We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyager Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Voyager Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our first experience in Kenya,I have planed my holiday to be spent here in between Nairobi and Mombasa with 3 nights in each city starting in Mombasa , so me and my wife spent our first 3nights in this lovely eligent hotel. Our first good impression started with the cheerful security guards smiling while opening the gate. And continued with the lovely lady in the reception who was extremely nice and helpful. In short this was our first visit but after having such a nice experience it won't be the last,!

Room Tip: Rooms with See view are fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alkonsol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.
Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,676
    823
    238
    85
    50
See reviews for
783
1,366
78
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is right on the beach and not far from the airport. The overall quality of the resort is good with a number of pools to choose from, activities and a few restaurants. The hotel is reasonable value for money with nice grounds, evening entertainment and a decent selection of food in the main restaurant. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The main negative of my stay was the quality of cabins/rooms. If having a nice room is an important part of your trip then this is not the place for you. They are in quiet poor condition, with damaged and stained linen, chipped tiles on the floors, rusty bathroom fixtures and generally are very worn.

I travelled to the hotel at a quiet time and was able to look at a few rooms in a number of different blocks but they were all the same. Even the floors which were being renovated were only being given a lick of paint.

One tip is to choose a room on the ground floor of block 4. These rooms have patios (they do not lock properly and can be opened from the outside) which open straight from the room onto the beach and near the infinity pool, and it is a great place to relax and have a few drinks before dinner.

The beach is beautiful but the hotel does not have any loungers on it, which was disappointing. There are also a lot of locals selling tours and souvenirs which can get tiresome. It is also not cleaned by the hotel so can get covered in seaweed.

I was travelling with my parents who have mobility issues, and again, if you are in a similar situation I would not choose this hotel. There are a lot of steps in the resort and these need to be navigated to get to the beach, reception, rooms and pools. My father was given a wheelchair to use but was unable to as there were too many stairs with no ramps or lifts.

Overall, it was a ok experience but I would not return as I like a little more luxury in my resort while away.

p.s If you like fresh coconut water ask the groundkeeper to cut them down for you - they do this anyway for safety and they are a great daily treat.

Room Tip: Try and get a choose a room on the ground floor of block 4. These rooms have patios (they do not loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience. We have taken note of your comments on the status of our cabins and we have began the process of addressing the issues raised on the status of our rooms.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the voyager to relax by the beach after two weeks on safari. We were not disappointed.
The voyager caters to families with kids. So obviously there are tons of kids running around like heathens but there are quiet areas to get away from them.
There are three pools but during our stay only two were open. The giant play pool and the adults only negative edge pool. The sport pool was closed. There is pool side drink service and towel service.
The observation bar on the cliff above the beach was lovely spot to have a pre-dinner cocktail and relax after a hectic day of laying in the sun.
The property is huge. Unfortunately being off season and with all the media attention to the troubles to the north it was nearly empty when we visited. As a result most of the bars and attractions were closed off. It was fine however since we came to simply relax and not having so many people around was really a blessing.
For the kids they have a day camp for them with activities and swimming and lunch while the parents can run away and have alone time.
The rooms were fairly basic but adequate. They were clean, above average size and they have a nice seating porch for relaxing. Biggest complaint was no hot water our entire stay. It wasn't cold, more like tepid. It was no big deal as the temperature was lovely outside.
There is a watersports provider where you can get sailboats, kayaks, scuba gear etc etc if you like. Some is included, some is not.
Meals were all very good, a buffet with several "made to order" stations so you can have some individualization to your food.
Every staff person we met was awesome. They really do go out of their way to make you comfortable and happy. I wish more hotel staff around the world was like all of the staff we met in Kenya and the Voyager.
If you have a family stay here. If you are single stay here and find the secluded spots.
Its a great value and a lovely property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.


We look forward to hosting you in future.
Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel after having spent a week in the village of Kikuyu doing volunteer work and living with locals. It was a very nice change to arrive at this hotel and have a little luxury! Of course, by this point, luxury mostly meant hot water in the shower and air conditioning in the room, but the hotel surpassed that. The grounds were nicely kept, the food was typical of hotel buffet, which was good but not fabulous. There were several bars on the grounds. The drinks were not great, but they were free flowing on our all-inclusive package. The beach was clean, as were the pools and the room. I love the little cat condos around! There are vendors on the beach selling souvenirs, but shop in the gift shop first to get a gauge for prices, as they will try to sell at 10x the price if you don't know what to expect. The only thing I didn't like about the property is that there wasn't much within walking distance once you left the property, but there are plenty of cabs available to take you wherever you want to go. We were only there a few days, so we mostly enjoyed just relaxing by the water.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.
We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.
We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel on 1st and 2nd of August 2014. The grounds are immaculate, the food is tasty, the 'all Inclusive' service works (free drinks between 10am-midnight), despite my earlier skepticism. The room was also good (4305), great location with a sea AND pool view, away from the noisy(busy) side of the hotel. Entertainment was also top notch, WiFi strong and available in all locations. A few points to note, We requested for a double bed but instead got two single beds stuck together, which could be awkward for honeymooning couples. The room steward could also do better in replacing the used toiletries. The experience was great, I would definitely come back(if you promise a double bed) and will also recommend to friends.

Room Tip: rooms further from the reception/dining are quiter, have grea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabbzNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a great stay and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.

Your reviews are very important to us and we do appreciate your support.

We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Voyager is in Mombasa with a great view of the sea & a relatively large beach. The sounds of sea tides @ night takes away all your stress as u wake up to a morning of a beautiful scenery of the beach.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotels S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a fantastic experience and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.


We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are Mombasa resident and never stay at any of the Beach hotels nearby. However, family friends insisted to join them for a night. So we joined them. Due to low capacity, we were upgraded to a very nice garden view room which had two huge beds. The bathroom was squeaking clean with bath robes and good toilettries. The beach area was secluded during high tide which is an advantage. The food served buffet style for the three meals was EXCELLENT. The bakery products during breakfast more so.
So on the whole we had a nice stay and almost forgot that we were only a few km from our home.

M F Esmailji

Room Tip: Obviously the sea front rooms are preferred but if not available the garden rooms are very good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musesmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_VBR, Manager at Voyager Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Guest.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for having chosen Voyager Beach resort as your preferred hotel during your recent holiday and having spared time to share your memorable experience in this forum.

We have taken note that you had a relaxing holiday and the entire team is excited to have been part of this experience.


We look forward to hosting you in future.

Kind regards,
Yusuf Olela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.7 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#8 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kahama Hotel
Kahama Hotel
#7 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Beach Resort

Property: Voyager Beach Resort
Address: Nyali Off Links Road, | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mombasa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mombasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Voyager Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moored seven kilometres north of Mombasa city centre, Voyager Beach Resort's convenient 'berth' gives guests easy access to a huge variety of historical, sporting and cultural attractions. The vibrant themed resort is famous for hosting some of Africa's finest family entertainments and animation programs, including unique themed journeys across the seven seas, culinary extravaganzas, with very supervised kids' activities and days out with Africa's best-known and most experienced childrens' safari club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Voyager Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Beach Hotel Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Kenya
Voyager Beach Resort Mombasa
Voyager Beach Resort Kenya
Voyager Beach Mombasa
Voyager Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing