to swim in the ocean during low tide as it is really far away and you can get to it only through tons of sea grass, which is quite unpleasant, so we gave it up after a few trials. When we were in Bamburi (beginning of July), the ocean started to disappear around 11 am and it didn't come back until 4 pm, so all in all we didn't enjoy the ocean too much, because for the majority of the day it was gone, which we really regretted. Also, as there is winter in June in Kenya, it was dark quite early (around 7 pm) and about around 5 pm it was time to leave the pool as the wind was starting to blow and it was getting quite cold.

Even though we were very disappointed by the impossibility to properly enjoy the ocean, we really loved our stay in Kenya, there is so much to do and so much to explore. If you come to Kenya, please make sure you leave the hotel and you see the real Kenya! We were really shocked that the majority of other guests was basically just staying around the pool, not leaving the hotel, even not going for a walk along the beach! Yes, you need to be cautious as the safety situation in Kenya is not perfect, on the other hand it should not prevent you from seeing something more than just the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had an enjoyable stay at Bamburi Beach Hotel. The staff especially is very friendly; everybody was so warm and friendly. Everybody seemed to know what to do in a beautiful synchronized manner. And I would like to mention especially Hassan the manager, he is very helpful and always there for your requests,. The food was excellent. We tried both the restaurants - fisherman cave and Karibu - for lunch and they were great. The rooms are very well appointed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: the staff was great.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed at the Bamburi beach at the end of June. The hotel is a bit tired looking but the hotel staff more than made up for it. Merci was so bubbly and full of fun All the staff were great they made time to come and talk to you from the manager to the waiters. Food was good especially if you were vegetarian. I didn't feel comfortable going on to the beach because of the beach boys, I know they are only trying to make a living The animation team were a lovely bunch of young people, and done their best to get everyone to join in the activities

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarybP2274CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Good spot right on the beach. Rooms are small and outdated, as are the beds and bathroom. Wifi €3,50 per hour(!) in main area only. Service is friendly. Overall too pricy for the quality of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krijn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews