We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Little Oasis”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here at the end of our organised safari for 7 nights and were pleasantly surprised. Please do not be put off by the varying reviews. The rooms are basic but clean and the staff cannot do enough for you from the moment you arrive. There are very few English guests staying at this hotel but this did not bother us at all. The pool is lovely and has the added bonus of a pool bar. Yes, some of the locals can be a nuisance at the beach but a polite 'no thank you' goes a very long way. Would definitely recommend for anyone considering a safari and beach break in Kenya.

Room Tip: As for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjors2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    333
    159
    76
    49
See reviews for
261
387
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This has been my fourth visit to the Bamburi Beach Hotel - obviously, I like it enough to return!

Since my first visit, there have been many positive changes in the hotel, particularly in the dining room. The food, as always, is varied and very good. We took the All-inclusive package, which did not disappoint. The vegetable and fruit carving in the dining room this time lent an interesting touch as well.

Right from the time we checked in to the time we checked out, all the staff at Bamburi Beach Hotel has been fantastic. Mary handled our booking efficiently and quickly, which we are very grateful for. Hassan, the General Manager, always makes it a point to stop and chat with guests, which lends a very personal touch and which is appreciated. One of our 'special' experiences this time was that we asked if the dining room would be serving a Swahili specialty called 'Mahamri'. Mercy, from the dining room, told us that these were made only on Sundays. However, she spoke to the kitchen, and lo and behold - mahamri was served at tea time the next day, which was a week day! I don't know any hotel that does this! Thank you to Mercy and the staff in the kitchen! There is a 'family' atmosphere at this Hotel which makes it special. The rooms are clean and well tended to, although the taps in the shower cubicles could do with some attention! My only concern, and this is not the hotel's fault, is the vendors on the beach front who constantly ply people with their goods. It is, after all, a public beach, but the authorities, together with, perhaps, hotels that line the beach, need to address this matter so that vendors can sell their goods and visitors can have an altogether memorable stay at the Coast. Thank you, again, Hassan, and all the staff at Bamburi Beach Hotel - we'll certainly come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Over the past years we've stayed in many hotels but this was the worst ever!
to much noise from the bar next door! windows are trembling and you feel like you are in a discotheque. no real solution are offered and communication is no where to be found!The general manager (Hassan) lies to you when you make complains. According to the staff, the noise from next door used to be there everyday but according to the general managment, it's the first time he heard about this. We were offered another room to the other side of the building at midnight.Nobody helped us with our luggage and as a result my laptop got crushed during this moving event. Rooms are outdated! and during our stay we had ants in the room for 5 days and we wern't eating or drinking in our room! The normal staff ( under payed Africans, that have to work a 12 hour shift, don't get anything to eat or something to drink for a whole day, but they are doing there best to give you a good experience, but they can't do anything to change management. They are only after winning a lot of money without any improvements for the guest or the health of their staff! WiFi will cost you 2€ for half an hour and is not available in the room. The only good thing I can say is that the food is nice and they do try to give an vegetarian option witch is nice but common in Kenya!.Breakfast is awefull. Stay away if you can!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the other side from the noisy location next door or you won't sleep be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lobbielicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamburi Beach H... M, General Manager at Bamburi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear sir,
I have seen and read through your comment on your recent stay in this hotel in the trip adviser and the following is my my response and comments.

First and foremost I wish to convey my sincere apology that you somehow did not enjoy your holiday with us.
Further , you are very right to say that the disco music from the neighborling restaurant
is excessively loud. The owner is allowed to operate an open disco on Saturdays only and indeed
the music totally disturbs our guests occupying rooms near that disco place. We are in serious
discussion with the owner and I believe we shall resolve the matter very soon. Once again my sincere apologies that there was nobody from our staff who came to assist you to carry the luggage during the transfer
.
If any of our staff told you that he works for 12 hours and without food, then he/she told you a lie. Labor laws in this country requires that staff work for 8 hours and within the hotel industry
staff are provided with food in their staff canteen.

You may appreciate that every hotel do some few things different from the others. WIFI in our hotel is not part of the All Inclusive package. I believe you had information from your tour agent
and you were under no obligation to use it. However, we are seriously looking into this among other areas, and hopefully we shall in the near future offer it within the AI package
.
May I say that I am happy to note that you enjoyed our food, the hearty welcome and the hospitality of our staff.

In conclusion,may I once more thank you fore your comments and assure you that we shall en devour to to improve our services to make this hotel a better place for our esteemed
guests.

Can I kindly request you to try us again if a chance arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

we stayed at bamburi beach hotel in january for 14 nights, we have been there many times, it gets better and better, the all inclusive food and drink is fantastic, the staff ,waiters, barpeople, reception and managers will do any thing you ask for, unfortuneately firstchoice/thomson have stopped using the hotel thru greed,thomson has got to big for their boots, you can still book wit the hotel direct or thru somak,cosmos, and a few other travel company as we still need to support the hotel as many people love the hotel and want to return, and we shall return also in the near future as the location is so convienient for everywhere.

Room Tip: anyroom , you only sleep and shower in there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olivia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Being the second time visit ,still it was amazing with the outstanding experience being treated as kings n queens by all the staffs.3 days visit was just but great time being there .Thanks to Juliana n lucky representing hotel in the reception in professional way with the friendly and pleasant smile. Mr Hassan team lead by Mercy,mary ,Phyllis, "florence & mary" (thanks ladies for great service along the pool) nahara best lady in the amazing seafood restaurant for your recommendation, not forgetting best barmen along the poolbar Tom & the short barman its was great .David thank you and keep up your good housekeeping job for sure u made the room looks fresh each n every time u clean it. Thank you all. Animation team keep up the great job, schedule and activities.To management improve on salty water in the room it spoils the experience when having a shower with tiny soap kindly improve Gabriel k.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The property is old but has beautiful campus and a view. The rooms are basic and dates back to 80s with latches and lights. The bathrooms have salt water supply and taking bath is a pain. The management serves the whites and gives a feeling that the hotel is for them only and the others are just tolerated. Could not believe that we had to pay for half an hour of internet access. The black staff are rude to browns but very polite to whites. Sorry for the racist comment but I felt victimised. My companion was asked to go and change his lowers for dinner and even when he did it was pointed out to be not the correct one. Disgusting!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aliviabiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We went here for my 50th birthday. It was an amazing time, by we I mean my wife my son and daughter and myself. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We booked a safari at the hotel which was truly breath taking. My son and I also did several scuba diving trips, these were amongst the best dives we have ever done and the variety of wildlife was spectacular.

Room Tip: Chose a garden room close to the pool, perimeter room balconies are often visited by monkeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.4 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#16 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.4 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamburi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamburi Beach Hotel

Property: Bamburi Beach Hotel
Address: Malindi Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel welcomes guests with a distinctly African vibe and a fantastic view of the Indian Ocean! The spacious and comfortable vibrant deluxe rooms have a TV, Coffee and Tea making facilities, safe (chargeable) and mini fridge to ensure you can relax and enjoy, in air conditioned comfort with quiet, split unit air conditioners or on the terrace with a spectacular view and a cool Indian Ocean breeze. The ocean deck edges onto the ocean and offers a relaxing atmosphere during the day enjoying a sunbath with a terrific view of the ocean! Whether you come to the Bamburi Beach Hotel to relax or to use it as a starting point for your game drives, we do everything we can to ensure your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamburi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamburi Beach Hotel Kenya
Bamburi Beach Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing