We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "king" of Best Western hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
“The "king" of Best Western hotels”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I had a 2 night stay at this new hotel and I loved everything about it:
-Clean spacious rooms
-Friendly staff
-First class complimentary breakfast buffet
and not to mention the location among many others.
I have stayed in Best Western USA hotels from Boston to Texas and I must say the Mombasa hotel is far much better than most of USA franchises.
Im coming back whenever in Mombasa.
Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view side to enjoy sea breeze and beautiful sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    70
    34
    9
    13
See reviews for
42
28
21
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip. What a wonderful escape from the office! Spacious rooms, aircons and fans, view of the creek and a gorgeous sunrise (if you ask for a room sea facing). The breakfast buffet is a bit basic but the dinner and room service menu is great. The wifi signal is slightly weak. There is a spa in the hotel as well with beauty and spa treatments available. Close to the city centre and only about 20 minutes away from the airport. Would stay here on business and for pleasure. Great service and a great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here for two nights while attending a conference at another hotel and found that there is much to recommend the hotel, not least being the location, right across Nyali bridge from Mombasa island. This makes it very easily accessible from the airport as compared to hotels further along the north coast.
As for the hotel itself, the service is very friendly - staff will greet you by name and with a smile. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and if you can get a room facing the creek, the views are fantastic! Probably the only area that they need to work on is the breakfast buffet selection which is rather basic...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kibet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I had the opportunity to spend several days at the Creekside in Mombasa after arriving in Mombasa and again before departing ... one could not ask for a finer place to stay. The service was wonderful, the accommodations are perfect, comfortable, clean and the staff is very accommodating. I will stay there again if the need ever arises to return to Mombasa. A big "Thank you" to the staff and housekeeping staff at Creekside.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel had only been open for about 4 months when we stayed there. The rooms are very nice compared to other hotels at this price point close to the town. Everything in the room is new and well appointed.
Most rooms that were being given out faced the creek with a pleasant view. There are some small design issues like a lack of a bathroom counter for your toiletries and some other small stuff, but its small stuff.

The staff on the whole were very good; polite, friendly and mostly competent.
The food was decent quality and decently priced. The food however took too long to be prepared and we twice regretted ordering because it made us so late.

Apparently they have a breakfast buffet, but the first day we went for breakfast there was no buffet and we had to order a la carte, which again took way too long, we didnt attempt breakfast again.
They also messed up one room service order, by giving us a beef burger instead of a chicken burger, maybe they thought we wouldn't realise ;/)

One annoying thing was that they wanted pre-payment a the time of check in an even though I extended my stay by 3 nights, they kept wanting me to pay up front for each night.
They also charged me an extra 5% to use my debit card which I found to be a bit unfair.

I would stay here again given the close proximity to Mombasa town.
The gym was small but with new machines in good usable condition.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Twaham0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

As a stopover between voluntary work placements on Lake Victoria and in Tanzania this hotel has been ideal. The staff are welcoming, frindly, courteous & efficient. Our creek view room was beautiful, everytthing worked and the wifi was a bonus. The garden, courtyard and swimmimng pool are well maintained and the two meals we ate here were very good, fresh local seafood & produce well prepared. For us the location was fine and the creek provided constant interest, the view across the water to the wooded shore beyond belied the fact we were close to the heart of the bustling city. We would certainly stay here again and would recommed the hotel unreservedly. Sue & Charles CS, Dorset, UK

Room Tip: The creekview rooms have a lovely balcony overlooking the garden to the creek a few metres beyond, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesCS_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visby, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Fantastic hotel by all means, good service, perfect location, excellent food, nice pool and poolarea with swift service and great views of the creek!
Relaxing is a good overall description.
Rooms are big clean and well equipped.
Don´t miss if visiting Mombasa!

Room Tip: Ask for creekside room with an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
5.9 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
542 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#4 of 58 in Mombasa
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel
Address: | Tudor Creek, next to Nyali Bridge, Mombasa, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the following rom types: deluxe creek view rooms, twin deluxe creek view rooms, double deluxe garden view suite, single deluxe garden view suite, twin deluxe garden view suite, double superior garden view suite, single superior garden view suite, twin superior garden view suite double. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Creekside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing