We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite Ship Shape !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Have visited this hotel before and have never found fault but unfortunately if they are not careful this ship could sink without trace ! There were a lot of repeat guests there during our stay and we were all of the same opinion - that special something that the Voyager had was somehow missing. Loyalty works two ways and while the guests are loyal to the hotel it was not reciprocated. The little touches that made Voyager so special were missing.
The Animation Team used to be the life and soul of the hotel and the long standing members of the team (namely Kelvin and Bahati ) remain that way. Unfortunately the newer members are conspicuous by their absence and while their dancing in the evening entertainment is fantastic, during the day they are nowhere to be found. Guests were not advised of the daytime activities and it appeared that this was what was wanted as it meant they could "chill out " without having to entertain the guests.
There are some fantastic staff at the Voyager, covering all departments, who go out of their way to ensure that guests are happy and a huge Thank You to all of you.
The food, as usual, was excellent. The Restaurant staff are superb as are the Pool Attendants.
Hopefully our next visit will see the Voyager sailing on tranquil waters having survived this patch of choppy seas and does not become another Titanic.
Reviews by other guests are responded to with the statement "We have dropped the ball " . Unfortunately the ball does not appear to have been picked up yet and is still bouncing around !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to thank you for your loyalty and having chosen voyager as your holiday destination for many years in the past and i want to assure you that we do not take this for granted.

We are what we are because of your continued support and feeling connected with our friendly staff. We have taken note of your concern on the new colleagues in animation who does not interact much as the old ones and we recognize this as an areas that we need to improve on. My colleagues, Bahati and Kelvin are one of the most experienced animation team members that we have and their experience are unrivaled but we will strive to bring the other colleagues to their level.

We have began a process of looking at a more sustainable loyalty program and this will be shared to the market once we reach the implementation stage.

I want to assure you that the ship is in good shape and you will find a better and more enhanced products and services in your next visit.

We thank you for keeping it Voyager and looking forward to hosting you.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 3,075 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel is in a lovely location right on the beach, which has a corral reef out to sea which makes the water warm and calm. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are well presented and cleaned every day. The food was average in the main dining area, but exceptional in the seafood restaurant. There are many activities in the hotel, The excursions are well organised and the safari to Tsavo East was amazing, lots of animals. There is a electric bus that takes you from the hotel to the local mall and Haller park is not far and well worth a look, You can feed Giraffe and see animals in a lovely well looked after park.
This is a lovely hotel and we will be going back.

Room Tip: There are many rooms with a sea view. If you have no children ask for a room looking out onto the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for choosing Voyager Beach Resort as your preferred hotel resort during your recent stay.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday and took time to explore what the destination has to offer by visiting some of the fantastic sites that are easily accessible if you are staying at Voyager.

We have taken note of culinary experience you had in our signature sea food restaurant the Smuggler's Cove without ignoring that you found our buffet offering average. We do continuously review our themes offerings and I am confident with the program of reloading our themes that we are currently undertaking, a better dining experience awaits you in your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I had a splendid time yet again. The food is always great and the kids loved playing in the pool everyday all day. What i always like about this hotel is that the staff are so friendly, you feel like you have known each other a long time..

Room Tip: Take a sea view on the far end from the reception. I guarantee you waking up to the sound of the wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WacuMureithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support and sharing your excellent review in this forum in regard to your stay at Voyager Beach resorts.

My colleagues who are always friendly and professional are humbled to know that they were part of your fantastic holiday experience.

We look forward to your next visit and always grateful for your continued support.

Kind regards,

Kind regards,
Yusuf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nice clean hotel lovely staff they came to our room with a birthday cake for my husband the first day we arrived . After being on a safari for 7 days the peace and quiet of the infinity pool was just what we needed .The food in the main restaurant was ok breakfast for us being the best we used the smugglers seafood restaurant twice it was lovely and George David and the chef Oscar were fantastic hosts thanks guys you made our hoilday .Its a big hotel with plenty of steps staff all very friendly the on site shop sells lovely things at good prices .

Room Tip: We had a sea view room which are on the small side the rooms up a level looked bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelfordshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest.

On behalf of the crew and the officers at Voyager Beach resorts, I would like to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred resort during your recent visit, and most importantly creating time to share these fantastic experience in this forum.

We are honored to read your positive reviews in regard to your experience in the good ship.

At Voyager beach resorts our products and services is packaged to meet different needs of our esteemed guests and we are glad you got value on our offerings.

We look forward to have another fantastic moments in your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We went to Voyager with a gang of people in ages from 3 to 50 years old. There were two boys under five and two teenagers and we found out that there are plenty of things to do, for all ages.
The teenagers did a lot of sports, the small children enjoyed the pools and the waterslides and also the playroom. We, the adults, did sailing, sports and relaxed in the three poolareas they´ve got at Voyager.
There are very much food to choose from if you are an all inclusive guest. The food is ok but a bit boring, it taste good but a Swahili night with 50 % pasta dishes is not swahili for me.
The Animation team are really friendly and they are doing a great job.
We will go back to Voyager again so… we like the place! Its not far from the airport, just 20 min with taxi which is an extra plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to thank you for your feedback in regard to your stay at Voyager Beach Resort.

We are humble by your positive review of the services and the facilities we have at the resorts.
We have also taken note of your positive criticism of the our themed food offerings. We have began the processes or reloading and refreshing our themes to make it as authentic as it should be. I am confident that you will get even a much better culinary experience in your return to the resort.

We thank you for your continued support and having spared some time to share your fantastic experience in this forum.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was my second December holiday visit with two young children. The kids love the place and the kids club has fun activities though not all the minders are pleasant to the kids and you have to monitor your kids especially the younger ones. Animation on the nights was good. Food is average and their desserts are disappointing. Hotel staff look very harassed. Pools are excellent especially the baby pool for kids. The hotel needs to renovate its rooms. All in all a nice holiday. Avoid the beach henna tattoo, my skin is still recovering from an allergic reaction.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wakesho254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your continued support and having chosen Voyager Beach Resort during your December holiday.

We have appreciated your positive feedback and taken note of very important feedback on areas that certainly requires improvement and we want to assure you that the issues raised will be addressed and some of them have been addressed. We are confident that you will have a much better experience in your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We had an amazing time at the Voyager Beach resort. We stayed there for a week after a 5 day safari, and really did chill out. The resort is beautifully maintained, the rooms are very clean and well equipped. The restaurants are great, serving fantastic food (go and see George in Smugglers Restaurant!) The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful, and remember your name with no problem. The beach boys can be a bit of a pain, but a firm "no thank you" usually works and they leave you alone. Try the infinity pool for a properly relaxing time, very quiet, and a beautiful setting.
Tip - make friends with the pool attendant at your chosen pool and he will reserve your sun bed for you. They do not like guests to reserve their own beds (and rightly so!) but the once the pool attendant knows you he will put your towel on your chosen bed when the pool opens in the morning. (especially Kennedy at the sport pool and Albert at the infinity pool!)

Room Tip: pay a little extra for the sea view cabin - it is well worth it for the view every morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest.

Many thanks for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel and creating time to share your most memorable experience you had.

We are humble to know that you enjoyed the Kenyan hospitality at its best with the most friendly staff you can get. It is a source of pride.

We were honored to have you and we are glad that your experience was excellent and we are sincerely looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 60 in Mombasa
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 60 in Mombasa
233 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: £105 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing