We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Kenya's best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of Kenya's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now. It gets better and better. Their best deal is the all inclusive which allows you to eat throughout the day. If you don't like Keg though, then it does not work out cause that is what they give on all inclusive. Otherwise the rooms are lovely, the ambience is nice and the hotel employees are very helpful. Thanks Voyager.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Wahogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasike_Wasike, Group Operations Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Martin,
Thank you for being a big supporter of Voyager, we do not take this for granted at all. Thank you for giving us a big thumbs up. This wonderful review will be posted on the "Wall of Shame" so the Crew can see how much they are appreciated.
Your comment on the Keg is noted and this is now escalated to my screen. I hope to have some new products within the All inclusive pack soon.
We thank you for being our ambassador.
Kind regards,
The voyager Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,676
    823
    238
    85
    50
See reviews for
783
1,366
78
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayd in an ocean view room with very nice view over pool area and ocean. Room also had a nice balcony. Room wss very nice and comfertable. The beach was not so nice; alwsys lots of seaweed and the water to dirty to swin in.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. We have taken note of the sea weed and from time to time this is cleared back to the sea.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

y family and I (2 adults & 1 year baby) had a very enjoyable,relaxing and memorable time. The staff are friendly, welcoming, professional and efficient.

Families travelling with young ones need not to worry about baby/child meals/milk etc. they provide a good size baby cot, baby bath basin, special food for babies, milk, wash and sterilize baby bottles etc all upon request. Staff are quite friendly to children and they have a great kids club. Though we didn't get to use the kids club we heard good things about it.

It's a great place for couples too. You can enjoy times together be it at the spa, the lounger, the bar - favorite bar the one overlooking the sea or just sit relax at your room's balcony.

They also an in house clinic which is really comforting. Thank you Nurse Nereah for your help/advise when our baby was unwell on our last day.

Thank you to all staff for ensuring we had a hassle free holiday. Special thanks to Phillip the Restaurant Manager, Edwin the Restaurant Supervisor, Chef Esther the magic pancake lady - best pancakes ever and restaurant attendants Maureen and Mary A, Margaret the Front Office Manager.

Sophie & Family

Room Tip: if travelling with young ones rooms on ground floor are most suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Ahoy Guest.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. Many thanks for bringing out what we are known for" the best family hotel with the most friendly and helpful staff".

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We go to Mombasa to every year, the time round we choose Voyager Beach Resort, compared to other hotels we have visited before, Voyager is the best, they have great food, wonderful rooms and lovely staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have stayed at most of the hotels along the beach area during the past two years, this was my third visit to the Voyager and I cannot speak highly enough for all that you will find there.
Upon checking in you are given a welcoming refreshing drink, the ambience that surrounds you as you stand in the wonderful Swahili styled reception area, is continued throughout the whole hotel,
Rooms were cool, 100% clean, room service outstanding,
The lush green lawns with an abundance of palm trees are a joy to behold, carefully tended gardens lead down to the pool and white sandy beaches.
In the restaurant service is excellent, set in pleasant surroundings the food is far better that all other hotels in the area, Bobby the restaurant manager runs a tight ship.
The only complaint I had was that I found the meat dishes a little on the tough side, but hopefully that is being looked into.
Last but not least was the evening entertainment, boy are they good, the Voyager animation team come no better, they worked their socks off, absolutely wonderful, full marks to all, and talk about energetic dancing, unbelievable.
My last words are this, why try the rest, when you can go to the best!!
I shall return once again in November, I feel like I will be going home.
Derek from Bristol UK.

Room Tip: Just book it, you'll not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgieboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. We did take note of your the quality of our meat that you found tough and many thanks for raising this during your stay. We will look at the quality of our meat and the process and i want to assure you that this will be given the urgency it deserves i am sure you will get a better food experience in your next stay.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to welcoming you back home..

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My experience at the hotel was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful and the various pools and bars offering breathtaking views. The food was top notch and we appreciated the effort placed in the daily themed cuisines. Definitely value for my money. Already looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyannemakena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a lovely experience and enjoyed our food and services, the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to welcoming you aboard MV Voyager.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was an experience i will forever relish. The food was over the top. The rooms were spacious, room service on point and the staff were accessible and ready to assist. There were so many fun activities to engage and everything was just wow...like the Maasai Market within the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShikuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a excellent experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. you truly head " even on earth" and we are humbled.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Property: Voyager Beach Resort
Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing